2/12 Shadoe pmps 396 +5 283 cycle 1@ 8u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Very Active Member
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday`s short recap:
331 - amps
220 - pmps
270 - +2
317 - +4
383 - +11
383 - today's amps

Since I don`t know what happened during the day yesterday, I can`t comment on the pmps yellow. While it was nice to see, it did not last long at all, so I just went to bed after +4; what`s the point when it`s just not working.

Shadoe did not sleep with me and this morning, she wanted food and pure snacks as soon as I got up. LB action was already done; no smell luckily today. After +11 and snack, she ran over to the food dishes and wanted food. Because that's been our usual morning ritual, she was thrown off by the +11 test today. No meowing just being pushy, annoying. Follows you closely and stands right beside you.
I thawed out some fresh chicken cubes and said that`s it. She gobbled them down and went right back to the following me, wanting more. There was still a bit of food left in the dish from overnite, but that was old and she wanted fresh.
She was lying at my feet, waiting for me to get up. I had to sit there for another 5min till it was time to get up and slurp up her 7.5u into a syringe.

I feel like I wasted a strip with that +11. I have no idea what`s happening with her numbers; I have no idea where we are headed now.

Of course, Shadoe is fine now and I have been dismissed as unneeded; Shadoe has had her tests and shot, and has eaten some nice foods. She is now cleaning herself like crazy, maybe attempting to lick off the fur she left from yersterday`s extreme clean. It`s amazing what her shot and a bowl of food will do to change her spirits.

It looks like tonite will be 8u UGH. I will stop by the vets tonite on the way home to see if the nice vet has looked over the MSU prints I left and has an action plan to get the arrangements going for the 2 tests. She really is very busy and I do like her and trust her, plus Shadoe seems fine so long as she keeps guzzling down lots of insulin.

If there is a reason to hold the increase longer than 6 cycles, please let me know.
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

Good morning,Gayle!
love Your morning post. Not happy with #s.
About holding a dose longer than 6 cycles? I would vote -Yes!
Jake start to respond later- on 7th or 8th.
maybe this weekend you can catch more tests?
can't wait to see what vet sais about MCU tests. Keep us posted!
Have a nice Friday,Gayle!
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

Good Morning Gayle
I kept sneaking in to check Shadoe's ss (I know when you test, lol) and didn't see
an update until now.
Shadoe is acting well and up to her usual routines.

What time do you think you will get to see the vet today. I am anxious to hear
what they say.
I'm not going to comment on the increase tonight but I do think you need to see some +6's on this 7.5 as we do not dose on preshot numbers right?

We know Shadoe is a stubborn kitty so maybe this weekend the ss can get filled up a lot more.
You are doing everything, being aggressive and being a totally devoted and loving Mama and you will get to the bottom of this. That I have confidence in.
Have a really great day today Gayle.
Thinking of you guys from sunny,freezing Montreal!
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

Gayle, you sound like you need a hug :YMHUG: (((((Gayle))))). I usually have to wait 5 days or 10 cycles to see action with Morris...seems like just when I'm fixing to increase, he will respond. But ECID and YMMV, right? dancing_cat
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

Take it one test at a time. Some kitties just need more juice! (Ask Carolyn about how much insulin Leo gets!) Once you get IAA and acro ruled out or in, you will have a better way of knowing what's going on and how to approach Shadoe's needs. In the meantime, he sounds happy. Remember, he's more than just a number.
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

Hi Gayle

what Sienne says makes sense, hopefully Carolyn can stop by to offer a bit more insight.

Shadoe by the sounds of your WCR is sounding quite happy and content, keep that in mind. Everything else falls into place.

Hope ur doing well, and know we are thinking of u.
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

Gayle, I feel so bad for you! I;m very sorry you are so frustrated. I truly hope something breaks for you in the near future.
(((((U))))))
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

As long as she is acting ok, try to relax. The tests will be important. Until then, just enjoy her and keep doing the good job that you have been doing. I know that you don't move fast enough for her liking...got that part...but she has to realize that she is not your full-time job. :roll: These girl kitties can be soooo demanding of us, ya know? :lol: I hate when Raja and Shadoe talk on the phone too or see each other...like at the party the other night. I just know they are comparing notes and then comes the critiques.. :roll: Raja thinks I fall way short of her expectations...sigh....

Maybe an experienced dosing person will come along soon and weigh in on waiting or increasing...but for now, enjoy your Friday.
Thinking of you and feeling your concern. How about some hugs from rainy nasty Florida? Here they are :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

i'd try to get another check closer to nadir at some point today but go up in dose if you don't see anything below 200. no need to sit on the dose when your nadirs are still high (see tilly).
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

Hi Gayle,
I'd say you most likely have acro/iaa going on unless something else is causing your insulin resistance, the only difference when you get those results back is that you will know what it is, or what it isn't. She remains your baby. :) You're doing a great job trying to head her out of the flat highs but I think she needs help. Tell me about what you know/think about R. I had to use it to get Leo out of his numbers. I had an advantage going in, I was well-versed in FD and predicted he was acro even before I got him when I found out what his numbers were. I was "lucky" enough to be laid off right after I adopted Leo so I was able to be very aggressive and dosed R 4x a day. Two times a day would have been helpful, but Leo was a very sick boy when I got him so I pushed harder. I believe had I not used the R, Leo could have gotten a lot sicker, he was very resistant. I see his numbers in your SS.

I also hear your voice in my head. Lorna and I (she is mom to the acro Girlcat) have spent hours laughing at ourselves. We'd get to a dose, totally arcane doses, like 9.5u or 18u or 29u, and go "that's it, I'm not increasing ONE MORE TIME" -- we laughed but it really does suck when you see a teeny improvement and then backslide.. or worse, no improvement. You start questioning yourself, second-guessing yourself.. it's highly stressful, this high dose stuff, especially when you look back and see them getting the same numbers on 4u that they got on 23u.

Here's my SS. http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pkwEJXZdhGd9dugnx-MrJPw&output=html I stopped updating it when Leo got really sick for several weeks, and I just haven't restarted it yet. We made it all the way to 40u, now back to 28.5u. We were crushed by Lorna who made it to I believe 65u, but down to a little higher than I am right now. :shock: I hope it shows you that you are not alone standing at the base of that mountain looking up. No matter the reason you're headed up (iaa/acro/something else) it's climbable, and we'll help you along the way. :)

And yes go for that increase, you have no reason to hold that dose. :)
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

One more thing. Note what happened at 8.5u in my SS. We started increasing 1u at a time from 7.5u per Jojo's recommendation. At that point, I had a positive result on the acro test, so we were free to do it. You might want to start thinking about that too when you get your test results in, because it's just about time for you. If anything is positive, you can be as aggressive as you need to be and dose a little "outside the box".
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

(((Gayle))) I hope the vet is able to get you started on the tests, so that you will know what you are dealing with, and move on from there.
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

Thanks all, I will be pushing for arrangements to get the tests done asap. I am not taking any excuses from the vet's now.

Carolyn, I sent you a pm; I will look at Leo's ss when I get home, and thanks to mention about the larger increase size because I will now ask the nice vet for her opin, even though I will go with what's working here. I just want her to be aware, that's all. You just tell me what I need to get from them and I will get it all. You can take that to the bank too!

Linda, even if there is no change other than a bit more aggression, I still need to know what is going on.
This nice vet will love to learn more about it all too; she is a very perfect kind of vet. She is forever taking time, even if she has no time, for anyone who talks to her in the hospital. She has been there for many many years; all the others are new and alright but with know-it-all attitudes that raises the hair on my neck. If I were a cat, I would definitely hiss, spit and scratch a few of those vets.

I may be able to get home for a +10 after stopping at the vets.
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Thanks all, I will be pushing for arrangements to get the tests done asap. I am not taking any excuses from the vet's now.

Carolyn, I sent you a pm; I will look at Leo's ss when I get home, and thanks to mention about the larger increase size because I will now ask the nice vet for her opin, even though I will go with what's working here. I just want her to be aware, that's all. You just tell me what I need to get from them and I will get it all. You can take that to the bank too!

Linda, even if there is no change other than a bit more aggression, I still need to know what is going on.
This nice vet will love to learn more about it all too; she is a very perfect kind of vet. She is forever taking time, even if she has no time, for anyone who talks to her in the hospital. She has been there for many many years; all the others are new and alright but with know-it-all attitudes that raises the hair on my neck. If I were a cat, I would definitely hiss, spit and scratch a few of those vets.

I may be able to get home for a +10 after stopping at the vets.


Gayle, it's perfectly okay to be aggressive without the tests. You keep on going up every 6 doses by 1/2u right now since you're within protocol and the protocol works on HD kitties.. to an extent. After that we need to look at R. Humulin R or Novalin R is available at the human drugstore, no script in US required so I doubt you will need one either. It's a U100 insulin so you won't need any new syringes. You can practice with it on the weekends, and we'll help you. The first dose, you want to start super-low (.1u) and monitor the whole cycle. You're looking for: onset, offset, amount of bg decrease, how well the lantus/levemir worked after R administration and how long it (the R) stays in the system.

I wanted to let you know I am intermittent on the board. I have a few kitties I keep an eye on here though and I will add you to my list too, but if you have questions in your condo, be sure to send me a PM so I can come look if I am not online. I have a heavy poker schedule (yes, I did just say that LOL) so I am out a lot.
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe +11 383 amps 383 cycle 6 last @ 7.5u

i am not an R user but that's what was running thru my mind, too. sometimes it just takes the edge off so the lantus can work on the numbers. if you're willing to try it, carolyn can help you tremendously with that, as can a few others.
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe amps 383 pmps 396 cycle 1@ 8u

OK Shadoe ate all for food in 2 sections, between 10am and 2pm. After that point, she ate 1/2 bowl. Counting her breakfast and the 2 1/2 bowls, that's around two 3oz cans.

She's doing that crazy cleaning again; no idea why so much. I am not sure if she is feeling great; when she was standing and I rubbed her belly, she was meowing, and she has been licking her lips again. :YMSIGH: I gave her 1/4 pepcid to settle her stomach and put a small bit of the codeine TD inside her ears. I don't like that she was meowing and tensing her belly when I patted her, so hopefully she feels better now.

I stopped at the vets and the nice vet was in surgery, so I left a BIG message for her. She is good and will likely call me just before she leaves for the day, around 11pm. The message included the following:
1. Start making arrangements for the tests - I want an estimate of costs and I had the receptionist write down the test costs of $57, plus that I have already looked up purolator and those charges would be around a couple hundred.
2. Want to discuss Lev and also R; want to start R and switch to Lev if test results are positive.
3. Requested she check VIN if she does not believe that something like 30% of diabetic cats also are IAA/acro postive. Is that about right?
4. There was something else, but I forget what I said.

I don't know if I should ask for some bupe to have on hand, I have some fluids still on hand but I should get some more. I don't want to wait till I need something, then run out and get it; that's just dumb planning.

Shadoe has completed her cleaning, or else the cream on her ear flap has taken effect, but she's all sprawled out, and I swear she is smiling.

Time to get some coffee before she starts complaining again.
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe amps 383 pmps 396 cycle 1@ 8u

Great report Gayle and extremely thorough, not surprised coming from you.
Really anxiuosly waiting for that meet with nice vet so you can get the ball
rolling.
It's good news that hse is eat well and is enjoying the TLC from you.
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe amps 383 pmps 396 cycle 1@ 8u

Just wanted to say hi tonight. A lot to read and process in this condo tonight! Give scratches to Shadoe and Booboo for me.
 
Re: 2/12 Shadoe amps 383 pmps 396 cycle 1@ 8u

hi gayle. yes, recent studies show that approximately 30% of diabetic kitties have acromegaly. here's some links to share with your vet:

Improved Ability to Diagnose Acromegaly in Cats Reveals It May Be More Common Than We Think
http://www.intownvet.com/intown/newseve ... ly4-08.pdf

Feline Acromegaly: An Underdiagnosed Endocrinopathy?
Journal of Veterinary Medicine
http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/jour ... 1&SRETRY=0

”Current thinking and knowledge about FD"
http://www.vin.com/proceedings/Proceedi ... &O=Generic

hope that helps...
 
No call from the vet yet. I will go there tomorrow if I don't get a call tonite. I will sit down and wait for as long as it takes to get some answers.

So Shadoe seems to have chosen the next color down for her flat cruising; yellow is the new color tonite. We will see what we get tomorrow.

Shadoe's been extremely demanding, wanting attention. I have to keep stopping and patting her. When I stop, I get dirty looks like hey where you going?

One more test later should be good enough for this first cycle.
 
glad you upped the dose tonight. there's no reason what-so-ever not to up the dose every 6 cycles until nadirs are in the low blues/occasional greens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top