12/29: Pablo's dental day!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Holly and Pablo, Dec 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Holly and Pablo

    Holly and Pablo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    So today was the big day. As some of you know, I was nervous about having the procedure done somewhere besides the clinic where I work since I wouldn't be in the room with him, not to mention the cost would be outrageous. But since the specialist (Carolinas Animal Hospital and Dental Clinic) had such awesome technology, monitoring capabilities, and a vet, Dr. Kathy Queck, who called me back and answered all my questions personally, I chose to go with them.

    I am so glad I did.

    When they got Pablo sedated, the vet could actually examine his teeth, which is impossible unsedated. His top canines had broken tips and were brownish, so she suspected immediately that the nerve was dying. Well, the full-mouth x-rays revealed that not only were the roots of his canines dead, they were GONE. They had literally been rotting away for years. A normal cat's canine is about twice as long up inside the gums as what you can see externally. Pablo's root was 1/3 the length of the visible tooth. Dr. Queck said that she was amazed he's been such a "happy camper" for this long because the resorbing roots are extremely painful. To make matters worse, one of the roots was actually rotting through the side of the intact tooth up inside his gums. She took a picture of it to show at her next seminar because it was so cool looking!

    So, long story short, both of his upper canines had to be removed. If more root had been left, she could have performed a root canal, but there was literally nothing left to do but extract them. So she made a skin flap, removed the teeth, and sewed the gums back shut again. She also sealed two enamel defects on the inner aspects of his lower canines that she suspects were caused by the upper canines smashing into them (which would explain the uppers being broken). The tissue holding the canines in place was thick and tough as rubber, she said, because of chronic inflammation. She said she suspects his diabetes will be considerably easier to regulate now that all that inflammation and infection is taken care of. Yaaaaaaaaay!

    And you know the most amazing thing about it? She let me hold him while being sedated and when he was waking up...and I stayed with him during the whole procedure. She had just assumed I would want to, and since I work at a clinic and traveled so far to have the dental done, she let me stand right over her shoulder the whole time. She explained in detail everything she was doing, and we discussed the procedure, the effect it will have on his diabetes and recently-discovered anemia, etc. I even got to watch a procedure on another cat that was there at the same time. He was under anesthesia for just under 2.5 hours (she even asked me what induction anesthesia I'd prefer to use), and he woke up in my arms less than 15 minutes after they removed the Sevo. And she gave him two shots of Buprenex and sent me home with more injectable Bupe for five days since SQ is so easy for me to administer.

    I love this clinic. :D Anyone who lives in the South should use them for their dental services! They did everything exactly as it should have been, and I can vouch for it because I watched it all!

    It was super-duper expensive, but this cat is the most important thing in my life. It was worth every penny of the $1100 to know he was in experienced, caring hands the whole time.

    Oh, and they're emailing me his x-rays and the pictures they took. I will post them as soon as I get them!
     
  2. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Glad ur dental went well with Pablo :) keep us posted on how he's doing by posting daily ok? We'd love to hear from you and Pablo!
     
  3. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You sound relieved and happy! I'm so glad it went well for Pablo and it sounds like it was a learning experience for you. I hope Pablo recovers quickly. Remember to get tests in as soon as you can so you can gauge whether the anesthesia is lowering his BG.
     
  4. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm glad things went so well and I can't wait to see how his numbers improve. :)
     
  5. Holly and Pablo

    Holly and Pablo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I didn't give him insulin this morning at the vet's instruction. During the procedure, he was at 419. An hour ago he was at 291. I'm planning on getting a PMPS and giving him a normal dose, assuming he's still in the 200s. I'll continue to update my SS throughout the night.
     
  6. Deb & Spot

    Deb & Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    What big eyes you have Pablo!! What a cute picture of your baby! Glad the dental went so well.
     
  7. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

    Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    How wonderful that you were able to be there the whole time! I would have LOVED seeing my two
    having a dental procedure...so interesting!! That is so great that he woke in your arms too!! :mrgreen:
    I am so happy that the day went so well for you both and I am sure that Pablo is going to be sooooo
    happy when he realizes that he no longer ha the problems in his mouth! How wonderful!!
    Great report...I loved reading it...and I will be anxious to see his numbers improving day-by-day too!
    thumbs up for YOUS!!! :mrgreen:
     
  8. Cassandra and Sasha

    Cassandra and Sasha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    So happy to hear everything went very well! Sounds like if you are ever looking for a new job that this place may be a good place to check out, despite the location. ;)
     
  9. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    What a nice positive report on your and Pablo's experience today. I'm glad you found such a good dentist for Pablo.
    Have a Great Evening!
     
  10. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    i'm glad this was such a positive experience!
    you *may* want to reduce the pm dose depending on the numbers...
     
  11. Nina and KB

    Nina and KB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    So glad you were able to get this done, and that it went so well!
     
  12. Holly and Pablo

    Holly and Pablo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 12/29: Pablo's PMPS 339, 3.25u given

    His BG was 339, so I went ahead and shot the normal dose. He has already downed 1.5 cans of FF, so he doesn't mind not having those top teeth!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page