12/28 Tiger AMPS HI, PMPS 359

No, a curve isn’t necessary in your case. A curve is necessary for caregivers who follow SLGS and aren’t able to test often enough during the 7 days to be able to have a feel for how low the dose is taking a kitty. With the amount of tests you have, it’s pretty clear he needs an increase ;)

yes, you can wait until tomorrow if you’d like to keep an eye and monitor.
 
Ty Sybil. Not much curving today, pretty much flat and red. I tried a bit of the flaked food you found for me and he licked his bowl clean. Will be switching him over but gradually. I am wondering about his sensor with these readings, but he is due for a new one soon going by past history of their longevity.
Yes I was able to get some sleep last night. Hubby took a few readings for me.
Hope Basic and you had a good day!
 
I know it isn't easy, but try to relax when his numbers are extremely high because there isnt anything you can do about it (other than the food subjects we've discussed). It is time to rest when he is sky high. Periodically check throughout the day, but don't worry.

I'm so happy he loved his food. FF has an entire section of low carb food I was unaware of. Roasted, flaky, and chunky. That is even better news for Tiger since he isn't a fan of pate.

Yes, his libre will shut off 14 days, to the minute, of the date of install. I can't remember what day it was though. Do you mean you think his libre is giving false numbers? It is possible. When you take Tiger to the vet, do they manually check his numbers for you? May not be a fair assessment because of how stressed most cats get at the vet, but if you got the libre reading and the manual from the vet, it may tell you if it was running fairly accurate.

Edit to add: Basic has been high today because of his lows last night. He's starting to come down now. He is starving when his numbers are high. Well, even more so than normal. I'm glad they are lowering for many reasons.

Thank you hubby for helping Deb. She needed it.

Enjoy your evening tonight with Tiger snuggled up beside you. And remember, when he's running high, you can't change it. Worrying won't fix it either. :cat:
 
Last edited:
I am happy he likes the food so far too. I found the chunky and flaked, no roasted. I tried the flaked on him.

we haven’t gotten 14 days yet. The first fell off after 7 days, the second one gave an error of bad sensor replace, after only 6 days! This one is on day 6….sometimes they check the numbers but charge for it. And like you said he is stressed then.

his numbers were higher last night than the previous 2 nights. And yes he is starving. Been begging for food all afternoon and pouting next to me now. He still has 1.5 hours to go until dinner!

so it goes starving one minute won’t eat the next! what’s a mother to do….

Enjoy your evening as well!
 
No, a curve isn’t necessary in your case. A curve is necessary for caregivers who follow SLGS and aren’t able to test often enough during the 7 days to be able to have a feel for how low the dose is taking a kitty. With the amount of tests

I've never heard this. I started with a libre and then moved to a handheld. Have always tested often unless he is running really high and flat. Definitely could've used this advice 3 months ago and many others could have too.
 
I've never heard this. I started with a libre and then moved to a handheld. Have always tested often unless he is running really high and flat. Definitely could've used this advice 3 months ago and many others could have too.
This isn’t new; it’s intuitive a curve isn’t necessary if a member tests often. Why would it be? A test every two hours once a week won’t give you as good of data as a week of several tests per day. Christie is correct the curve only needs to be done if few tests were obtained during the week.
 
Last edited:
@Basic's Mom -- If you look at Tiger's spreadsheet, how could Deb get much more data that would inform a curve? Prior to the Libre or other continuous glucose monitors, you would be testing every 2 hours for a formal curve. There are some cycles when Deb has data for 11 hours. There were some cycles on Basic's spreadsheet where this is almost the case. There's nothing magic about a curve. Fundamentally, it's a way to determine where onset and nadir fall and how much duration you're getting from the insulin.

I was typing as Marje was posting and I'm too lazy to erase what I wrote.
 
Also, there is less than 5 days on Basic's SS that he doesn't have several test a day since his diagnosis. If a curve is intuitive and a once a week curve is pointless, I certainly could've been using this method.

I'm not sure why my message garnered the response I received. Nowhere on this post did I say someone was wrong.
 
Not sure what’s going on with Tiger. He always seems to have his lows in the afternoon, like 3-4 pm, today he waited until 6pm and had one of the lowest of the day at pmps. I don’t think I’ll ever understand all this.
 
Not sure but it looks like new food is making a difference, PMPS +1 is definitely lower than it has been! A small sample with just one meal but I like it.
Between the food change and increased dose tomorrow, I’ll definitely be watching it to see where it goes.
 
I'm glad the food is making a differnece. Can't wait to see what an increase will do for him. If you look at my guys ss, the first week or so, he wasn't consuming many calories. After his feeding tube came out and started eating on his own, his BG didn't show improvement for awhile. Every cat is different. I want you to keep all of that in mind. You are doing everything right. This is a very slow process.

I want to warn you, Tiger may start dropping this evening. He has a pattern that when he is flat like he was today and then is under 400 at his PM +1, he starts dropping. Just watch him. Ask for help if you need it. I'll be around for you. I'm hopeful he won't drop too severely, but it would be nice for him if he got some safe lower numbers.

Please don't panic. Just be prepared. Talk to us.

Remember, you are doing great and you've got this.
 
I'm glad the food is making a differnece. Can't wait to see what an increase will do for him. If you look at my guys ss, the first week or so, he wasn't consuming many calories. After his feeding tube came out and started eating on his own, his BG didn't show improvement for awhile. Every cat is different. I want you to keep all of that in mind. You are doing everything right. This is a very slow process.

I want to warn you, Tiger may start dropping this evening. He has a pattern that when he is flat like he was today and then is under 400 at his PM +1, he starts dropping. Just watch him. Ask for help if you need it. I'll be around for you. I'm hopeful he won't drop too severely, but it would be nice for him if he got some safe lower numbers.

Please don't panic. Just be prepared. Talk to us.

Remember, you are doing great and you've got this.
I am wondering about that too. Just did a reading and he is at 299. Down 67 in 47 mins. Scares me to think about an increase and changing food.
 
Don't think of it like that. He's done this before. Please give him some med carb food. Start with a tablespoon. Check his bg 10 or 15 minutes after he eats.
 
By giving him the food that is higher in carbs and starting now should help prevent him from going super low like last time. You want to start out slowly though. Don't give him an entire can.
 
The last time where you saw his deep drop, his dos was .25 unit higher. That is my fear when we raise it especially giving the LC food now.
 
Deb, look at Tiger's numbers. He is off the charts. If he drops low again, he will get another reduction. I don't think he needs a reduction.

Because you have the libre, you can prevent the super low incidents by giving food slowly and monitoring, when you see him dropping like that. A lot of sugar cats drop. We can prevent them from being drastic.
 
Deb, look at Tiger's numbers. He is off the charts. If he drops low again, he will get another reduction. I don't think he needs a reduction.

Because you have the libre, you can prevent the super low incidents by giving food slowly and monitoring, when you see him dropping like that. A lot of sugar cats drop. We can prevent them from being drastic.
He definitely doesn’t need a reduction, for sure. I think I understand what you are saying.
Do you think I should hold off the increase and give the new food time to level out? Then increase the dose?

new reading 318
 
Okay. Don't give more food. I do want you to continue to monitor him. Now, you know that you can raise his bg quickly with food and he is willing to eat it. He will most likely continue to drop because that is what he does. It is safe for him to be in the 100s. So, don't panic. Allow his body to rest. This is common with this disease.
 
It is fine. Look at basic last night. It is fine. And I only gave him a teaspoon of 13% and a tablespoon of 14%. That's it.
 
And see what his numbers did today. His numbers were higher today because of how low he got last night.

This is what is usually happening with Tiger.
 
Deb, Tiger is fine in the 100s with no more food given. Allow his body and organs to have break from those high numbers. How much food did you give him earlier?
 
About a tablespoon.
I was asking about food in case it falls and gets below 100. You may not be on then as he tends to hit a low at 2+3 am…
 
You are ahead of this dip. You weren't last time.

Okay. So, now you know how fast you can change his numbers with just a tablespoon.

I would start giving him more food when he hits 100 because of how fast he does drop.
 
Ok thanks, that’s what I thought too.
Last time I did panic because it was falling 1 point per minute and gave him a whole can. Which did bring it up pretty quick.
Now I know just a spoonful!
How dos anyone sleep with this stuff?
 
I knew that is what you did last time, saw it in the notes. That's why I told you not a whole can. It is okay though. I remember rubbing honey on Basic's gums when he dropped in the hundreds the first time. Ha. Things go smoother for everyone when we don't panic though. Understanding those lower numbers aren’t bad is key. They are absolutely what is best for our cats.
 
Oh. Sorry.

No. You don't want to wait. You want to do everything you possible can to help his number. You do want to monitor him closer as you transition. It can change their insulin needs. My cat just got off high carb kibble completely a month ago maybe. He is now being introduced to raw. He's on all low carb everything. Only the past 2 weeks am I seeing a change in his numbers. He is getting meds for arthritis. I think that has helped his numbers and changing his feeding schedule has made a huge diffenrce. Every cat is different. So, you need to monitor. Take a look at Basic's ss. Everything is documented. His numbers didn't plummet when his high carb kibble was cut out like I thought it would. It took some time for all these changes to catch up to him. Doesn't mean it will be the same for you, but I wanted to let you know there is no reason to wait to change his diet, especially if he is on board with the changes.
 
I know thst you know this because we've discussed it, but make sure all of his food transitions are done very slowly over more than a 7 day period especially because of his gi issue. I'm only up to a tablespoon of venison for Basic. Started at least a week ago with a teaspoon. Very gradual.
 
I am pretty sure people with the experience told you today to increase the dose in the morning tomorrow. If you scroll up you'll see it.

I shouldn't be advising people with dosing.

You are worried about his numbers dropping quickly because of an increase and a change in diet. If you are gradually making the transition with food, you will be fine. He needs monitored though. Today you introduced low carb. He is still getting all the other food that isn't good for him. His kibble and the other canned.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top