13.01. Simba PMPS 106 +1 117 +2 79 +2.5 67 +3 65 +3.5 85 +4.5 92 +5.75 94

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lina and Simba, Jan 12, 2021.

  1. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Can you monitor? Have enough strips and HC/MC food?
    If yes, shoot the full dose. Hold the 3U dose for now. Let's see what he does today.
     
  3. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You can take off the 911 :)
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  4. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I have enough strips and food, but I will need to pop out for a doctors appointment for 1,5 hours around noon (AMPS +4-6) for Simba.
     
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Can your mom test, if needed, in that window?

    They somehow know we have plans and pick those days to go low.
     
  6. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I’ve just asked her and she’s said yes! I will leave the 10%+ food out with the hypo note and everything just in case. I held a “hypo briefing” for my parents yesterday. Hopefully they won’t have to put their skills to the test today though!
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2021
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Then shoot the full 3U! Let's take a call at +4 on what to feed etc. He may very well bounce from here.
     
  8. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Just measured 20 mins after the previous test, it’s 106 now.
     
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If you are uncomfortable in any way, you can give a token dose of 1.5U. The first part of the cycle will stay play out thanks to the 3U depot.

    We are still in the first week of Lantus
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  10. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I'll shoot the full dose and monitor. :cat:
     
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    OK. Feed him higher carbs (10-15%) and test at +1 and we'll take it from there.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  12. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Ahh I read this after feeding him the regular 6.7%! Should I put down some additional 14% 16% or 18%?
     
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    A spoon of the 14%? Also, don't fill him up now. We may need to keep feeding him through the cycle so he should be ready to eat!
     
  14. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Okay! I panicked and gave him 2tsp of 18%. He has a bottomless stomach :D
     
  15. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    We are running 15 minutes behind on the usual shooting schedule, will it be possible to move it back to "normal" in the evening or are we stuck with an odd time?
     
  16. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Better to be safe. And his stomach sounds like mine! :smuggrin:

    You can shoot up to 30 mins here and there per day. So you can shoot at your normal time in the evening.
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  17. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Okay, perfect! We've been on a very strict schedule, I'll relax it a bit. We went a bit wonky last night with my syringe experimenting too. I guess that only really affects the testing times during the day, if we've started off late. 35mins to go until +1!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  18. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    So you used syringes to shoot last night and this AM? There is bound to be some difference in the dose between a pen and a syringe. Just note that you started using a syringe in your SS comments.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  19. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yes, I did. I already like the syringe better. It's nicer not to have to hold Simba still for 10 seconds after shooting and I'm not left doubting whether the full dose got administered with little drops of insulin forming at the tip of the pen.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  20. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +1 196. Maybe I overdid the HC food? I can check his +2 and +3 and go from there. Mum will have to check +4 and +5 for me. ;)
     
  21. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Looks like he could be bouncing. If he is still higher at +2 or +3, he is definitely bouncing. Feed LC from here on.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  22. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Okay! I'm thinking if he's still bouncing at +3, I leave it to his nan to test at +4 and feed LC. Simba is sleeping with all four paws up in the air and a toy mouse as his pillow :D
     
    Pookie (GA) likes this.
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If he is higher at +3 than AMPS, you can stop testing. He will only head higher.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  24. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Looks like Simba might behave well for his nan :cat:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  25. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Keep giving him a little LC with every test. Will you be able to get a +4?
     
  26. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I just gave a little 6.7%. I won't be home for the +4, but I'll get a +3 before heading to my appointment.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  27. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +3 135. Should I give him some more LC? Mum will check his BG in an hour and message me, awaiting instructions on what to do.
     
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Give him some LC and I think the next test can wait till +5.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  29. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Lovely, thanks! I’ll tell mum to keep an eye on him and test at +4 if he’s acting weird at all.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  30. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I think Simba's become VERY unbothered with the testing. 99 at +5! Should I feed him more or check back in 30min/1hour?
     
  31. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    An hour is fine :)
     
  32. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I checked again 30mins later. An hour from now? :)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  33. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sorry I didn't see your post in time. An hour from now is fine. He's just about dipping his toes in normal numbers. You need to test every half hour only when he's closer to 50.
     
    Xara Kakarantza likes this.
  34. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Okay! That's good to know. He's still got a while to go until 50. Do you think I should raise him to 3.25 units starting tonight after all?
     
  35. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I realized only today that you haven't completed 1 week on Lantus. We hold the starting dose for 1 week for the depot to build.

    @tiffmaxee
    @Sue and Luci
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  36. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yeah it will be one week tomorrow PM cycle. I am honestly in awe how much progress Simba has made in less than a week. That month and a bit on protaphane was simply a nightmare.
     
    Hercule's mum and Bandit's Mom like this.
  37. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Considering how rampant diabetes is in cats now, they really need to focus more on it in vet school! :rolleyes:
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  38. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Good job shooting. Nice surfing today.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  39. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Thank you! :) I think Simba is just around his nadir with 61. Time for food, perhaps?
     
  40. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    You can feed some LC to see if he keeps surfing and test in an hour.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  41. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes please. He is a late "nadir-er". Some LC. If you have something on the higher end like 10%. Don't want him too low for you to be able to shoot tonight's dose.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  42. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    He got a little mix of both :) I'll check back in an hour. He has almost 4,5 hours to go until his PM shot, so I can give another MC snack 2 hours prior if required.
     
  43. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Does manipulating the curve work both ways? Say, if he goes on another bouncy adventure... could I give him my lowest carb food on those days? I've got some 1.6%-1.9% in the pantry too, his usual LC is around 7%.
     
  44. Hercule's mum

    Hercule's mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    I remeber you commenting on my thread a few days agod that you haven't seen the greens....look at you both now! :) Well done simba!
    I know that ECID, but I am surprised vets in Europe are so reluctant to give Lantus....
     
  45. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Jinxed myself! Same goes for thinking I'd have a peaceful night last night :D Simba is definitely reading what I write here... so listen up, Sim! We are headed for REMISSION! Now that's out in the universe. :cat:

    I joined a local FD facebook group with around 100 members and Protaphane seems to be the choice of insulin quite often. It was a bit shocking to read some of it actually, how nonchalant people were about "my cat got 4 hypos but she's fine, I don't test her BG" :nailbiting: I am armed for a hypo when Simba dips into 100's already!
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2021
    Hercule's mum and Bandit's Mom like this.
  46. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I don't think so. I have found that when Bandit is bouncing and is in yellows and pinks, it doesn't matter whether I feed her 1% carbs or 5% carbs.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  47. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +8 92. In 1,5 hours it's the cutoff point for food prior to measuring his PMPS BG. Should I give some LC? Or MC now? Or wait an hour/1.5hours? So many questions! I want to make sure I can shoot the normal dose in the evening.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  48. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    His normal LC should be fine. What a lovely cycle today. I would hold the dose for now. Won't be surprised if he earns a reduction soon!
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  49. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Should I give him LC now or a bit later? You have no idea how happy that's made me :bighug:
     
  50. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Will you be testing him again at +9.5 or so? That would give you a good idea of whether he has begun his bounce (in which case food is not needed) and if he still flat or lower, then feed him some LC.
     
  51. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +9.5 would be 6pm for me, so 2 hours before I usually measure his PMPS. Moving our schedule back to the 8am/8pm test+food+shot. He is quite eager to eat something now, actually :D
     
  52. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You can shoot at your usual time today even though the morning shot was 20-30 mins late.

    If he's hungry/wants food give it to him. He's been such a good boy today! :)

    They are unused to normal numbers and get extra hungry. Make sure you keep track of how much you are feeding in all. Some kitties get fat thanks to all the feeding of the curve! :)
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  53. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    He got a little bit of food. He's lost 1.5kg of weight in the last 3 months and I'd like for him to keep it off! :smuggrin:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  54. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +9.5 95. Does this call for MC? PMPS+shot in 2hrs.
     
  55. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Stick to LC for now. Carb him up at PMPS and later if needed.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  56. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Feed a little lc and stop feeding 2 hours before PMPS but test in an hour.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  57. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    This is his last LC snack before PMPS. :) So I should test him again @+10.5 and PMPS?
     
  58. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If you can, get a nap and test at +11.5. And prepare for a long night! :)

    ETA: Today your +11.5 and PMPS is the same, right? Just remembered.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  59. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yes, PMPS will be the same as +11.5! Took my tired brain way too long to figure out :D I'll have to try my best and nap later tonight, if possible.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  60. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I think you can give Simba a break from testing for now. Especially since you might see an active cycle at night. Just be prepared to shoot a lower PMPS than you have till now. Or not. Who knows?!

    Your PMPS is 2 hours from now, right?
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  61. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yes, 1hour45mins from now. It will have been 2hours since he ate. Indeed, who knows?! He is keeping me surprised!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  62. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    That is their aim in life. :rolleyes:
     
  63. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    That will be 17 tests in the last 24 hours. The Freestyle Lite strips come in packs of 50, I just opened a new one last night. Ordered 150 more today :D
     
    Pookie (GA) and Bandit's Mom like this.
  64. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I used to feel I was running low on strips if I had less than 250. I bought many by auction on eBay.
     
    Lina and Simba and Bandit's Mom like this.
  65. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    @Butters & Lyla went up to 22 tests in a single cycle recently. :eek:
     
  66. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    That is... crazy! :blackeye:
     
  67. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Just a heads up - I'm about to measure Simba's PMPS. Will update immediately.

    I'll want to know...
    1. What to feed?
    2. How much to shoot?
    3. When to measure next?

    Fingers crossed I can squeeze in a two-hour nap after his shot.

    EDIT: PMPS 106
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2021
  68. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Feed some mc right way. I am going to look at the ss. Be right back.
     
    Bandit's Mom and Lina and Simba like this.
  69. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Will you be too tired to keep testing? I suspect he might bounce but there’s no guarantee. You will need a +1 and +2.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  70. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You can monitor tonight? And I think you didn't need to feed more than 10% in the AM cycle to prevent a dip below 50?
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  71. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If she props him up a little at PMPS and +1 he might not keep her up late.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  72. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I fed him 50 grams of 12%. I am happy to keep testing!
    I can keep monitoring! In the morning I fed him two teaspoons of 18%, he did well on that.
     
  73. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Ok. So shoot the 3.0 and get a +1 and +2. :D
     
    Bandit's Mom and Lina and Simba like this.
  74. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
  75. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Thank you so much for all the help today. :) Goodnight!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  76. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    What have we here?:D:D:D Great job shooting, Lina!:woot: Shoot low to stay low!
    I'm in Canada and work at home but I pop by whenever I can, depending on my meetings' schedule.
     
    Lina and Simba and tiffmaxee like this.
  77. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    My boy is feeling good! :D I am tired but this is so rewarding. Unless Simba bounces back up I will be here and asking lots of silly questions throughout the night.
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  78. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Looks like the title of the thread couldn't fit more text in!

    AMPS CYCLE:
    Simba AMPS 128+20min 106 +1 196 +2 162 +3 135 +5 99 +5.5 97 +7 61 +8 92 +9.5 94

    PMPS 106 +1 117
    That's a fair bit lower than AMPS +1. More MC food, or wait&test at +2?
    @tiffmaxee
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2021
  79. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    More mc and test at +2.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  80. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I will check back at +2. He’s not bouncing so far and I dint think he will. You didn’t get a food bump either. The insulin will be kicking in by +2.
     
  81. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yeah, very flat looking!! The +2 is only 35 minutes away, eek!
     
  82. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
  83. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Give a little hc. Test in 30 minutes
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  84. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    20grams 18%. Back in 30mins

    I think I have to pick a measurement and stick to it when recording food :D my SS looks very intense with the tsp, tbsp, 1/2 trays and packets and now grams!
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  85. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +2.5 67. What should I do now?:nailbiting:
     
  86. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    With encouragement from @tiffmaxee I am using a small digital scale now to weigh out all of Ruby's meals. It makes the spreadsheet look neater to have everything in ounces. :bookworm::p Plus it helps me calculate how many calories she's eating everyday so I can control her weight better.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  87. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I've just put out the digital scale for exactly that purpose. Will be much easier to follow how much of what Simba's eating when its all in grams. :cat:
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  88. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    More hc. Test in 20-30.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  89. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I'm ready to crack open the 33% carb as well and water it down + mix in treats to get Simba to eat it.
     
    Xara Kakarantza likes this.
  90. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Get one more test first.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  91. Xara Kakarantza

    Xara Kakarantza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    wow lots of blue and green!!!
    I usually give 23% or 29% carbohydrates in low numbers.
    1 teaspoon
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  92. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    PMPS+3 65
     
  93. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Simba has really surprised me here! Your spreadsheet really gives me hope :)
     
    Xara Kakarantza likes this.
  94. Xara Kakarantza

    Xara Kakarantza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    I think you should give him a little more Hc.More than 20%.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  95. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    A little more hc and test in 30. Simba is in healing numbers. Are you okay?
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  96. Xara Kakarantza

    Xara Kakarantza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Everything will be fine with the Lantus!
    I'm sure, you will see !!
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  97. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It looks like Simba might be stopping the drop. I’d continue as is.
     
  98. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Not gonna lie I'm quite nervous! Simba is sleeping peacefully in between his meals. Should I continue with a MC, not HC?

    I have an open 12% can in the fridge.
     
  99. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I would reserve the hc for if you are around 50 as he seems to be leveling out.
     
  100. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Normal numbers are 50-80. We need to see how he responds to the carbs. So far he’s flattening out.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.

Share This Page