12/20/2021 Sugar PMPS 156 (+4) 32 (+4.25) 125 (+5) 282

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Claude, Feb 20, 2021.

  1. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Hi, my cat had just had a hypo episode. No symptoms, except maybe meowing very loud (although he does that often). He was 32. I fed him FF with gravy and Caro. Got him up to 125 about 30 min later.

    He had a dose reduction not long ago. Also, I switched his food (FF) to Wellness Pates. He likes them, but not as much as FF, so he's been eating a little less. Maybe that was what caused it.

    Will keep monitoring.

    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-16-21-sugar-amps-68-skipped-shot.243217/#post-2742208
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Phew! That must have been one scary hour! Don't feed and test in an hour to see if he stays up. I would test another hour after that. It takes a couple of hours for HC food and honey to wear off. You want to make sure he stays up after the carb spike is gone.

    Has he been eating a lot less with the food change? Was there a reduction in carbs between foods?

    Anyway, you have earned a reduction. Congrats! :)
     
  3. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Yeah, fortunately he didn't have seizures, otherwise it would have been a lot scarier.

    He's been eating just a bit less. He's not that eager to eat as before but maybe that's because I've been giving him cold food (cans are large so I have to store the food in the fridge, as opposed to FF). Carbs are the same.

    Another .25 reduction, so 2U it is.

    Should I shoot normally tomorrow if numbers are fine?
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2021
  4. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    +5 282.

    Maybe I gave him a bit too much Caro.
     
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    They don't like food cold. I pull the food out a couple of hours before I feed so that it comes to room temperature. I know folks who warm it up in the microwave.
    Yes he will probably bounce so unless he is low, it should be fine to shoot.
     
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    More likely a bounce as well.

    Btw, did you change the food because of availability issues with FF?
     
  7. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    I will warm his food then. See if he likes it better.

    Yes, there's a shortage of FF pates. Only LC flavor I can get is the chunky grill, but it has fish in it, so not a good choice. I like that Wellness pates are lower in phophorus as well (no kidney issues yet, but I want to avoid that).
     
  8. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    +5.5 319.

    Will go to bed for an hour. Thanks for your help Bandit's Mom.
     
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Makes sense! :)

    Looks like he want to go to the moon before he comes back to earth! And you are most welcome!
     
    Claude likes this.
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Glad that he wasn’t symptomatic. Try adding a little warm water to the food.
     
    Claude and Bandit's Mom like this.
  11. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Question. Should I shoot despite the recent hypo? His AMPS is 97.
     
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Can you monitor him today?
     
  13. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Yes.

    Edit. Sorry. I won't be able to monitor him for his whole cycle. Just a couple of hours.
     
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Wondering if it may be safer to give a token dose. 1U. Drain his depot a bit. He's come down really fast from the 300s. So either skip or shoot a token dose.
    Next time, don't feed, stall and see if he rises.
     
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Then SKIP
     
  16. Claude

    Claude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Thanks. I think it's better.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. Do get tests when you can though. The depot will still affect his numbers. So test him before you leave and feed accordingly. Post here if you need help.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The bounce starts. No need to test.
     
  19. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Elise the numbers on the title are last night's. Sugar went to 319 at +6 and is down to 97 at AMPS.
     
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013

    Oops. :banghead:Please update the subject!!!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.

Share This Page