2/12 Latte AMPS-331, PMPS-281

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
pmps-330-somethin'
+3-398
+6-320-somethin'
amps-331

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5930

How did we arrive at this place?! :sad:

She was grouchy and wouldnt move from her spot under the piano this morning. Tried being nice and petting her until she was ready, but she just swatted at me a few times. 10 min late because she prefered to stay where she was.

Ketone test - unsure. I almost felt it looked between the none and trace, if that is possible. Could be my paranoia. Im guessing I can get another one this a.m., as she seems much more interested in drinking her water than eating.

Picking up new syringes with longer needles after work today. Increasing dose to a full 2u (2 drops more than right now).

Back up vet should be calling after 3 to help me decide if she should get a u/a and discuss pain med options. Will leave another message for specialist to discuss same. Emailed ss last night, so he could look at it and have a heads up over my concerns.

I have 3.5 days off this weekend to do whatever needs to be done. Errands are a must and an interview for a nanny job on Sunday.
 
Re: 2/12 Latte AMPS-331

Well, she is lower today at least. Hope your vet and/or specialist will be able to help with some info.
You will be home with her over the weekend and that will be good...definitely try to get that ketone check if you can.
Hope you have a good day today Carolyn! :-D Kiss Latte for Shadow....
 
Re: 2/12 Latte AMPS-331

Just checking in on you guys.... I'm really sorry this streak of higher numbers is not breaking yet, and I really wish I had some advice, but everything I can think of has already been mentioned.

I think once upon a time I gave you a bottle of homepathic pain relief...Pain plus??? did you ever discuss it with one of your vets? Winston had bad arthritis and spondilosis (?) I gave him that twice a day (I think) and supplemented with a little Buprenex as needed.

I love the idea of a pharmeceutical specialist...don't know if it's a viable option for you.

Sending ((((((((((hugs))))))))))) and hope that one of the vets will call you back soon and give you some insight.
 
Re: 2/12 Latte AMPS-331

I'm hoping that Latte is gearing up for some good numbers.

I hope her vets have some insights into what's going on. Of course, Latte may just be trying to confound you.
 
Re: 2/12 Latte AMPS-331

+2~241
ketone test looks same. probably just fine.
ate about 3/4 of 3oz wellness. Still crabby.
Guess I cant blame her. I'm out for the day.

Have a good friday everyone.
 
ketone test strip

carolyn, if that test strip isn't glowing (pearlescent) you don't have trace or small. believe me, it jumps out at you.
 
Re: 2/12 Latte AMPS-331

Hi Carolyn
Glad to see some improvement in Latte and that she is eating.
Hope she perks a bit and cooperates with you.
Good luck with the new syringe, I'm thinking about those "harpoons" too.
 
amps-321
+2-241
+2.75-204
+10.75-302
pmps-281
*increased from 1.75ish to 2u tonight. Stalling pred an hour or so in hopes of insulin getting a little head start on the monster drug*

Latte got a little more chipper after her +2.75 this a.m., and the kiss from shadow. :lol: She decided to be all cute and nice just minutes before I needed to be walking out the door. :roll:

She ate kibble while I was gone. Such mixed emotions there. She finished her can of wellness before I left for the day. Babyfood tonight until she gets hungry...usually around +4 or +5.

guess I didnt specify with the pharmacy about what brand syringes I was using/needed. So, they are now going to try and order the relion in 1/2" needles. they only had BD. Right now I dont want a change that drastic. So, we are stuck with the short, at least for a while longer. Now I am all paranoid about whether or not I am getting the needle in. If its not one thing, its another. ohmygod_smile

Specialist called and I missed it because I got out of this horrific new job late! Grrrrr! he was gone when i tried returning the call. Back up vet (not her regular one) called and pretty much said any of the variables Im suspicious of could be causing her rising BG's. He didnt really help me figure out which one would be most important to dig into first. Some other thoughts he had was possible absorption issues? Also, the longer she is on the pred, the 'more diabetic' she becomes - like more cells are dying? I didnt ask for clarification, as this was not an appt, but a phone call. Thought I would throw it out there for anyone who wants to comment or elaborate.

Pain meds - he recommends tramadol. Im not convinced, BUT I am going to pick up a few pills so I have them on hand in case I want to give it a try. I will post something on health about it. I would like to have her specialist agree with this choice and/or give other options before I give it to her, along with some more research and feedback from others.

I was hesitant to increase her dose after Jills comment last night that her numbers look like a bounce. Some horrific bounce for her, I would say! I figured she is not going too low before she bounces. Her lows are even too high (except for that 100 earlier this week). I hope I made the right decision. I will be home the next 3 1/2 days, so I guess she will show me if its too much and we will correct it. I hope thats the right attitude!

I need to go chill a little. Rough day at work. Hopefully when I come back later, everyone will have kitties doing good deeds and showing happy numbers! :mrgreen:
 
Hi Carolyn,
Maybe you could shave a small spot of hair to make it easier to see if your needle is in?

With respect to Tramadol: Bear used to take it. He had great success with it for a long time, but after stopping it and restarting it again, he developed some restless and agitated behaviour as a side effect. Just be prepared for that. Also, Jess posted something about Tramadol in Morris' condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5955
She said that Tramadol and Cyproheptadine, which I see in your profile that Latte takes, cancel each other out. I had not previously heard that. I was aware that Cyproheptadine and Mirtazapine cancel each other out, but had not heard that with respect to Tramadol. You may want to consult with your vet about that (or possibly confirm with Jess)?

I am also hearing for the first time the theory about the longer the cat is on pred, the more diabetic (or more insulin resistant?) she becomes. I suppose that is possible, as Bear suffered so many side effects on various body systems, resulting, among other things, in Iatrogenic Cushings disease, that it makes sense it would also continue to be affecting the pancreas.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top