15.1. Simba AMPS 81 +1 126 +2 112 +4 72 +6 70 +8 94 PMPS 92 +1 112 +2 103 +3 94 +4 92 +5.75 122

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lina and Simba, Jan 15, 2021.

  1. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yesterday:

    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-94-1-113-2-76-3-83-4-79-6-5-70-8-61.241474/

    First shot of Lantus was in the PM cycle, that was 3U. I shot 2U of protaphane in the morning by accident!

    I've lost the bookmarked page for abbreviations - what does BCS mean?
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    A BCS would be a token dose. How are you feeling? Did you get any sleep?
     
  3. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It is a slang for a token dose - Big Chicken Sh*t Dose :)
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  4. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    About the same amount of sleep that I got yesterday in the day. I'll be napping again. :D
    HA, that made me laugh. :D I'm happy to give him a BCS today as well.
     
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think you should give 1.5. Hopefully you will be able to get more sleep.
     
    Lina and Simba and Bandit's Mom like this.
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Makes sense.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  7. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Okay. What kind of carb% should I give? Would mixing some 8% with 16% be alright?
     
  8. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That sounds good.
     
  9. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I think this will become the standard schedule for us - brekkie at 8:20, shot at 8:30. In the evening Simba's got his shot by 20:15. :)
    Should I leave it to Simba's nan to test him at +1 or skip straight to +2?
     
  10. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Let her test at +1 and feed MC if flat or lower.
     
    tiffmaxee and Lina and Simba like this.
  11. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +1 126. Wait until +2 to feed?
     
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. May not need MC now. Let's see how it goes.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Meant to add that he is a late nadir cat, so a +3 next should be fine.
     
  14. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
  15. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Ahh, I just missed this :D
     
  16. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Nah. I was late posting it. My mistake! Feed a little LC and test at +4. Hope you are getting naps in!
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  17. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    20g 7.9% for Sim. I am indeed. Back to bed for another 2 hours!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  18. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +4 72. My dad (Simbas grandpa) measured his BG. :bighug:
     
  19. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Should I give him some MC and test in two hours? @Bandit's Mom

    Edit: gave him 20grams of 16% @+4.75. He still has a fair bit to go to nadir. I'll test him at +6. Hopefully I made the right decision!
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2021
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  20. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sorry! Just saw this. He's on a roll!
     
  21. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    E93538BB-92D8-4D06-955C-C5CEB5F0E80E.jpeg
    This is too good not to share :D
     
  22. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    He really is! Looks like I can hold the token dose of 1.5 tonight as well?!
     
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Looks like it! The idea is to get a dose where we can get him to surf with largely LC. The larger (3/2.5U) depot is still at play and can influence 4 to 6 cycles after a reduction, so lets see where we are once the 1.5U depot builds.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  24. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yeah that would be good. He's gone through a couple of cans of MC - I need to restock today. Also, 150 more test strips arrived today! :)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  25. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I hope you've ordered more strips ;)
     
  26. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Looks like ordering 150 will be a weekly ordeal :D the cheapest I’ve found them is 34 euros for 50!
     
  27. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +6 70. Maybe Simba's pancreas has woken up from hibernation mode? :D should I let him surf without food a while longer?
     
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    WOW. Just wow. Yes. Feed again at +9?

    I see a note on your SS for Jan 4th saying stopped feeding him kibble. What were you feeding him? Some HC prescription food?
     
  29. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I gave him some LC @+6.5 Will feed some LC at +9 too. :)

    Yes, poor thing was on an AWFUL diet before. Hill's z/d wet food mixed with the cans I use as MC now. And Hill's z/d kibble, as well. :( I feel very guilty for trusting the vet and believing that was the right food to feed him. Around Christmas time we switched to the Royal Canin Diabetic wet food and Hill's diabetic kibble. Occasionally mixed z/d wet with the RC wet.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2021
  30. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    How are you feeling today, Lina :bighug:? You're doing wonderful with Simba :cat: Beautiful cycle :D
     
  31. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    That explains his race down the dosing ladder. Did the same vet ask you to start him off at 3U of Lantus? :eek:
     
  32. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    A tiny bit better, thank you for asking! Still awaiting to hear from the doctor. Simba is making me proud :)
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  33. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    She did indeed. I was like "uhmmmm, okay then". I mean it's worked a treat, but it would've been very dangerous if I didn't have the support and knowledge from the FDMB.
     
  34. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Now I think even 1.5U might be on the higher side. Let's see how the next couple of cycles play out.
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  35. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yes, I'll see how he does on 1.5U! This is very exciting!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  36. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I'm glad you think so. Being sleep deprived when unwell is not great! LOL.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  37. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Simba is doing looking good. You're doing a great job with him. I hope you can get more naps in today.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  38. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Thank you! :) I think I will squeeze a nap in after his nadir, pre-PM cycle.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  39. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Anything for my boy :cat::kiss:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  40. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +8 94. I'll give him some more LC at +9/+9.5 and check back at PMPS.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  41. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    PMPS guesses, anyone? :smuggrin:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  42. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    *drumroll* 92 :D
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  43. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Stick to 1.5U. He is probably going to earn a reduction but let's wait to be sure the 3U depot is not at play.

    @tiffmaxee
     
    tiffmaxee and Lina and Simba like this.
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’m loving this PMPS! Yes stick with 1.5. :D
     
    Bandit's Mom and Lina and Simba like this.
  45. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Okay! :) Should I stick to a mix of LC&MC for his dinner?
    Similar to what he had for brekkie.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  46. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I would .
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  47. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. Feed higher carbs in the first part of the cycle and see if you can keep him surfing on LC thereafter.
     
    Lina and Simba and tiffmaxee like this.
  48. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Perfect! Should I check back in an hour? I hope I managed his shot alright, he tried to escape :D
     
  49. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. please. I may not be awake but Elise will be around. Good luck!
     
    tiffmaxee and Lina and Simba like this.
  50. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Thank you :)
     
  51. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I need to buckle up for a busy night ahead... +1 112. Test + feed in an hour, same as yesterday? @tiffmaxee
     
  52. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Not even a food bump. How are you feeling?
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  53. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Right?! What is going on? Has Simba had enough of all the needles?
    I am feeling alright, thanks for asking. I’m starting to get the hang of this “sleep 50mins - test+feed 10mins”.
     
  54. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sorry. Missed your post. Been busy here. I’ll check back in 20 minutes.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  55. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    No worries! I really appreciate your help. I feel like I’m starting to get the hang of things. :)
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  56. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Not as big of a drop at +2. Would LC be sufficient for now? Or should I carb him up a bit more to get two hours of sleep in?
     
  57. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Try lc and test in an hour but if you need to sleep carb up and check in 2.
     
  58. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I'll do LC for now. I'm up watching the telly anyway so I'll keep the MC up my sleeve for later in the cycle.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  59. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +3 94. Back on the green wave. Should I feed MC now and test in two hours? Three hours? I don't even know what to say about Simba anymore :cat: I’m still really awake after my marathon napping so I could skip the food for now and test at +4.

    I filmed a little clip of testing him to send to a few of my friends who know he's ill and I almost cried a little! The trust he has in me. Just laying there, peacefully. He's an angel.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2021
  60. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Feed mc and test in 2 hours. Make it 2 1/2 hours.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  61. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I'll be back in 2.5 hours sharp :)
     
    Butters & Lyla and tiffmaxee like this.
  62. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I see Simba is still keeping you rather busy:D. Remember to find some time to sleep:p.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  63. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Lina, you are doing so well with Simba! It brings tears to my eyes too when I think about how much our kitties put up with the fussing and poking and trips to the vet and in the end still trust and love us.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  64. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    And I also see that you are testing in between tests, lol. Thought you weren't going to test until @+5.5:D. I see that +4 on your spreadsheet. Nice and flat. Will see you for that +5.5 in....30 minutes. I'm keeping eyes on you and Simba too.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2021
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  65. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Haha, you caught me there! Simba let out a high-pitched meow in the kitchen and I was there in seconds. :D
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  66. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    You haven't fed since the +3 and Simba is higher @+6. Go to bed for the rest of the night. Please!
    Nothing else but LC for that boy tonight. No further tests.
     
  67. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    The latest test is @+5.75. I am too sleepy to manually enter that data in the SS.
     
  68. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Oh yes, I'd have done the same! They have us wrapped around their toe beans!
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  69. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    If he’s asleep and happily snoring is it okay not to feed him anymore tonight? :cat:
     
  70. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    That's fine! You'll change it at some point. It doesn't change what I said.
    Bed for you.
    Nothing but LC for Simba if you think he needs more food. Otherwise he will be fine.
    Right! Goodnight. Don't squander your opportunity for a few hours of uninterrupted sleep:p:bighug:.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  71. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Thank you! :bighug: I am migrating back to my own bed after successfully dislocating my entire spine on the sofa. I’ll see what tomorrow morning brings for us. Goodnight!
     
    tiffmaxee and Butters & Lyla like this.
  72. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sleep well.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  73. Xara Kakarantza

    Xara Kakarantza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Wow! Wonderful blue and green numbers !!
    Keep going!!Congratulations!!!!
    I'm so happy for you! :bighug:
     
    Lina and Simba and Bandit's Mom like this.
  74. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Thank you! I hope Simba follows Zorros pawprints and takes another reduction soon. :cat::p
     
    Xara Kakarantza likes this.

Share This Page