12/6 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 5 - Looking good so far

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by KittyMom777, Dec 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Re: 12/3 Silver - Vet Response to Silver's Progress

    Juliet,
    save yourself another vet bill by teaching your other cat to let you test....

    go for random times.... but get a few .... see how that cat is trending.....

    if the numbers are always in the norm range....





    our previous other cat turned out to have fd too.... until I changed her food. ( we don't have her now.... she had other health issues and
    had to cross the bridge)
     
  2. Re: 12/3 Silver - Vet Response to Silver's Progress

    Wondering if you had a magic way to send me the spreadsheet in a format that I can use in our vet software. After downloading and managing to get it into an Excel .xls file I learned our software doesn't like that.
    Then I downloaded it as a .pdf file and it is 32 pages long. Don't want that either.
    Can you send me the info for Nov 2014 as a .pdf that is maybe 1-4 pages long - likely needs to be in landscape format.
    Does that make sense?
    Thanks kindly,


    Juliet,
    In Google Docs, I think that under the "file" menu, there is an option to "download as" and you can pick "PDF". And you can choose "landscape" as well.
     
  3. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/3 Silver - Vet Response to Silver's Progress

    Thanks Carl! That worked

    Good idea Rhiannon. Sasha is far less likely to allow that but I'll try. I tested her once and she as mad at me but that was when I wasn't very good at it
     
  4. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/3 Silver - Nice day in the grass today

    Sweet - came home to a nice 90. So far so good Silver...
     
  5. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Re: 12/3 Silver - AMPS 77.4; PMPS 90 - NO INSULIN!

    I hope you're gaining confidence in being able to talk to your vet too!

    She needs to learn that the vast majority of cats are "good boys and girls" and with a little patience (and the right bribe) will allow testing as often as the caretaker wants to...I mean look at some of us!

    Congratulations on another wonderful day!
     
  6. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/3 Silver - AMPS 77.4; PMPS 90 - NO INSULIN!

    Thanks Chris....glad you and China got to your destination in one piece!
     
  7. tibbs5

    tibbs5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Re: 12/3 Silver - AMPS 77.4; PMPS 90 - NO INSULIN!

    juliet . this is amazing. seems like we r going to have an OTJ party. woo hoo. dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat
     
  8. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/3 Silver - AMPS 77.4; PMPS 90 - NO INSULIN!

    I'm holding my breath Nadine! 12 more days to go....
     
  9. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/3 Silver - AMPS 77.4; PMPS 90 Lights Out 91.8

    The silly boy doesn't realize he doesn't have to get as many tests. He has just been at the testing table mewing his head off for a test. So fine, I'll test you then. Still nicely in the green.
     
  10. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: 12/3 Silver - AMPS 77.4; PMPS 90 Lights Out 91.8

    Yay!
     
  11. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3 - Looking Good

    AMPS - 5.1 (91.8)
     
  12. LindaMS

    LindaMS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3 - Looking Good

    Perfect!
     
  13. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3 - Looking Good

    :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT​
     
  14. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3 - Looking Good

    thanks....am beginning to let my breath out thinking this is it....whoohoo Silver...best Christmas present.

    :RAHCAT flip_cat :RAHCAT flip_cat :RAHCAT flip_cat
     
  15. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3 - Looking Good

    Rooting for Silver in the Shire! nailbite_smile
     
  16. tibbs5

    tibbs5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3 - Looking Good

    FANTASTIC JULIET & SILVER
    :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT
     
  17. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3 - Looking Good

    Well I know its premature to put up the OTJ but he's had no shot for three days.....he's peeing in his litter box again and he's even attempting to run after his sister despite his neuropathy which seems to be taking FOREVER to get better. Eleven more days to go......just in time for a Christmas party at the Falls.

    How often should I be testing just now? Twice a day - more? less?
     
  18. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3

    I'd check about 2 hours after feeding, when you want to see the pancreas kicking in.
     
  19. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3

    ok...

    So much for saying he's stopped peeing on the floor....just did. Grrr. Anyways, I threw a keytostix under him and came back negative but I wish he'd use the tray more often. Hit or miss, sometimes yes, sometimes no.
     
  20. phlika29

    phlika29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3

    Hi Juliet

    It's great that Silver is doing so well. With regards the weakness in the legs I know I mentioned it before but when you can afford it you might want to Silver's potassium levels tested. I think it tends to be an inhouse test and may not be as expensive as some of the others. I make sure that when I go to the vet for a test they don't charge me for a consultation just for drawing some blood.

    Hopefully he will continue to improve by himself and so there is no need. :D
     
  21. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

    Day four going well - a nice green number. I have let out my breath now. I think we are half way to the Falls.

    I am actually going to see if I can go right from work to an evening meeting tonight without going home. I used to do this once a week before Silver's diagnosis and this is the first time I am trying it. Do you think I will expect a higher number as he's waiting a couple hrs longer for his food? I gave them both a bigger breakfast so they will be fine.

    Juliet
     
  22. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

    If they graze, Silver may be OK. If they eat all at once, Silver might go up.

    An inexpensive option is to freeze some of the food and put out both the fresh and the frozen when you leave, so that the frozen may be eaten when it thaws.
     
  23. MommaOfMuse

    MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

    Day 7 will be half way to the falls. He has to go 14 days before he is officially OTJ.

    Been thinking about the peeing outside the box issue. How have you been cleaning it up? If you haven't used something like Nature's Miracle or Fizzon that will kill the enzymes as well, he could be still doing it because he can smell that he has used that spot before. If it's been on carpet, you are going to need to use something like the above that you can soak all the way through the carpet and the pad under it. If you have or can get a black light that will show you if you have traces left.

    Just a thought.

    Mel and The Fur Gang
     
  24. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

    Yeah I know we're not halfway there yet....almost :). My meeting got cancelled tonight BJ so no issue.

    Re the peeing - he always goes to the puppy pads of which I put down two layers with a shower curtain underneath. It doesn't even soak through to the second pad. That is just my insurance to protect my landlords hardwood floor. I just lift up the pad and throw it away.
     
  25. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

    But I think you're right - it's habit now :-(

    I dunno if this link will work - but someone posted this on my FB page and I think its hilarious....just what I need for my little fatso Sasha. https://www.facebook.com/juliet.rainybr ... 1425356138
     
  26. tibbs5

    tibbs5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

    Fizzion works great. i use it all the time.
     
  27. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

    Here you go! Now you just have to figure out how you're going to get Sasha on it!

    [youtube]8mY8Yechvg8[/youtube]
     
  28. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

    Brilliant vid! And inspired use of a laser pointer. That black 'n' white kitty was really motoring! :cool:
     
  29. tibbs5

    tibbs5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

    i would love to get one of those but i think it might scare my gang but how cool is that !!!
     
  30. KittyMom777

    KittyMom777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

    Thanks Chris....how did you post the video? I couldn't figure it out...

    Its fun right? I think I will try and get one....Silver's mommy got inspired. Went to the gym today for the first time in years....ouch ouch!

    Anyone know where I could buy a laser pointer?
     
  31. april_sd

    april_sd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Great to see Silver doing so well. Fingers crossed for a OTJ party for Christmas!
     
  32. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Laser pointers should be fairly easy to pick up online, Juliet. I'd imagine that lots of pet shops stock them, too.
     
  33. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    They have them at WalMart too

    There are several DIY video's on YouTube on both making your own cat exercise wheel and training your cat how to use one
     
  34. Kitty mom

    Kitty mom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Another day down! Great!!!
     
  35. tibbs5

    tibbs5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    keep it up Silver.
    dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page