2/12 Ruby PMPS 93/+2 91/+4 79

Katherine&Ruby

Very Active Member
Yesterday we got some meds for Ruby's appetite. Gave her 3.75 mg mirtazapine with 8 mg cerenia and she was ravenous and incredibly hyperactive. Ate a large amount of food last night, a good thing considering she hadn't been eating much, and kept at me for more by jumping on tables, countertops, and walking all over me. The last time we had her on this she was still recovering from her DKA, so she did not have as much energy. Will try to halve the dose of mirtz in the future.

On another note, is it time to go back to .25 units? She hasn't seen a number in the 60s in a few days and we're generally trending upwards though her preshots have been coming down. I know we're aiming for numbers between 50-80, and I'm not seeing that at all. Grateful for any thoughts!

Healing thoughts for all of the sick kitties. Have a great Friday, everyone! :bighug::bighug:
 
Just at a glance that SS looks quite impressive! Nice, although on the higher end of the greens...but I wouldn't change a thing myself...

Surf it pretty girl!

Have a great day Katherine!
 
I think you should hold off on increasing the dose until you are sure she is over whatever is affecting her appy. She just started the mirtz and you don't want to change too many things at the same time. I think she heard about your dose increase question.
 
I think you should hold off on increasing the dose until you are sure she is over whatever is affecting her appy. She just started the mirtz and you don't want to change too many things at the same time. I think she heard about your dose increase question.
That's a very good point, Carla. Getting her back to eating on her own without stimulants would be important. Thank you for having the clarity of mind to see that. :bighug: I am just so worried about her, concerned about what might be causing this bout of inappetence. I noticed dandruff and her coat is looking a little more scruffy than before. Hopefully food will be a good medicine.
 
I also think it's smart to focus on getting the appetite normalized first. That does seem to be the most worrisome thing going on right now. The bg numbers are only slightly elevated.
Good luck with decreasing the Mirtz. Hopefully she just needed a temporary encouragement. :bighug:
 
PMPS = 93. Ruby seems to be coming down from the mirtz and was burrowed under blankets on the bed for hours this afternoon. Did not clean the bowl presented during her PM shot meal, but maybe the cerenia I gave her about an hour ago has not kicked in yet. Sigh.
 
Back
Top