12/4 Oberon PMPS 78, +1 92, +2 119, +4 176, +5 230

Gosh, look at Oberon's wonderful surfing! He will need to teach my boy how to do that ;)

I hope you enjoyed your sleep in. Now let's get back to surfing in the blue/greens, Oberon. They look fabulous on you :)

Have a wonderful day, Lisa :bighug:
 
When I tested at +6 I was fully expecting to get a number in the 400s. Nope! Guess he doesn't want me to get bored. (Or sleep.)
 
You put that special scanner on the Christmas list? It is on mine :p!

Oh yes! That and the magical antibody blockers that only target anti-insulin antibodies, not his whole immune system. (Wait... I've already got that. It's called lots and lots of insulin. :rolleyes:)
 
Hmm. 78 at PMPS. He may be heading for a reduction, but he's not there yet. But he's also only had two cycles at the current dose (5.5 U), so the old depot is sort of still in play. I'm thinking I should just go ahead and shoot the full dose, but if there are reasons not to I'd like to hear them.
 
Do you have the option with your situation and game plan to wait & see if he drops any further over the next hour? Just a thought........
 
Morning data: AMPS 174, +2.25 209, +6.25 143, +7.25 120, +8 116, +9 112, +10 103, +11 95

Do you have the option with your situation and game plan to wait & see if he drops any further over the next hour? Just a thought........

I just went ahead and fed him his usual LC dinner, so too late to stall and see what he's doing w/o food. Should have thought it through a little more first, oh well.

Now I'm rethinking things a little. He's been declining all afternoon, and the rate just sped up (17 points in an hour). If he drops even lower in the next few hours and I've given the full dose, there's not much I can do about it other than support with HC food, etc. If I give a BCS, he may stay low a while longer, but then he'll come up in a few hours. Though I hate to mess with his lovely surfing...
 
2/3 a dose was Neko's magic number when I BCS'ed, which actually wasn't very often.

BTW, the "no back to back reductions" rule doesn't apply when IAA is breaking. Easier to go up than change the numbers.
 
2/3 a dose was Neko's magic number when I BCS'ed, which actually wasn't very often.

BTW, the "no back to back reductions" rule doesn't apply when IAA is breaking. Easier to go up than change the numbers.

Just gave 3.5 U. So if he earns a reduction by going below 70 on this cycle, I go ahead and reduce the dose to 5 U tomorrow, right?
 
You might want to consider how hard it is to get him up when you decide whether to reduce again. I sort of got to the point when I knew Neko was asking for less juice. What is Oberon telling you? The up side to reducing early is you as the caregiver can get a bit of a breather.
 
You might want to consider how hard it is to get him up when you decide whether to reduce again. I sort of got to the point when I knew Neko was asking for less juice. What is Oberon telling you? The up side to reducing early is you as the caregiver can get a bit of a breather.

I did just realize that nearly every other time he's earned a reduction there's been a skipped shot or BCS along with it that drained the depot as we started the new dose. This time (3 cycles ago) that didn't happen, so the depot stayed more full. Wonder if that explains the dip back into blue/green today when it looked at first like he was about to spike upwards. If I had skipped/BCS right when he got the reduction, I suspect I wouldn't be doing it now. Not sure what that means about tomorrow's dose, though. I think I'll have to see what he does overnight.
 
And here I just thought you were getting more confident with handling lower numbers so had no problem with a full dose. :p

I'm pretty confident when he's surfing them, but right now he's still diving... no idea where he plans to bottom out. If he'd been in the 70s all afternoon he'd get the full dose. :) (Though also, it would be nice to not be up until 3 am two nights in a row... hoping the BCS will let me get some sleep.)
 
The question is whether he's a late nadir cat, not unusual with IAA. I got so I barely batted an eye at a dive into PS as I knew dinner would stop the drop.
 
I honestly don't have a good feel for his Lantus cycle... it's so overwhelmed by the antibody effects that it's hard to tell what's going on. I need to start paying better attention.

92 at +1 (dinner bump).
 
I honestly don't have a good feel for his Lantus cycle... it's so overwhelmed by the antibody effects that it's hard to tell what's going on. I need to start paying better attention.

92 at +1 (dinner bump).
You are doing great. The antibody effects are what’s going on.

By the time BK made it down to 5u we felt the pressure of a whole lot of momentum that had built propelling him faster down the dosing ladder.

He completed 6 cycles of 5u 2/12/2009 PM. The picture shows 2/13/2009-2/18/2009, a particularly crazy time. On 2/19/2009 AM he went from 3.5u to 3u.

You can see the frequent PM skips and the duration the following mornings. In that 7 day period he had four 0.5u decreases, in spite of 3 skipped shots.

hang in there :cool:


DAAE2DDD-69C3-46C4-A9EB-D03C33A371C1.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • DAAE2DDD-69C3-46C4-A9EB-D03C33A371C1.jpeg
    DAAE2DDD-69C3-46C4-A9EB-D03C33A371C1.jpeg
    74.5 KB · Views: 119
You are doing great. The antibody effects are what’s going on.

By the time BK made it down to 5u we felt the pressure of a whole lot of momentum that had built propelling him faster down the dosing ladder.

He completed 6 cycles of 5u 2/12/2009 PM. The picture shows 2/13/2009-2/18/2009, a particularly crazy time. On 2/19/2009 AM he went from 3.5u to 3u.

You can see the frequent PM skips and the duration the following mornings. In that 7 day period he had four 0.5u decreases, in spite of 3 skipped shots.

hang in there :cool:


View attachment 58421

Wow, that's impressive. I also see on his SS that he ended up going back up to around 5 U later, then eventually back down and OTJ. What led to the increase?

I've been wondering why, if the antibodies are fading, we're still getting all these high numbers. I would have hoped that as the antibodies declined his "baseline" (when antibodies are binding insulin) would also decrease, because there would be more free insulin to bring BG down. Not seeing any sign of that yet, unless that's part of what's going on today.

Up to 230 at +5; I'm finally going to bed. DH will be checking at +8 or so.
 
Wow, that's impressive. I also see on his SS that he ended up going back up to around 5 U later, then eventually back down and OTJ. What led to the increase?

I've been wondering why, if the antibodies are fading, we're still getting all these high numbers. I would have hoped that as the antibodies declined his "baseline" (when antibodies are binding insulin) would also decrease, because there would be more free insulin to bring BG down. Not seeing any sign of that yet, unless that's part of what's going on today.

Up to 230 at +5; I'm finally going to bed. DH will be checking at +8 or so.

I’m fading for tonight...I’ll chime in on this tomorrow :cool:
 
Back
Top