? 12/5/24 Tiger AMPS 265, +2 270_0.3mmol, +4 235, +6 299, +8 238

J9 Pearson

Member
Curving Tiger on Day 7 of 1.5u of Lantus. He is more like a wave than a curve. Could it be possible that I "missed" his optimal dose for some reason? Should I be concerned that he had some better numbers down around 1u a few weeks back and I had skipped from .5u to 1u? or just stay the course and patient and go up to 1.75 at PMPS? And thanks for being patient with me learning the ropes with the message board and SLGL approach!! Appreciate all your help and support.

Previous Post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/watched/threads
 
Looks like Tiger needs another 0.25 unit increase.

No, you haven't bypassed a good dose. He's still on a relatively small dose. You test enough to know how low the dose is taking him, have been holding the dose long enough and increasing by safe amounts. Therefore, you've gotten to this dose safely.

What you are seeing is not uncommon. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. Don't expect to add a little bit more and see a little bit more numbers. You just have to keep following the dosing method until you reach a fitting dose. You will get there. :bighug:

On the spreadsheet, you don't need to keep updating the history of DKA/ketones field on the top. Just put yes and the most recent date if he's been positive for either of those. I see you've put the amount in the Remarks field for today, which is good, but I'd add the word "ketones" at the end so we know what you are referring to. That's negative, so good. :)
 
Looks like Tiger needs another 0.25 unit increase.

No, you haven't bypassed a good dose. He's still on a relatively small dose. You test enough to know how low the dose is taking him, have been holding the dose long enough and increasing by safe amounts. Therefore, you've gotten to this dose safely.

What you are seeing is not uncommon. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. Don't expect to add a little bit more and see a little bit more numbers. You just have to keep following the dosing method until you reach a fitting dose. You will get there. :bighug:

On the spreadsheet, you don't need to keep updating the history of DKA/ketones field on the top. Just put yes and the most recent date if he's been positive for either of those. I see you've put the amount in the Remarks field for today, which is good, but I'd add the word "ketones" at the end so we know what you are referring to. That's negative, so good. :)

Thank you!
 
Back
Top