2/13 Karamelle AMPS 420 +3 364 +6 352 +9 359 PMPS 385 +4 380

JoM

Member Since 2023
Yesterday 2/12 Karamelle AMPS 401 +5 319 +8 242 PMPS 326 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

May have had my first fur shot this morning. Ive been trying the roll method for injection, and I thought it was easier at first, but now Im having issues. I put the needle in, pressed the plunger as normal, held it there for a few seconds. But then i felt the tip of the needle on my finger. I didnt feel any liquid, so Im not sure if it went in or not. I know you're not supposed to give more. Her BG has been so high from the the drop 3 days ago. When would it be expected to start coming down? Of course if she didnt get her shot this morning, its probably all screwed up. sigh.
 
It happens. I had 2 of them in the past month :(
Try to not beat yourself up (easier said than done. Trust me)
You probably would have felt wet on her fur. When I did it I saw the puddle of insulin right away.

It can take up to a few days to come down from the bounce.
And you are correct, never ever give more insulin!!
Hang in there :bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
She could be coming down today, I don't think bounces last too long. I hope some still got in, maybe you pushed the needle while waiting? It is so frustrating when that happens :bighug:
I didnt feel the prick till after I pushed in the plunger, so maybe it got in there. Shes not coming down really. Still in pink at +6. I hate seeing the numbers so high.
 
I know, it is depressing! But be patient, she will start coming down once you get the right dose. :bighug:
I hope it's OK to ask, did you consider TR? You test enough for it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
I know, it is depressing! But be patient, she will start coming down once you get the right dose. :bighug:
I hope it's OK to ask, did you consider TR? You test enough for it.
I still feed the Young Again dry, so dont qualify for TR I guess. She really looks forward to the little bit of dry I give her 2x a day. its been a ritual with the cats for a long time. I did try to give her just wet at those times, but shes not having it and I dont want her to lose weight. She eats wet all day till about 5pm, gets about 1/8 cup of dry, then wet again, then another 1/8 cup at 10:30-11pm. I will keep trying. I dont leave dry food out. All the others cats eating dry have microchip bowls.
When should i think about raising the dose? How long should she go with these high numbers?
 
I'm not too familiar with SLGS, but I think you want to hold the dose for a week, do a curve (although you test enough on days like today at least, to have a good idea), and then increase as needed:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
From the sticky: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
So that means wait for now. BEtween that 48 2 days ago and a possible FS, you don't know where she can go now!
Did she ever have ketones? Are you testing for that? With her numbers high like she is today, that's something you want to check if you can. There are urine strips you can use.
 
I'm not too familiar with SLGS, but I think you want to hold the dose for a week, do a curve (although you test enough on days like today at least, to have a good idea), and then increase as needed:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
From the sticky: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
So that means wait for now. BEtween that 48 2 days ago and a possible FS, you don't know where she can go now!
Did she ever have ketones? Are you testing for that? With her numbers high like she is today, that's something you want to check if you can. There are urine strips you can use.
I bought the urine strips but I havent used them yet. Yes, Ive read to hold the dose for a week. Thats so hard to do when its so high. We'll see what it does tomorrow. I dont always test this often, like today. i just wanted to see if she would drop at all during the day and she really didnt. im going to do one more +4 after the PM shot to see if its dropping any at night. Other than that, I guess I just have to wait and see. She seems fine and ate well today. Shes not drinking a lot of water like i might expect with these high numbers, in fact I havent seen her drinking at all, but she may just be drinking from a different bowl than she usually does. Theres two fountains and a plain bowl that she has access to. I will see if I can get a urine test. I have to test on a pee pad because she doesnt pee in the litter box. At least I know its hers, since shes the only one that uses them.
 
Back
Top