12/24 Thomas AMPS 317

Jenn ~ Thomas

Member Since 2023
12/24 already!! LOL. I didn't know how to delete prior post.

Just when I thought I understood.... now his numbers are higher.
 
Great job getting some extra tests in, they really do help when making decisions on dose increases. Now, time for a little patience. It will take a little time to get a feel for how Lantus is working, what his onsets and nadirs are, since you’ve only recently switched. I used to say with Maverick waiting to see some action on a new dose was like watching paint dry :D.
 
Great job getting some extra tests in, they really do help when making decisions on dose increases. Now, time for a little patience. It will take a little time to get a feel for how Lantus is working, what his onsets and nadirs are, since you’ve only recently switched. I used to say with Maverick waiting to see some action on a new dose was like watching paint dry :D.
Im sure everyone will be busy today and tomorrow. What should I watch for to be concerned with?? At this point what would the highest and lowest numbers be? Just incase no one is around
 
So far, based on the extra tests and the curve data, he’s staying pretty flat in his comfy range. I’d be watching for more of an active cycle, where you’ll see at around +2 more than just a 20% drop from preshot. With Lantus, we often like the +2 because it can sometimes be a good indication of how the cycle will go. If the +2 is higher than preshot, it usually indicates that not much downward movement will occur in the blood glucose levels. If the +2 is significantly lower, then that could signal more testing is required as the numbers may drop a little more quickly. By taking additional tests, that will allow you to monitor and feed to help slow down the drop.

I wish I could give you a more definitive answer about what the highest and lowest numbers that you encounter might be, but unfortunately my crystal ball is a bit dusty :p. Seriously though, it’s good to remember that insulin is a hormone, not a drug so there are things that can influence how the insulin is metabolized, and this is also a case of every cat is different; how your cat responds to insulin and carbs isn’t the same as mine, which is why it also takes some time with data to see what Thomas’ patterns will be. Then, of course just when you think you have their patterns figured out, they like to mess with you ;).

Of course if you ever get a preshot that’s lower than you are comfortable shooting, you can stall (not feed) and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if the number is rising. And you can post for help. And see also this post with some helpful links, if you haven’t had a chance to read it yet.
Christmas 2023 PSA
 
I haven't done any tests besides the AMPS. I will do one in 10 minutes and that will be the +10. I will get some this evening as well. I thought since I did the curve yesterday I didn't need to test all day.
 
I haven't done any tests besides the AMPS. I will do one in 10 minutes and that will be the +10. I will get some this evening as well. I thought since I did the curve yesterday I didn't need to test all day.

When you give an increase it’s a good idea to get another test if possible in the first couple of cycles . If the +2 is lower than the preshot , it could be an active cycle. Usually it doesn’t happen the first cycle but being new to lantus you don’t know much about when you will see action. Lantus usually kicks in at +2.
 
We took my step daughter home so I wasn't here at +2 so I did it now, it is 4 1/2 hours and it is 191. He doesn't seem to want to eat today as well. Should I be concerned? or is this normal??
 
Back
Top