2/16 Squeaks; AMPS 146

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sugarkitty15, Feb 16, 2021.

  1. Sugarkitty15

    Sugarkitty15 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Hi all,

    I'm hoping I can get some insight on Squeaks' numbers. So last night, his PMPS was 98, I did a +2 and he was 58. That is the lowest I've ever seen for him! I was a little worried I may not be able to get up in the middle of the night to check him so I gave him a higher carb food of 8% for his bedtime meal and his 2am meal. I was able to get a +7 for him earlier this morning, which showed him at 125--which is not what I was expecting at all. Now he's up for 146 for AMPS. Do you think that he bounced last night or was it the food? I'm just trying to get a better grasp on this all! :eek:

    Previous post for continuity.
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-shoot-question-answered.243029/#post-2739834
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The food brought him up last night and giving more carbs was the right thing to do so you could sleep. I would have gotten a +3 or +4 to make sure he didn’t drop under 50 though. I think there’s a little bounce happening now and he could have gone lower but came back up.
     
  3. Sugarkitty15

    Sugarkitty15 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Ok sounds good! I'll remember the food and the +3 or +4 for next time we encounter that situation. Thanks @tiffmaxee :)
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Whenever the +2 is lower than the preshot for many cat it’s a sign that it will be an active cycle. Testing and feeding a little lc then might have brought him up enough. If not you might have been able to leave out mc. It’s a experiment right now to figure it out.
     
  5. Sugarkitty15

    Sugarkitty15 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Ok perfect, I like having a few options to try to for him until we find what works best!
     

Share This Page