12/20 PMPS 194 Shoot or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

phakewishard

Member Since 2020
Hello,

Moo Moo was recently diagnosed and her 2 hour fasted PMPS was 194. Should I give her her dose of insulin or not? She is on 1 unit of Lantus b.i.d. and I know the rule is typically to not shoot under 200.

I know my spreadsheet doesn't have a ton of data on it, she was diagnosed Wednesday, got the meter Thursday and then I had to work Friday-Today. I was able to bring her to work and get some readings at lunch/my breaks but not as much as I wanted. I also was using the lancing pen until yesterday and it was horrible for me, I had to prick her so many times to get blood that it irritated her to the point I stopped trying when I know I definitely should've gotten a reading. I switched to holding the lancet and it's going a lot better. I'm still learning, but any advice is appreciated!
 
Back again.

Before I can make a suggestion about whether or not it may be OK to give insulin, please can you tell us whether Moo Moo has ever tested positive for ketones or has she ever had an episode of diabetic ketoacidosis?


Mogs
.
 
She has not, as far as I know. She tested negative for them at the vet, I have not been able to catch her while in the litterbox since then. She went to the vet Wednesday.

ETA: Which is also when she was diagnosed
 
Considerations:

* Moo Moo doesn't have a history of throwing ketones. (FYI, extra caution needs to be given to skipping doses when a cat is prone to throwing ketones.)

* She has already seen nadirs in the 80s on the current dose of 1.0IU Lantus.

* The standard recommendation for recently diagnosed kitties without much data yet is not to give insulin if preshot BG is less than 200 (human meter).

* The reading of 194 is your lowest preshot BG reading to date. Also, it's much lower than today's AMPS (which prompts caution).

* It's an evening cycle and the majority of cats run lower at night.

Based on the above considerations I'd suggest you skip tonight.

What do you think yourself?


Mogs
.
 
That's what I was thinking, I just wanted to double check before I skipped. I changed her food to a high protein low carb wet food when she was before she was eating dry food that probably was pretty high in carbs.

Should I check her BG before I go to sleep tonight to see where it's at? That will be around +4 or +5 from when she would've gotten tonight's shot. Or should I check it more often?
Thank you so much for your help!
 
It'd be no harm to check Moo Moo's BG before you go to bed because it will give you some info on how she does when you need to skip, but it's nice to have info, not need to have so don't sweat if you can't get a blood sample. :)

In terms of how much to test, as a general guideline you need to get AMPS and PMPS tests to determine whether or not it's safe to actually give any insulin. It's also recommended that you get a test between AMPS and PMPS - ideally round the time when nadir is most likely - plus a 'before bed' test each day to help you determine the safety of the dose in general, and whether Moo Moo will be safe while you're asleep. Any tests you can grab are valuable.


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top