2-14 Little Man AMPS 210/+2 155/+4.5 90/PMPS 198

Little Man's mom (GA)

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-13-little-man-amps-183-4-102-7-110-pmps-181.259292/

Unless he shapes up by tomorrow morning we are gonna have to increase.

I have no idea what happened. I've triple checked the food calculations. The food he is getting now is below 3%. Only thought I had was is it possible he needed those extra carbs to work with.... I know there is a condo floating around about super low to no carb not being necessarily good. I know we had a few hiccups a few weeks back a fur shot...i had to carb him up for work and one time when we went to dinner and wouldnt be home. None of that should have thrown him totally off this long. It's like he isnt able to bounce back. He is acting fine. 5 p's are good. I started new pen not too long ago but it has shown to be working.

I realize I will probably never know and frankly just talking out loud at this point for my own sanity.
 
So just as a side note. I need to make an appt with vet. We are going to need to get a script so I can refill his lantus. I know they will want to do a check up and bloodwork. I'm going to refuse the fructosamine since well I test more than enough. However any other tests I should go ahead and get? I'm assuming a cbc and maybe a renal panel just to make sure we are good there.

@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @FrostD
 
The food he is getting now is below 3%. Only thought I had was is it possible he needed those extra carbs to work with....
I remember your saying that the formula of the foods had changed and they were higher in carbs now. But is he now eating lower carbs on a regular basis?

I'm going to refuse the fructosamine since well I test more than enough. However any other tests I should go ahead and get? I'm assuming a cbc and maybe a renal panel just to make sure we are good there.
Elise and Melissa will be able to help more than me since I am not familiar with the tests available in the US. Have heard of people getting a "Senior Panel" done, but I'm not sure what all tests that includes. Please refuse the fructosamine. It is a total waste of $$$.
 
I remember your saying that the formula of the foods had changed and they were higher in carbs now. But is he now eating lower carbs on a regular basis?


Elise and Melissa will be able to help more than me since I am not familiar with the tests available in the US. Have heard of people getting a "Senior Panel" done, but I'm not sure what all tests that includes. Please refuse the fructosamine. It is a total waste of $$$.
So yes friday last week I went through pet store and found the lower carb options of same line of food. It's mostly the kitten food options and even those there are only a couple. He has three flavors 2 are kitten that are either 0% or 2%...using the calculator if I only add in ash percentage its 2%. I I also add the other minerals to ash percentage its 0%. Either way its LC. Then there is one adult 7yrs+ flavor that is 0%. That's it and that's all he has been getting now since Friday night. ETA...I did give a small bump a couple times expecting a plummet of 4 or 5% carb at the +1 but only a tsp

As far as testing he had a senior panel done when he was dx in October so wasnt sure if that was one we should do again this soon or not. Yeah the fructosamine is a total waste of money. Unless of course I was blindly following the vets suggestion to not test and he would still only be on 1.5u of insulin...so dumb! LOL
 
Was anything out of range or close to it in October? Due to various constraints I do the senior panel once a year (it's recommended at least every 6 months), but if labs showed something out of range/approaching that (or if he's having symptoms of something) then I'd do 3 months - if it would affect treatment/plan of action.

Thyroid perhaps?

Other stuff I do "a la carte". He was having coat and diarrhea/vomiting issues, so we did the GI panel (but that's like $200+).

The formal AAHA recommendations are here: https://www.aaha.org/aaha-guidelines/life-stage-feline-2021/diagnostic-testing-for-each-life-stage/
 
*forgot urinalysis as well, but I just always bring sample from home so it's like $20. But that's only if I suspect something is brewing

I don't see anything totally unusual in the spreadsheet, but if your gut is telling you something is off then go with it. If he's otherwise fine - insulin needs change, just keep an eye and if he needs an increase again at some point it is what it is. He bounced just two nights ago and is trying to shake it off. Coupled with the PFS, probably trying to get back in the groove.

Remember - he's still largely in regulated numbers, like 95% of the time! Still a win!
 
Was anything out of range or close to it in October? Due to various constraints I do the senior panel once a year (it's recommended at least every 6 months), but if labs showed something out of range/approaching that (or if he's having symptoms of something) then I'd do 3 months - if it would affect treatment/plan of action.

Thyroid perhaps?

Other stuff I do "a la carte". He was having coat and diarrhea/vomiting issues, so we did the GI panel (but that's like $200+).

The formal AAHA recommendations are here: https://www.aaha.org/aaha-guidelines/life-stage-feline-2021/diagnostic-testing-for-each-life-stage/
Everything but his bg was good....at least that is what I was told. They never sent me the results asked for them at least a dozen times since october. When I've asked in past I'm not sure if they are stupid or just obstinate. They keep sending me the fructosamine they did about a month after dx and that's when I left for a new vet since she wanted me to only go up to 1.5u
 
*forgot urinalysis as well, but I just always bring sample from home so it's like $20. But that's only if I suspect something is brewing

I don't see anything totally unusual in the spreadsheet, but if your gut is telling you something is off then go with it. If he's otherwise fine - insulin needs change, just keep an eye and if he needs an increase again at some point it is what it is. He bounced just two nights ago and is trying to shake it off. Coupled with the PFS, probably trying to get back in the groove.

Remember - he's still largely in regulated numbers, like 95% of the time! Still a win!
Thankyou Melissa! I needed to hear it's a win. I work all day Tuesday so if we arent getting back down by then I'm increasing Tuesday night. Just want to be sure I can monitor since even this dose has taken him pretty low just a week or so ago
 
It's mostly the kitten food options and even those there are only a couple. He has three flavors 2 are kitten that are either 0% or 2%...using the calculator if I only add in ash percentage its 2%. I I also add the other minerals to ash percentage its 0%. Either way its LC.
Why is he having kitten food? They contain more minerals than an adult cat needs.
I'm not a 100% sure but my understanding is that ash% includes the minerals.

Everything but his bg was good....at least that is what I was told. They never sent me the results asked for them at least a dozen times since october. When I've asked in past I'm not sure if they are stupid or just obstinate. They keep sending me the fructosamine they did about a month after dx and that's when I left for a new vet since she wanted me to only go up to 1.5u
I can't believe they aren't sharing the labs. Unless something is off and needs monitoring, doing the labs once in 6 month is enough. Especially if he if fine. Will they insist on doing fresh labs to refill his Lantus script? Tell them you don't want any labs but want a copy of the previous labs.
 
Thankyou Melissa! I needed to hear it's a win. I work all day Tuesday so if we arent getting back down by then I'm increasing Tuesday night. Just want to be sure I can monitor since even this dose has taken him pretty low just a week or so ago
Exactly. It hasn't been that long since those lows, he's still seeing good greens. On any other insulin, or SLGS, this would be the ideal situation (and even a reduction possibly!)

Stupid or obstinate, that gave me a good laugh :joyful: very frustrating
 
Why is he having kitten food? They contain more minerals than an adult cat needs.
I'm not a 100% sure but my understanding is that ash% includes the minerals.


I can't believe they aren't sharing the labs. Unless something is off and needs monitoring, doing the labs once in 6 month is enough. Especially if he if fine. Will they insist on doing fresh labs to refill his Lantus script? Tell them you don't want any labs but want a copy of the previous labs.
Kitten food simply because it's the only option I have in this brand/line of food that is below 5% carb. I could try to move to FF (when I've tried ff in past we had tummy troubles)...but i think when i get paid this week I'm going to gear up to try raw instead. I always thought ash included all other minerals too but this brand is now listing out the percentages separately on back of can so I calculated both ways.

As far as labs I can almost guarantee they will want fresh labs because it's not the same vet. Unless I can get the stupid ppl at old vet to finally cough up previous labs. Remember I left shortly after dx cause the old vet wouldnt return calls wouldnt talk to me about his crazy high numbers. Just kept having tech call and tell me he was fine. Found you guys and well found another vet LOL. New vet is huge on home testing....not a fan of tr but told me as long as I didnt hold them responsible she was fine she would see him. I said ok I wouldnt hold them responsible for his improvement ;)
 
Old vet letting people into office yet? I'd go right in and wait til they gave me a paper copy lol

Orrrrr sit on the phone, say no I really need these I'll stay on the line and watch my email to make sure it comes through

But I'm a pain like that :rolleyes:
 
Ok that was crazy fast I have results. So now I have to try to remember how to make sure you guys can see them. It's a lot of info. The only ones I understand is his cholesterol and triglycerides were crazy high but he was mostly dry script food back then....and of course glucose was really high.

Can I attach them to my google drive with ss?

@Bandit's Mom
 
Ok I've got them downloaded to my google drive but cannot remember how to set up sharing. It wants me to add ppl to share with and I do not know who to add since I want to add it to allow access to whoever has link
 
So just as a side note. I need to make an appt with vet. We are going to need to get a script so I can refill his lantus. I know they will want to do a check up and bloodwork. I'm going to refuse the fructosamine since well I test more than enough. However any other tests I should go ahead and get? I'm assuming a cbc and maybe a renal panel just to make sure we are good there.

@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @FrostD

I’d get a senior panel. It should include urinalysis and thyroid. I just saw you have labs from last time so will look once you add to your spreadsheet. Make sure the ranges are the same as on your labs. Different labs have different norms.
 
I’d get a senior panel. It should include urinalysis and thyroid. I just saw you have labs from last time so will look once you add to your spreadsheet. Make sure the ranges are the same as on your labs. Different labs have different norms.
Ok everything is in there took me a few minutes. His triglycerides are or were super high!
 
The labs look really good. High ALT by itself means nothing. You could wait until April for new ones unless you suspect something else is wrong. High eosinophils indicate inflammation from possible allergies.
 
The labs look really good. High ALT by itself means nothing. You could wait until April for new ones unless you suspect something else is wrong. High eosinophils indicate inflammation from possible allergies.
I really dont suspect anything at least not at moment...maybe just a small setback with numbers.

So when I go to message vet about needing script for lantus should I tell them I want to wait till april and schedule then and send all the labs to them plus his ss (which they should already have access too) and see if they will just send me a script for insulin?
 
So when I go to message vet about needing script for lantus should I tell them I want to wait till april and schedule then and send all the labs to them plus his ss (which they should already have access too) and see if they will just send me a script for insulin?
Yes, let's worry about whether anything else is going on only after an increase doesn't bring him back into good numbers. He probably just needs more insulin. Temporarily.
 
I really dont suspect anything at least not at moment...maybe just a small setback with numbers.

So when I go to message vet about needing script for lantus should I tell them I want to wait till april and schedule then and send all the labs to them plus his ss (which they should already have access too) and see if they will just send me a script for insulin?
That’s what I would do. Labs only need to be run every 6 months unless there’s an issue. I think he just needs an increase.
 
Back
Top