2/17/10 - Bashful - PMPS 331

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6483

I left my darned sheet of paper with numbers on it at home. I did get a +4 and +5 last night before bed and they were in the 200's, but I can't remember exactly what they were (I do remember the +5 was slightly lower than the +4). I'll add tonight when I get home. Unhappy about this morning's high number. Seems like it's two steps forward, one step back in this process, so darned frustrating. Just makes me want to cry when he gets in the red.

WCR: Amazingly enough, he was more perky this morning (even with the high number) than he was last night. I ended up having to follow (chase) him outside to catch him for his AMPS and shot (and let me tell you it's COLD outside at 6:30 in the morning in just a T-shirt! LOL). He ate well, is drinking well and going poddy well and REALLY wanted back out of the bedroom (I usually keep him in my room for AMPS and the +1 out the door check, then set him free to the general population - this morning he was waiting at the door every time I walked in there trying to get out). He was negative for ketones last night and this morning.

I'm taking him in for his dental this Friday night (it's a 24 hour vet and they will do it toward early morning, I'm sure). They said to go ahead and let him eat and give him a half dose of insulin before bringing him in. By the way, question, the first time I talked to them they didn't think I'd need the blood panel since he just had it 3-4 weeks ago, but then last night when I talked to them they suggested I get it. Do you guys think I need to get that done again to check his current status, since the last one was done just before putting him back on insulin? Or am I just paying for something I don't really need again so quickly, especially since he isn't regulating yet? His first chem panel came back okay other than elevated pancreas levels (which they said didn't surprise them since he was needing insulin).

And I REALLY don't want to be at work today. PMS, it ain't for sissies..LOL

Best,
Theresa & Bashful
 
Re: 2/17/10 - Bashful - AMPS 415, +1 303 (grrr)

Hi Theresa
Im wondering if u will see a nice change in Bashful's numbers after dental, sometimes a dental is all that is holding them back, I hope it goes well!!
Good thoughts! Good thoughts!

Good news on neg ketones!! Yai!!
hang on for dental feedback, check back if u can thru the day!
 
Re: 2/17/10 - Bashful - AMPS 415, +1 303 (grrr)

What pancreas values were elevated? Was this fPLI or other values? The fPLI is a pancreatitis test. The other values would be amylase and lipase.

The reason for a blood test is to make sure there's no infection or something that's out of whack that would prevent the dental or that they can take into account the day of the procedure. I don't know what the outside limit for the blood work would be.

If you've not seen Jill's post on dentals, here's the info:
1). pre-dental antiobiotic - clindamyacin (begin 5 days prior to dental)
2). have pre-dental x-rays done.
3). have bloodwork done.
4). monitor blood pressure with doppler machine.
5). monitor heart rate.
6). IV fluids - only if needed. place an IV cath prior to procedure so there is quick veinous access, but don't need fluids unless kidneys are compromised.
7). anesthesia - Isoflurane? or sevo? either of these are good choices.
8). do you administer pain meds during the dental and after? would like buprenex if there are extractions.
9). post dental antiobiotics - administer clindamyacin for 5 days post-dental. do not give 14 day covenia shot.
10). use fortiflora (probiotic) while on antibiotics.
11). perform post dental x-rays to make sure nothing was missed.

vet told me to fast her for 8 hours before the procedure. water was allowed. give full dose of insulin the night before... half dose or skip shot in the morning (depending on her numbers).


also, do not overfeed her when she gets home, one of the drugs (valium) commonly use to knock them out for intubation is a strong feline appy stim, and anesthesia slows down the motility of the gut. listen to drugged cat and overfeed, there is no place for the food to go and a vomiting cycle can start, the last thing you need with possible dropping BG's that night and a cat that might not have full use of motor skills.

keeping her in a dark, quiet room will help if she has over excitation from one of the other drugs (ketamine) used to knock out for intubation (lights and noise trigger more excitation). the best thing to do is feed them a small amount and then let them sleep it off.

the following morning, everything as far as insulin and food goes back to normal. since there will be extractions, continue on the AB's, this is important, since there was a large amount of bacteria dumped directly into bloodstream via oral mucosa from dental (that likes to settle on heart valves and kidneys). best way to give AB's is to give 1/8 tab pepcid (AC only not Complete) 1/2 hour before feeding, feed, and then give AB's 1/2 hour after to protect digestive upset. also, with any course of AB's, adding probiotics to food to protect the natural flora of gut is a good idea (don't want her to get bad diarrhea).
 
Re: 2/17/10 - Bashful - AMPS 415, +1 303 (grrr) DENTAL ?'S

What pancreas values were elevated? Was this fPLI or other values? The fPLI is a pancreatitis test. The other values would be amylase and lipase.

I don't think they did a fPLI test, so it must have been the others. I don't have the test in front of me, but can try to track it down when I get home to be sure.

They mentioned the IV for fluids, and I'll go ahead and have the bloodwork done, just to be sure. I don't know if they do the xrays before procedure, but I would assume so. I'll call and ask. He just finished two weeks of Clavamox the end of last week, so I would think that would be sufficient on ABs? I believe they will do the procedure in the early morning hours, so he will have been off food for the 8 hours, but will check on that also. They said to feed him and give half-dose of insulin.

Wondering why you don't want an antibiotic shot? (I don't know if they do one, but they did one before he started the Clavamox).

Do I need to specifically ask for clindamyacin? Or will another AB do? I would have assumed they would probably give Clavamox again, but again, haven't discussed this with them.

T
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top