2/18 George AMPS 146, +2 75, +6 76, +10 91, PMPS 129, +3 150

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Hammy, Feb 18, 2021.

  1. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Good morning!
    I didn't test him before I fell asleep. I just saw that message this morning. I'm sorry.

    I just tested him and he is 146. Lower than last night PMPS. (No injection for 24 hours now)
    I forgot and requested assistance, but remembered if under 200, to give .5, so I did.

    I was hesitant at first because it was lower than what it was last night PMPS 153 (no injection tho)

    Last Post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ing-advice-please-advise.243267/#post-2743379
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2021
    Bandit's Mom and Marina & Chico like this.
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Those are very good numbers for 24 hours without insulin. Do get a +2 before you leave for work and post it here? Thanks! :)
     
    Hammy likes this.
  3. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Relieved and excited. Thank you! Do you think it needs to be exact 2 hours or could it be like 1 hour 50 minutes?
     
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It can be 1 hour and 50 mins :)
     
    Hammy likes this.
  5. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    He was 75. I fed him some more low carb food. Usually I feed him a whole can in the morning, as I was increasing weight. I only gave them a little more than a quarter, and I just gave him another quarter so he had a half can so far.

    I can come home at +5 -7ish
     
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    OK. That's quite a drop from AMPS. Please feed him some higher carbs before you leave?
     
    Hammy and tiffmaxee like this.
  7. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    My daughter is right now. On no. I missed this. I feel awful.

    This was my draft that never sent
    Is there a cheat sheet, so to speak, for what numbers I need to be testing hourly to make sure he doesn't drop? Which numbers am I looking for at each time? I understand on the spreadsheet the dark green is good, but we were checking him every hour to make sure he didn't drop that night. Then there's also the brighter green, I don't know if that's still good since it's not red or if that's bad.
     
  8. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    I did feed him before I left. Just not high carbs. She is now.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The lime green means a reduction has been earned. If he’s under 100 and early in the cycle you need to check hourly or leave out lots of food. In the 70’s require mc for sure. I think he will be under 68 today. Any chance you can reach the kids to test? We will need another reduction tonight IF we shoot at all.
     
    Hammy likes this.
  10. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Which numbers should I be concerned vs panic?
    When do I do the honey or emergency treatment?

    My daughter hasn't done a test or BG yet. Only assisted. My son has been more involved so far. She is in online college class and anxiety.
    I can be home in one hour to test?
    Does that sound ok?
     
  11. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Or should I go now? He is eating HC right now
     
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If he’s eating hc no need to rush home. If he drops under 68 it’s time for hc and a reduction is earned. So if in the 70’s and you are not able to monitor feed mc if kids can keep feeding. If nobody will be home feed hc and leave out lots of it. They would need to feed a few tsp of food every 30-60 minutes.
     
    Hammy likes this.
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hc actually works better than honey but if under 60 give both. Then you would need to feed and check every 30 minutes until in the high 70’s. After that hourly and withhold food to see if he stays up without food. Food takes 20-30 minutes to work but stays working longer. Honey or syrup works quickly but wears off quickly.
     
    Hammy likes this.
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Elise, Heather is using a ReliOn meter now. She was using an AT but switched to ReliOn from 02/03. Please correct me if I am wrong Heather?
     
    Hammy likes this.
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If that’s the case then under 50 is the reduction. The ss is feline meter. Let me look.
     
    Hammy and Bandit's Mom like this.
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I just looked at the ss. The sig does say relion. :banghead:
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2021
    Hammy and Bandit's Mom like this.
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I need to change the SS so that it doesn't say "Meter Calibrated for Feline Blood" in huge blood red and Relion in a tiny font in the comments! :)
     
    Hammy and tiffmaxee like this.
  18. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    It is human meter. So that changes the numbers I should be concerned about?
    By 10?

    I'm planning ahead so I can give proper instructions when I'm home. Thank you all so much
     
  19. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Did you change it for me?
     
  20. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    With a human meter numbers below 50 earn a reduction. Numbers 50-99 are normal numbers and it's good for cats to spend time in them.

    I haven't but I can. Will need edit access. Do you have the link you use to input data into the SS? Can you PM it to me when you have the time? No rush.
     
    tiffmaxee and Hammy like this.
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’m sorry that I missed the switch in meters.
     
    Hammy and Bandit's Mom like this.
  22. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It was easy to miss! :bighug:
     
  23. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Oh my! No worries. I would be a mess and given up by now without you all!
     
  24. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    I tested with smeared blood on my fingers and it says 85, then I decided to test again from his ear and out was 76. Giving him more low carb now. Showing my daughter the high carb and low carb to instruct to feed him again in about 2 hours or less?
     
  25. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    The 76 was at +6? Is this after having high carb earlier in the cycle?

    ETA: I see on your SS that he had HC at +4 and this is +6. Looks like even 0.5U may be too much for him!

    And yes, feed him some more LC now.
     
  26. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    He had LC at +2. Some HC at +4.5. And say +6 76
    I gave him some LCand told my daughter she might need to give him the high carb also. I am not sure if I have medium carb, or high carb. It was the higher carbs friskies Pate extra gravy salmon or fish
     
  27. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I think you can stick to feeding LC for the rest of the cycle since he's past his nadir.

    This link will give you the carb content of most foods in the US:
    https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

    If you don't find your food above, this calculator will help you calculate carb%. Look at the last field - "Dry Matter Carbohydrates".
    http://scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html

    Below 10% is low carb
     
    Hammy and tiffmaxee like this.
  28. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Thank you. What percent is high carb? Then I'll know the inbetween is medium carb.
     
  29. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    above 17% is HC.
    10 to 16 MC
    below 10 LC
     
    Hammy likes this.
  30. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    That's a nice cycle he is having.
    Are you home around +10
    If you can get a test in at around +10+11 and post if he is still running in the greens it gives you time to ask for some help and come up with a plan for shot time.
     
    Hammy likes this.
  31. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Yes, I can get a test at +10+11
    I might have to run out during the +12. it will be my son's first time getting a test...

    How important is it to be exact +hour? 15 min windows on either side ok?
     
  32. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Just one test sometime between +10 and +11. (it can be any time)
    If it was 30min after +10 record it as +10.5

    The PS (or +12) if he does that 15 minutes before the shot? Is he doing the shot?
     
    Hammy likes this.
  33. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    I was going to have him do the shot. He has done that before. He hasn't BG tested him yet
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  34. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Wondering in advance when you can test tonight and tomorrow as well as the weekend.
     
    Hammy likes this.
  35. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    I should be back around 7 tonight. That would be just 15 minutes over 12 hours. It's snowing though, and I'm doing a 45 minute trip one way and another 45 back.
    He is still under 100.
     
  36. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    I don't have anything crazy going on this weekend, but my life has been crazy. I can't even begin. Like tonight I'm going to pick up my husband's younger brother from a hospital that we haven't spoken to or really seen in over a year. his mother is coming to pick him up tomorrow from our house. She lives in Minnesota.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  37. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s fine if you are 15, even 30 minutes late. Don’t stress.
     
  38. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I just finished a workout and am going to take a shower. If under 120 at PMPS I would skip. If 120-195 shoot .50 if you can stay up as needed, otherwise .25 or skip. If you skip we will restart tomorrow but get a +2. I’ll be back to check in about 15 minutes.
     
    Hammy likes this.
  39. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    I don't think I can stay up with him tonight.
    129. PMPS
    Maybe. 25? Since it's close? I can get up early and do a +2 before I leave and come home for a +6
     
  40. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If you shout .25 there’s no guarantee he won’t drop. The depot might cause him to drop. Skip and we will restart in the morning.
     
    Hammy likes this.
  41. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Thank you. I can start earlier too. It's 750pm where I'm at. I'll aim for 615-630 again
     
  42. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Ok. He might go up snd shooting would have been fine but better a day or two higher than a hypo. He might also stay about where he’s at or go lower too.
     
    Hammy likes this.
  43. Hammy

    Hammy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    I did a +3 from when I would have done a shot. See you tomorrow
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  44. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I think you can try 0.25U tomorrow morning if he is over 120.
    As usual get a +2 before you head to work

    Good night! :)
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.

Share This Page