12/28 Baby G AMPS 306 PMPS 319 - Dose Increase

babyg

Very Active Member
Hi, all,

Hope everyone enjoyed the holidays. So Baby is pretty much just eating dry food now, and I'm sure that's why she's been so high, but I'm kind of surprised, really, at how much I've been having to raise her dose to compensate. She's now on 5.5 units, and I think she could use even more. Thinking of an increase tonight to 5.75, which she's never had before. She's a big cat (nearly 19 lbs), but isn't that still a lot of insulin? Just find it concerning.
Other than that, she's acting fine and eating and drinking.
 
I would increase by 0.5 units next. She's on a higher dose and not even seeing blues. The 0.25 unit increase won't do much. My Neko stayed below 15 pounds (just!) and got to a higher dose. Every cat is different. Is Baby G a good weight for her size, or overweight?

Have you tried any of the lower carb dry foods like Young Again or Dr. Elseys? Any chance you can get rid of the Temptations which are pure carbs?
 
@babyg
I have read in some of your previous posts from March 2023 that you did get samples of Dr Elsey's Dry and Young Again dry. You said she would not eat the Young Again but she liked the Dr Elsey's dry, is she eating the Dr Elsey's at all ?
If any of the food Baby G is eating now please correct it on your signature.
If she's not eating any temptations please delete it from your signature , same goes for the Purina Pro Plan DM Dry

The Purina Pro Plan DM Dry it's 18% carbs
 
Last edited:
Is Baby G a good weight for her size, or overweight?

Have you tried any of the lower carb dry foods like Young Again or Dr. Elseys? Any chance you can get rid of the Temptations which are pure carbs?

Thanks, I feel better if it's not too out of the ordinary for a cat to need more insulin. She is overweight but also big-boned. I've always wondered if she has any Maine Coon in her genes. Vets have said they're fine with her weight so long as she doesn't get much bigger. Her heaviest was 19.2, I believe, so we've made progress reducing it some.

She's tried those foods and didn't like Young Again. She did like Dr Elseys but it didn't like her back lol. It caused a bad pancreatic flare-up. She also usually only gets 1 or 2 Temptations/day max.
 
@babyg You said she would not eat the Young Again but she liked the Dr Elsey's dry, is she eating the Dr Elsey's at all ?
If any of the food Baby G is eating now please correct it on your signature.
If she's not eating any temptations please delete it from your signature , same goes for the Purina Pro Plan DM
Correct, she didn't like Young Again at all. Dr. Elseys didn't agree with her system. She's now just eating the Purina Plan DM dry and for a little treat, chicken Purebites and Temptations.
 
One or two Temptations can still raise the blood sugar. See if you can just use the Purebites chicken. How about Epigen 90 dry food by Wysong? Or freeze dried (various vendors) or air dried raw foods (Ziwipeak). All are much lower carb options than the DM. Cats on high carb food will need higher doses than cats on low carb.
 
Back
Top