2/17 Ollie 115 AMPS, +7 81

Sugarbun

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone, I'm just looking for some dosing advice and general advice. We're having ongoing issues with some kind of stomach bug between Ollie and his siblings, as well as quality issues with the food he eats. Thankfully the stomach issues seem over now, but Ollie had a day of liquid diarrhea, a day of vomiting and some low appetite days. All this was compounded with his Merrick LID pate having severe quality issues. I've bought it from several different sources and it's different in color and texture than usual, so we switched to a different 4% carb pate today for his second breakfast and he ate it very well.

I've been adjusting his dose based on how much he's eating. I'm not sure if that's what I should be doing with Lantus. I'm so afraid of him going hypo. I know his numbers are good but I'm wondering if maybe I should just see how he does on 1.5 units for a while.

I'm also not sure if what my goal should be? He's in the normal glucose range for a good amount of time recently, but should my goal to get his nadirs lower since they're not all <100?

We would appreciate any advice or thoughts on dosing. Thank you
 
Here is the link to your last post here, which we ask people to do as it help us to help you if we know the backstory: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-28-ollie-amps-218-7-190-pmps-159.240657/

I hope the tummy issues are sorted now. Many people use S. boullardi for diarrhea, more info here on it.

As for dosing, yes, we find consistent dosing is best. If you haven't already, I suggest you read our post on dosing methods, particularly the part on Start Low Go Slow, which is what you'd have to follow as you are feeding dry food. Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
As per SLGS, we find that changes by 0.25 units are best, instead of fattening or skinnying the dose. You goal would be to find a dose that get nadirs in the 90 to 149 range. He did go below 90 on the 1.75s dose, so yes you should try the 1.5 units for a while and see if that brings the nadirs up. Note that there is still lots of room below the 80's that is still safe. Overall, Ollie is looking quite good, you've done a good job with him.
 
Back
Top