12/7, Pookey, AMPS 289, +8 126, +9 161, PMPS 270, +4 192, +6 151

+8 126. His lowest number since we started! :cool:

Do we still feel confident in the dose increase tomorrow? The SLGS sticky says to hold the dose in this scenario.

Seems like taking the dry away is having an impact.
 
Last edited:
I have seen some cats who have elevated BG because of the Dr. Elsey’s just depends on how carb sensitive they are. As for the increase, you can see how the rest of the cycle goes, as well as tonight’s; however, with SLGS you hold the dose for at least a week, and depending on whether you enough spot checks, run a curve after a week and / or assess the nadirs based on the spot checks you’ve gotten. The goal is to determine how low the dose is taking the cat before increasing.

But for one nadir under 150, nadirs appear to be over 150 during the course of 7 days, so you could still increase tomorrow, again depending on how this cycle and tonight plays out. A test earlier today might have been interesting, I wonder if he was lower earlier.
 
I have seen some cats who have elevated BG because of the Dr. Elsey’s just depends on how carb sensitive they are. As for the increase, you can see how the rest of the cycle goes, as well as tonight’s; however, with SLGS you hold the dose for at least a week, and depending on whether you enough spot checks, run a curve after a week and / or assess the nadirs based on the spot checks you’ve gotten. The goal is to determine how low the dose is taking the cat before increasing.

But for one nadir under 150, nadirs appear to be over 150 during the course of 7 days, so you could still increase tomorrow, again depending on how this cycle and tonight plays out. A test earlier today might have been interesting, I wonder if he was lower earlier.
Yeaaaa. I just wasn’t expecting the dive at all today since he’s been giving me flat cycles since we started.
 
Hey, same thing happened to me when I took Ailish off dry, I’d take a few more days at the current dose, then re-asses. That way you can see what is the food change vs what is the insulin increase.

It gets confusing when more than one variable is moving, and as folks here like to say, this is a marathon not a sprint.

I’d be interested in what more experienced folks think tho!
 
Hey, same thing happened to me when I took Ailish off dry, I’d take a few more days at the current dose, then re-asses. That way you can see what is the food change vs what is the insulin increase.

It gets confusing when more than one variable is moving, and as folks here like to say, this is a marathon not a sprint.

I’d be interested in what more experienced folks think tho!
Thanks for sharing that’s super helpful! You’re right about the marathon and multiple variables for sure.
 
Did he have the dry food available through-out the cycle to graze on? It was possible he was "self-regulating" by eating whenever his numbers dropped a little lower. As you start seeing lower numbers you will have to feed the curve based on data you have on his onset and nadir. You could start with snacks at +2, +4 and +6 and take it from there based on how he does.

Good luck with the increase :-)
 
Did he have the dry food available through-out the cycle to graze on? It was possible he was "self-regulating" by eating whenever his numbers dropped a little lower. As you start seeing lower numbers you will have to feed the curve based on data you have on his onset and nadir. You could start with snacks at +2, +4 and +6 and take it from there based on how he does.

Good luck with the increase :)
Hi Bhooma! Yes, up until today he was grazing on the dry.

That is the plan with the wet as soon as the auto feeder shows up. We got a feeder that is refrigerated. It will be hard to commit to feeding a +6 at night without that.
 
Hi Bhooma! Yes, up until today he was grazing on the dry.

That is the plan with the wet as soon as the auto feeder shows up. We got a feeder that is refrigerated. It will be hard to commit to feeding a +6 at night without that.
Bhooma, I’m thinking a little bit more. Could the historical data I have be somewhat invalidated because of the dry he was grazing on?

6 out of 7 days of this dose he was on the dry, and the first day today on the wet he has a low blue. I’m kind of thinking wait on the increase tomorrow to gather more data on the wet only numbers. Because realistically that 120 he had today is not that far from a dose decrease.
 
I’m kind of thinking wait on the increase tomorrow to gather more data on the wet only numbers.
Sure. If that would give you more comfort, you can do that.

While taking out the dry food could have made a difference, I would also consider availability of food today a factor while evaluating his numbers.
 
Back
Top