? 14/5 Grizoulis PMPS 396 another cat of mine with diabetes please advise

Kokkinoulis

Member
Dear administrators,

@Wendy&Neko , @Bandit's Mom , @tiffmaxee , @Marje and Gracie , @Chris & China (GA)@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-with-diabetes-grizoulis.299977/#post-3263585

After a long absence, I am writing again on the forum. If you remember, I have Kokkinoulis, a diabetic cat with acromegaly who is now in remission and he only takes cabergoline every day. His brother, Grizoulis (grey is Greek), is a thin cat (3.7 kg), 9 years old, who suffers from chronic rhinitis or rhinosinusitis since the age of 1 when I found them.

He has many years intermittent nasal discharge, sneezing, snoring, open-mouth breathing, and he has received several broad spectrum antibiotics and long courses and other medications over the years with only a moderate response. Recently I noticed that he was urinating very frequently and in large quantities, drinking a lot of water, and was very hungry, and especially after a dose of antibiotics and corticosteroids, his condition deteriorated sharply. He did lab tests and he had high liver enzymes levels and elevated fructosamine levels so I started him on 1 unit of insulin lantus.
Unfortunately, I can't measure him at all by his ears because he has sensitivity and pain in his ears (he also has a polyp that should be operated on at some point) and he is also very naughty. For this reason, I decided to put him on a libre and also due to work, I am away from home for several hours. But I can't verify libre's glucose values by measuring it with a glucose meter as I did with Kokkinoulis. With great difficulty I also do the insulin injection every time. Also, in this cat, the Libre does not last 2 weeks as it should and it was last in Kokkinoulis's but in 1 week it is out of order for unknown reasons (I have used 3 Libres to date). I'm thinking that maybe because he's just skin and bones this could be happening and for the same reason (also because he's squirming) when I shot him insulin, especially the first days, I didn't know if I was just injecting him into the skin or the fur...he has no fat at all.

As I said, I started with 1IU Lantus BID on 21Mar2025 but unfortunately at the same time my dad was very sick in the last stage of cancer and I spent many hours with him at hospital, so I skipped doses or made too quick and incorrect changes to insulin units.

Since April 5, 2025 and after my dad passed away I have been trying to follow the TR more carefully and I need your help and advice. As you could see in his spreadsheet he has a strange pattern and in the morning his glucose curve is usually flat at high values while in the evening at +3 to +7 he do a sharp dip with hypoglycemias (unfortunately I cannot confirm the actual glucose values and whether they are really so low by measuring him with a glucometer in the ear). Yesterday it was was the first day after a long time that he had better numbers (blue) in the morning, which unfortunately did not continue in the evening and today. I don't know if these high numbers during an entire cycle and after a sudden hypoglycemia are a bounce or there is something else or maybe due to chronic rhinitis (inflammation).

What dose of insulin do you think I should do in the next few days? Should I increase the dose back to 1.5? Should I wait another 1-2 cycles to see how it goes?

Thank you in advance and sorry for the long post.
 
Last edited:
I was going to ask you when Kokki if went into remission and when. That's great news! Sorry to hear about your second diabetic though.

I think I'd try 1.0 units of insulin again. He's been to the 40's many times. And since you can't compare it to a BG meter, I think it's best to be safe and take the Libre values as they read. We've had varying comparisons of Libre to human meter here. Although the Libre typically reads lower, I've also seen some people find they are relatively close. Best to be safe.

Grizoulis pattern is not unusual. He's going lower at night as many cats do, then bouncing during the day.
 
I was going to ask you when Kokki if went into remission and when. That's great news! Sorry to hear about your second diabetic though.

I think I'd try 1.0 units of insulin again. He's been to the 40's many times. And since you can't compare it to a BG meter, I think it's best to be safe and take the Libre values as they read. We've had varying comparisons of Libre to human meter here. Although the Libre typically reads lower, I've also seen some people find they are relatively close. Best to be safe.

Grizoulis pattern is not unusual. He's going lower at night as many cats do, then bouncing during the day.

Dear Wendy,

Thanks a lot for your reply. Kokkinoulis is on remission since September (sometimes his BG are 150 but most of time are below that without insulin) only on cabergoline every day. Today Grizoulis' BGs are very high all day at 1.25 IU and the libre will be soon out of range again only after 5 days!!! I am very frustated and I'm worried about what I'll do with the gray one and how I'll regulate him, but also from a financial point of view, as I have over 17 cats and also have to take care of my mother with Parkinson's and the beginnings of dementia.I updated the spreadsheet with last night's BGs and they are very high. I was thinking the opposite to increase the dose today to 1.5 but maybe as you said it is very soon. Should I keep at least the dose to 1.25IU to see if the high numbers are bounce? What do you thing?
 
Last edited:
If he's bouncing, it could take another day to resolve. Do you think the Libre will fail soon? Not a good time to increase if he's seeing under 50 on the Libre.
 
If he's bouncing, it could take another day to resolve. Do you think the Libre will fail soon? Not a good time to increase if he's seeing under 50 on the Libre.
His numbers are still high all morning. Yesterday and today he is also very hungry and this is not a good sign. I don't know what to do. Libre has interruptions so maybe it is not a good time for to increase now. I will give him again 1.25 iu tonight and we see if he's bouncing as you said.
 
Back
Top