2/14 - Xander | AMPS: 240

Brianna & Xander

Very Active Member
Yesterday's thread

Good morning,

Saw a small drop between +1 and +2 last night, so I fed him slightly higher low carb food (4%) for his nighttime snack instead of the usual (3%) in hopes that if it was an active cycle, it might make any descent more gentle. Woke up around 2 AM and saw he'd had a fairly quick drop to 180, so I gave him a little more of that same food just to try to make the drop a little smoother.

Not sure if that entirely stopped the insulin or if he just wasn't going to drop very low overnight, but he went back up to the mid-200s and sat there all the way to AMPS. He did have a boost within 45 minutes of eating, but it was still LC. Normally he barely reacts at all to the 3%, so it doesn't seem like the 4% would be significantly different.

I saw those green 50s a couple of days ago, so I'd imagine he's bouncing (as usual), but is it still bouncing if he's sitting higher than usual with like one blue per day? Should I be waiting another 3 days after my last green at this dose without seeing another one before I increase?

Happy Valentine's Day!
 
signal-2025-02-14-084930_002.jpeg


Snuggly boy. :cat:
 

Attachments

  • signal-2025-02-14-084930_002.jpeg
    signal-2025-02-14-084930_002.jpeg
    60.4 KB · Views: 69
The bounce should clear by tomorrow. The carb difference is not enough to cause a spike in my opinion. The bg was down to low 50’s so not much room further an increase so wait and let’s see what happens when it clears. Remember if following SLGS you would have decreased to .75. You want to hold doses where you see green and blue for a minimum of 10 cycles.
 
The bounce should clear by tomorrow. The carb difference is not enough to cause a spike in my opinion. The bg was down to low 50’s so not much room further an increase so wait and let’s see what happens when it clears. Remember if following SLGS you would have decreased to .75. You want to hold doses where you see green and blue for a minimum of 10 cycles.

I didn't think it was enough to cause a significant spike either, but figured I'd ask.

So just to be sure I'm understanding you right - since he is at least getting one square of blue of day, that's enough to continue holding in general (unless we stop seeing any blue).
 
I didn't think it was enough to cause a significant spike either, but figured I'd ask.

So just to be sure I'm understanding you right - since he is at least getting one square of blue of day, that's enough to continue holding in general (unless we stop seeing any blue).

No. The reason why I think you need to hold a little longer is because 1.0 took him down to the low 50’s and if he had gone down to 49 or lower he would have earned a reduction. There’s not room to increase. He will likely need an increase but I’d see what happens once the bounce clears and likely increase then unless you see more blue and green at that time. I know the Libre can read lower than an ear prick so you could increase now if you want.
 
No. The reason why I think you need to hold a little longer is because 1.0 took him down to the low 50’s and if he had gone down to 49 or lower he would have earned a reduction. There’s not room to increase. He will likely need an increase but I’d see what happens once the bounce clears and likely increase then unless you see more blue and green at that time. I know the Libre can read lower than an ear prick so you could increase now if you want.

Oh no, I understand the first half of that. What I meant was basically what you answered in the second half - that we know we need the increase if the bounce has had enough time to clear and we don't see any more blue or green after that.
 
Back
Top