2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+16-93,+17-114,+18-128,+20-134+21-170

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Linda and Scooter & Jack, Feb 19, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    recap

    2/18
    amps 184 5.5U levemir
    +4-331
    +6-356
    +8-344
    pmps 340 5.5U
    +4-248
    +11-66
    update
    +12-45
    +12.15-53
    +12.30-49 2 tsp LC pate 4% carbs
    +12.45-55
    +13-54 2 tsp HC 19% carbs
    +13.30- AMPS 55- 5U .5 decrease :mrgreen:
    +.30- 88
    +1-77
    +1.30-68
    +2-55
    +2.30-43 2 tsp HC 19% carbs
    +3-46
    +3.15-83
    +3.30-68
    +3.45-63 3 tsp LC pate 4% carbs
    +4-41 2 tsp Karo and HC 19% carbs
    +4.30-60
    +5-100
    +5:30 - 67
    +6- 45 3 tsp HC 19% carb
    +6:30 2 tsp HC 24% carb and Karo 1 tblsp
    +7 -67
    +7:30 - 120
    +8-160
    +8:30 - 170
    +9 - 219
    +10-233
    +11-216 2 tblsp LC 4% carb
    +11:45-128
    +12 - 91
    +13 - 46 3 tblsp HC 24% carb and 2 drops of Karo
    +13:30 - 84
    +15 - 77
    +16-93
    +17-114 :eek:
    +18-128
    +20-134 1/4 can 9 lives LC 5 % carb
    +21-170



    So Scooters shot is in a few minutes. He is in the lagoon now. What number should he be at before I shoot? I will test again in 15 minutes. Second day without kibble in the house.

    Linda
     
  2. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Scooter to low to shoot?

    Hi guys .. no advice from me, but wow, great numbers scooter! I'm sure someone will be along soon to help you out .. have a great day!
     
  3. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter to low to shoot?

    Have you gotten another test yet...? Since the +11 is 66, the next hour would be your preshot time (the 12th hour), which you would get another test before the shot. Hopefully by then his # would have risen above the 66, which means the shed would have drained a bit.
     
  4. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter to low to shoot?

    Hi Angela!

    Yes just waiting till the top of the hour to test. Thanks for answering! :D


    Linda
     
  5. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter to low to shoot?

    Ok, I'll be here for a short bit this morning, but I need to do a couple of errands. IF Scooter drops below 66, you'll want to stall a bit to make sure that he starts to rise on his own.

    A few days ago, I had a 66 staring back at me, too, and I decided to stall since I've never shot that low before. Sure, I've shot 70's and 80's, but never 60's. 10 minutes later, she rose to 116. :lol: I felt better shooting THAT #.
     
  6. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter to low to shoot?

    Ok he is down to 45

    should I start the karo or just gravy food?
     
  7. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter to low to shoot?

    Could you try retesting in 15 minutes without food first? Anything you feed him now will influence his PS numbers.

    And could you update your subject line with the current numbers: 2/19 Scooter +11 66 AMBG 45 - too low?
     
  8. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter to low to shoot?

    Well, it looks like you've earned a dose reduction!!! Congratulations! Here's a bit of informatoin with regards to shooting low #s, which I wouldn't advise you to do at this time:

    I can only be here for another few moments. I need to get ready to get going. :( I know I'm not much help right now. :( Sorry. I'd get another test in about 15 minutes to see if he's coming up on his own. Hopefully he will be. As stated above, IF he's still in the 40's or falling, go ahead and give him a small amount of gravy. If that doesn't work, then try the Karo, which you will need to rub on his gums (again a small amount).
     
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter to low to shoot?

    From the Shooting Low Numbers sticky, so you have it handy:
    This is one of the joys of Levemir, often the nadir can be at PS time. Neko gave me a 50 a couple days ago, I waited 15 minutes and she was on the rise.
     
  10. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 45,

    Good Morning Wendy!

    Ok the subject line has the latest numbers and I will keep it up to date. Man I did not think this would happen. I bet he was getting into the kibble! cat(2)_steam

    I have not fed him or the others yet. They are pretty mad though! :lol:

    Linda
     
  11. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 45,

    Ok, Wendy (hopefully) will help you. I need to do these things. :( *sigh*

    Thank you, Wendy. :YMHUG:
     
  12. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 45,

    Could you change the subject line to AMBG (AM blood glucose)? AMPS means you shot.

    I hate stalling too. Looks like you have your answer as to whether Scooter was getting into dry food. :roll:
     
  13. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53

    Yes and I had no idea he was getting into kibble.

    So he has come up on his own. According to the protocol that is great. If I understand it right I shouldn't shoot till 80's? Is that right?
    My heart is kind of pounding and I am scared so just second guessing my thought process.

    linda
     
  14. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53

    Whew! Thank you Scooter! When you do shoot, I'd take his dose back down to 5U. Congrats on the reduction.

    If you can stall him some more, I'd do another 15 minutes. When Neko gave me the 50 earlier this week, I just stalled and shot at 57 as I knew she was on her way up. But that's me and I've gathered lots of data on Neko. You have to decide your comfort level and what you are willing to shoot. The joy of Lev is that you'll have several hours before onset when you can feed him and he'll keep rising.

    A couple of questions: are you going to be home to monitor today? Do you have plenty of strips (over 20)? It sounds like you do have HC wet and karo. Not saying you'll need these, but we just want to be ready in case.

    Don't forget to breathe!
     
  15. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49

    Whew lower again. :roll:

    Yes I have 3 bottles of strips and food and karo and I called in so I am good to go.

    I was not expecting him to come down again to 49 though. I think I should wait again for 15 minutes?

    Any thoughts?
     
  16. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49

    Part of the problem of withholding food is that it naturally lowers BGs. I think it's time to move to the part of the sticky that says feed a tsp or two of LC and retest again. You don't want to feed too much to influence the numbers.

    How much off schedule can you afford to be? Your new shot time will be 12 hours after whenever you shoot. (making up 15 minutes a shot or 30 minutes once a day).
     
  17. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49,+.45-55

    Ok well I can work around pretty much anything as I am the owner of the business. So shot time can change.

    I just fed the others because of the revolt so I will give him 2 tsp of food since he went back up a bit.

    Do you think I should shoot a dose reduction on the hour? from 5.5 to 5U?

    Linda
     
  18. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49,+.45-55

    Looks like he is surfing there. When Neko did her low thing a couple days ago, she surfed the 50's for several hours. :roll:

    If he's still in the 50's and you feel comfortable shooting that, go ahead and shoot the new lower dose as he did earn a reduction. Get some early tests in. Test again 30 minutes after the shot. I'd also get a +1 and a +2 which is what we recommend every time you shoot the lowest PS you are used to.

    If you aren't comfortable with shooting in the 50's, give him a couple tsp food and test again in 30, but this will move the schedule back more. The other options are shooting a reduced dose or a skip.

    Some general observations: you have very few +1 tests on your SS. It's good to get a few of these to see how much of a food spike Scooter gets. There's a chance he'll do this to you again and you want to know what to expect once he's eaten. Since Scooter has already earned a reduction, feel free to give him a little higher carb food to boost him up a bit more for this cycle if you want.
     
  19. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49,+.45-55,+1-54

    Ok Wendy I feel like that is a great plan!

    I fed him 2 tsp of pate but I am sure he will eat some gravy. :lol:

    I will shoot him a reduced dose at 11:30 and then test every 30 minutes for 2 hours and if all is okay then every hour. I guess a good curve day is ahead for me.

    Thank you SO MUCH for being here. I never dreamed this would happen so fast taking him off kibble. :coffee:

    Linda
     
  20. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49,+.45-55,+1-54

    Good luck and great shooting! If he really was getting into kibble, be prepared to see numbers coming down a bit the next few days.

    Why does this always happen in the morning when you are half awake? :lol: :coffee: :coffee:
     
  21. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49,+.45-55,+1-54

    Good Morning :coffee: :cool:

    Well well, look at Scooter! '

    Something tells me he had help from a kitty 'on the inside'. . . :lol:

    Did you shoot yet?
     
  22. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    2/19 Scooter AMPS-55

    Hi Folks:

    Yes I shot at 11:30 a decrease of .5 to 5U.

    Gawd dang what a morning! I thought I would see a decrease of like 100 points but not 300.

    So he ate twice the last one was HC food and he ate a lot of that. :lol: I reckon this is like me quitting smoking 2 years ago. :lol:

    Believe it or not it is now time for my wake up :coffee: that I forgot to have when I woke up. Think I may need a pot today!

    I cannot believe how amazing this board is! Thank you Angela and Wendy for seeing me thru this! :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon

    Linda
     
  23. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49,+.45-55,+1-54

    So I updated his SS as best I could. Should I change the title bar for today or leave it alone?

    So far

    AMPS 55-5U- 2 tsp HC food
    +.30-88

    Linda
     
  24. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49,+.45-55,+1-54

    Nothing like waking up to a +10 of 66 to get the adrenaline going :eek: ;-)

    Your header is fine although I'd add the plus hours since the previous shot for example -

    AMPS (+13) 55
    (not sure how much you stalled)
     
  25. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49,+.45-55,+1-54

    Hi Linda - could you go back to your first post of the day and change it as Sandy suggests. And I think his post deserves a :mrgreen: today!

    You can probably feed him LC from now on, unless he decides he wants to go diving again.

    As for the SS, you could put all of his earlier numbers in last night's +11, as much as you can fit in. As an example of stacking, look at how Liz/Anne marked Zener's SS on January 7th at +11PM. For his PS, you could put 55@+13.5 - if that's when it occurred. That gives an idea of how much you stalled.
     
  26. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49,+.45-55,+1-54

    Oh Dang there is no more room in the header. :lol:

    If I should change it to reflect AMPS instead of AMBG let me know. Going to have lunch since breakfast got skipped.

    Scooter is in a sunbeam happy and cuddling with Junior. :D With a full belly!

    Linda
     
  27. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +.15-53, +.30-49,+.45-55,+1-54

    You can always change the header (first post please) to just include the highlights. So you could change it to be something like: 2/19 Scooter +12 45 AMPS (+13.5) 55
     
  28. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55

    Oh crap he is diving again

    +2 is 55

    any suggestions?

    Linda
     
  29. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55

    Ok, I'm back for a short bit, and wanted to see how things are going with you and Scooter. Can you get another test in about 20-30 minutes to see if he's going to drop further? If he drops further than the 55 +2, try feeding him a small amount of gravy from some MC or HC canned food, and then retest again 20-30 minutes after you've fed him.
     
  30. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55

    Just wanted to stick my two cents worth of support in here. Hang in there, Linda!!! :YMHUG:

    Scooter, come up a bit for mama. You made your point, sweetie. :mrgreen:
     
  31. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55

    Found him sitting on top of the kibble container. :lol:

    He is down to 43 going to feed him

    Linda
     
  32. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55

    Give him a bit of the gravy, preferably the HC, and retest 20-30 minutes. I'll check back in a bit.
     
  33. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55

    If you want to put the # in the spread sheet, and it's a 1/2 hour # (i.e. you tested at +1, and then you tested again at +1.5), simply type in the # in the +1 cell as (i.e. 80 +1), and then in the same cell type in (i.e. 75 +1.5), but be sure to leave a space between the +1 and the next #. If you want to shrink the font size, go to the font button, click on the down arrow, and then select a size smaller than the defaulted 10. Also, to change the color of the cell, click on the paint can, and then select the appropriate color (i.e. green since both #s are under 100 in my examples). This way, you'll be able to keep track of all the #s that you've received after you tested him.

    Hope that helps and makes sense. :D
     
  34. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    Okay he was very aggressive while eating HC food.

    He had 2 tsp HC food and just finished. He is up a couple numbers to 46.

    Test again in 15 minutes.

    Thanks Angela for the info for the SS. I will change it as soon as I can. :D

    Not the kind of day I had planned Scooter! ohmygod_smile

    Linda
     
  35. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    There's always going to be some measure of excitement here and there when dealing with a diabetic kitty. :lol:

    I'm guessing the reason behind his aggression is because he was hungry. Retesting in 15 minutes is an excellent idea. If he doesn't rise again, give 1 tsp. of the gravy, and retest in 15-20 minutes. You don't want to overload him with a bunch of food where he won't eat at preshot time, so giving him snacks will help. Hopefully.

    I'll be back shortly.
     
  36. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    ok he is back up to 83. whew!

    I will test again in 15 minutes.

    Thanks Angela for staying! :D
     
  37. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    Ok, test again in 15 minutes, and if he hasn't come back down (anti-jinx), do another test in 30 minutes after that to be sure.

    You're welcome. :D
     
  38. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    Dang he is going down.

    +3:30 -68

    Should I use Karo? or just leave him alone for 1/2 hour? Feels like a guessing game. Last week I would have killed for these numbers. :roll:
     
  39. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    Retest in 15 minutes (again). I'm hoping that he doesn't come down (again). If he has, we'll try one more round of the HC gravy, perhaps 1 1/2 tsps. this time, and if that doesn't work, then we'll try the Karo.

    What time do you normally give the next dose at?

    Now, Scooter. Stop, ok? You're giving your Mama Bean a heart attack. Sheesh. Time to NOT prove your point, ok? :lol:
     
  40. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    hi there :cool:


    So +3.5=68 ?? when/what/how much did he last eat?

    It's still early in the cycle so easy does it - you want him to be hungry.
     
  41. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    Could you provide a summary of his numbers and what he has eaten? The numbers will go down as the HC you gave him wore off. Gravy lasts a couple of hours so the HC he got for breffs would have worn off. I'm thinking of a summary like:

    AMPS 55 - 2 tsp HC
    +2 55
    +3 46 2 tsp HC

    Include any feedings of LC, which I presume he's had too.
     
  42. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    OMGosh so much help! Thank you Thank you!

    The first post has every thing up to date.

    Linda
     
  43. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    The first post didn't include regular breakfast and amounts other than the 2 tsp HC at +2.5. It would be great to give him some LC, maybe some higher carb LC if you have it.

    Also, could you keep your first post subject line updated so we know he's no longer hanging in the 40's. Thanks!
     
  44. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    Sure Wendy but I don't know what LC is. :D
     
  45. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    SCOOTER! WHAT are you DOING? You look like a weeble... :D

    Linda - BREATHE! and a BIG HUG too,
     
  46. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    Ooops - LC = low carb, his regular food. OK, I see you gave him some pate (%carbs ?) at +12.30 but none since then. When you are giving gravy, are you giving the chunks or are you just giving the gravy part?

    As Sandy says, it's a balancing act. You don't want to fill him up, so just small amounts, but you do want some regular food in him too. Is 2tsp his regular amount of breakfast?
     
  47. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    No 2 tsp is not his regular amount he was free feeding before.

    We were watching his numbers and didn't want to influence the bg which is why he got so little.

    He got lots of gravy and chicken with a little cheese in it to. He was kind of aggressive with the chunks of chicken in it.

    I will give him some LC now since I know what the heck the opposite of HC is now! :lol: OMGosh I am so stressed can you tell! :lol:

    Thanks for the reminders to breathe ladies. Honestly I am scared he may go to low here.

    Linda
     
  48. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    You could feed him a bit, then probably test in 1/2 hour. I like to test every 1/2 if in the 50s or 60s. Save the more frequent testing for below that. OK Scooter, time to get up on the surfboard now!

    For the first subject line - getting crowded I know, you can erase everything up to the AMPS now.
     
  49. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMBG 45, +13-54, AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46

    Wendy will be here to help you for a bit, Linda. I need to get off, and get my horse fed, and a few things done around here. You're doing great, girl. Just remember to breathe, and breathe, oh, and don't forget to breathe, ok? :D
     
  50. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.

    Okay Angela! Thank you thank you thank you!!!!!!

    Wendy welcome back and thank you for being here! I changed the title bar and Scooter is eating right now. I gave him 3 tsp of LC pate 4% carb. I have never seen him eat this much in a day never mind hours. :D

    Okay he just finished I will test on the hour to keep the numbers straight.

    Linda
     
  51. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68

    Oh good lord

    +4 - 41

    I am thinking karo? what do you think?

    Linda
     
  52. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68

    Just saw your latest post. Let's put a couple drops of karo on a bit of gravy. I want him flying to the moon.

    Good to know Scooters instincts are right and he eats when he goes low. :D Thanks on the subject line.

    You are doing great Linda! :YMHUG: It's always scary the first couple of times. As long as you are monitoring and have karo and HC, you can stay on top of his numbers. I am glad he is eating. We have had people whose cats decided they don't want to eat when they are low. Then it's time for syringing and it's easier if you don't have to go there. And keeping track of amounts of food and carbs fed will give you data to know what to do next time.
     
  53. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

    I just noticed the %carbs - great detail to have. Do you have anything with carb% above 15% like the fancy feast gravy ones? We normally consider 9% to be a higher LC.
     
  54. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

    Okay I just told him to eat the gravy with the Karo because "'YOU HAVE TO GO TO THE MOON SCOOTER" :lol:

    Thanks for the kind words Wendy but without you guys I would be guessing I think. It is amazing to me how much I can't think in this situation.

    He has never eaten this much. He is a little guy but like you said his body knows he needs it.

    I will test again in 15 minutes.

    Linda
     
  55. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

    I don't have a FF HC one and the store near us doesn't carry FF. Any 9 lives or Friskies you would recommend?
     
  56. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

    According to the food chart any of the Friskies Meaty Bits (beef in gravy, chicken dinner in gravy, gourmet grill) are good. Or any of the Gravy Sensations line or Prime Fillets (except Turkey Dinner in Gravy which is a bit lower). In the mean time adding a couple drops karo to his food can be substituted. Just shop for the gravy ones on your next shopping trip.

    ETA: the food list above also shows some 9 lives options above 14%.
     
  57. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

    Oh gosh I did a typo at the am info of 9 % and copied it later again. The food is chicken gravy and on Dr. Lisa's chart it is 19 % carb not 9. Sorry. :YMSIGH:

    Okay he is up to 60 with the karo and gravy food. I just ordered some more gravy food so it should be here shortly if I need it.

    He is sleeping now because of his full belly I am sure. :lol:

    I will test in 1/2 hour.

    Thank you Wendy. I am humbled by your kindness.

    Linda
     
  58. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

    OK - I'll check in again in half an hour. BTW - we are all paying it forward, someone did the same for all of us at one point.

    I saw your correction on the HC. Thanks.
     
  59. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+5-100

    So who ever thought that I would be relieved to see 100.

    I guess keep testing on the 1/2 hour?

    +5-100

    Linda
     
  60. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+3.5-68,+4-41

    Over 80 you can go to once an hour, but the karo will wear off so you do need to keep testing until it's obvious if a bounce is happening.

    And yippee on that 100. :D
     
  61. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

    wow, what a day, linda! great job handling it all - and yay for Wendy on all the help! looks like getting rid of the kibble has made a real difference!
     
  62. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

    Scooter's been keeping Linda busy for sure today. Who would've thought that removing the kibble entirely would make him drop so quickly, and keep dropping. Interesting kitty, to say the least! :lol: Nice work, Linda!!! :YMHUG:
     
  63. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

    Oh the joy of a rescued pure bred kitty! :lol:

    I still think he is going to go down after karo wears off.

    Could the kibble really have caused all this? It seems really drastic.

    To Angela and Wendy I wish there was way other than words to thank you. I promise one day I will pass your kindness on. :D

    Linda
     
  64. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

    There have been many kitties that arrive at FDMB with an FD dx and upon changing to the proper diet of wet LC quickly return to normal BGs :cool:
     
  65. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

    somewhere i saw someone document that 3 pieces of crunchies added something like 150 pts to their cat's blood sugar. i can't provide that documentation, but that's what i recall.
     
  66. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

    Oh wow! 3 kibbles 150.

    +5:30 - 67

    Well down we go again. I feel like he should stop insulin or something. ugh!
     
  67. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

    Guess this is what kibble withdrawl looks like. Going cold turkey always causes some kind of reaction. :shock:

    Scooter has really had you on a ride today, Linda, but you've done a fabulous job! Hang on! It'll settle down eventually. I'm so glad Cinco didn't do this to me! :mrgreen:
     
  68. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55, +1-77,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100

    Looks like you got 1.5 hours out of the karo before it wore off. Time for a little more HC and/or karo if he'll take it.

    A few folks are looking at what you should do tonight and what his dose should be going forward. Definitely lower, you've had to work too hard today to keep him up.

    Yikes on the crunchy stat Julie posted! :shock: There is one kitty over on Relaxed who was getting 11U of Levemir on a crunchy diet (with no testing!) and is now down to less than 1U. He had to eat so much to keep ahead of that insulin he resembled a basketball.
     
  69. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

    Well swearing is not me but holy ****!

    +6-45 3 tsp HC 19% carb

    Thank you to all of you helping me figure this out. It is very nice to know that those of you with experience and knowledge are helping us.

    I will test again in 15 minutes and add karo if below 50.

    Linda
     
  70. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

    +6:30 - 45 2 tsp HC 24% carb 1 tblsp Karo

    Linda
     
  71. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

    How's his appetite holding out? That's a lot of karo - normally we do a few drops. Maybe we'll get that BG moonshot.

    How are YOU holding out LInda? You are doing great but it's been a lot of work.
     
  72. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

    Fantastic job today Linda, Wendy, Angela and all beans who helped! I guess you can't let down your guard just yet, but hopefully on this Lev. cycle nadir will be early. Reducies are in your future!
    Wow on the kibble effect!!!

    Rusty says, surf safe! Bounce easy!!

    Ella & Rusty
     
  73. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

    I am very scared but being busy has helped.

    He is eating this food still. It looks like soup with that much Karo in it. :lol: He keeps going away and coming back to it. I think he knows his body needs it.

    Do you guys think I should give him some kibble treats?

    Going to test again in 10 minutes.
     
  74. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

    Kibble takes longer to have an effect on the BG (digestion/absorption slower than wet food) and lasts longer in the system. For increasing the BG quickly, that's why the suggestion is wet food.

    I know it's still a while a way, but can you make sure you get a +11 and post it? It'll help in deciding about what to do tonight. Do you have any thoughts about tonight or where you want to go with his dose?
     
  75. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

    I feel like I should not give him any more insulin today
     
  76. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+2-55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45

    +7 - 67

    oh-e-vey as we say in MN

    It seems like these numbers are normal bg. If I stop the insulin tonight I might get an idea of where he would be at. At any rate I feel like the depot is full if he needs it. I forget the saying but I would rather he be high for a day than low for an hour.

    I am open to knowledge and experience though. You are all amazing!
     
  77. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

    Hi there :cool:

    I skipped many a shot when BK was on his wild ride down the dosing scale (it was a long way down and he had a depot the size of lake Michigan) - I could not get ahead of the numbers otherwise.
    Getting sleep factored into the equation as well ;-)

    Still a few hours until +12.
     
  78. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

    Hi Sandy!

    Thanks for your kind words through out the day. I saw them but was just to busy to respond. :D

    So you mentioned you skipped shots when BK was on his way down, did it affect him and how?

    Linda
     
  79. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

    +7:30 - 120 :D

    Karo works wonders. He is finally sleeping.
     
  80. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

    Take a look at BKs ss from 02/11/2009 - 02/16/2009 for an example.

    Oh . . .and I noticed on 06/18/2009 I skipped 2 shots in a row and shot a BCS (big chicken sh!t) dose each of the following 2 cycles.

    The effect skipping and BCSs had on BK? A few bumps in the road in the short run
    One advantage I had was a whole lot of experience using R. I knew I could shoot down an ugly number should one appear, which gave me confidence, however I did not have to do that much during those times. BK managed to get back on track.

    Stuff like what you are experiencing today enters you into the realm of 'flying by the seat of your pants' - there is no protocol.
    You look at the data you have and try to come up with a plan that will keep kitty safe and you from getting too strung out, while hopefully not upsetting the (BG) apple cart too much.
     
  81. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

    you posted 15 minutes ago, linda - how long til the pmps?

    whenever someone has had a long haul like this and it's been difficult to get a cat's BGs up, skipping can be a good option. he might very well bounce from these low numbers today.

    we need to regroup and see what a good "new" dose for him is going to be.
     
  82. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+3-46,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67

    And the bean gets a bit of a break too! :D :D

    Skipping a dose to drain a large depot is a technique often used with a higher dose. And the benefit of that higher depot is that the skip doesn't seem to affect them as much. I only ever did a 1/2 dose reduction to drain the depot, on purpose that is. We'll not count the fur shots. :roll: :oops: Neko usually got back on track within 2 cycles and that was without using R.

    That 120 could be the result of karo and/or the current cycle slowing down. As Ella says, often the lower numbers will often come earlier in a Lev cycle.
     
  83. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160

    Well

    +8 -160

    I am surmising that is because of the karo and HC soup he ate. He hasn't slept today till now.

    Oh gosh I am so confused on whether to shoot him tonight or not. I just finally ate a sandwich myself and that helped calm me. I sure don't wish this on anyone.

    The only thing I know is this karo soup helped him. This is the first time today we have 2 numbers in a row that got higher. The only reason he got the karo soup was it spilt when I opened it. :lol:

    So the question I have is "what would you do in this situation?" shoot or not? :D
     
  84. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160

    I'd get a +11 and post for advice. A lot can happen between now and then. If he's really taking a rocket to the moon, a little juice might ease the ride. If not or the bean needs to rest and wants to reset PS time, then a skip.
     
  85. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160

    i agree with wendy - the +11 will be helpful.

    what time will that be so we know to look for it?
     
  86. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160

    I also agree with Wendy. You're doing an awesome job, Linda. :YMHUG: :D
     
  87. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+4-41,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160

    +8:30 -170

    The +11 will be 11:30 pm Central time. It's 9pm here now.
     
  88. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219

    +9 - 219
     
  89. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219

    yi yi yi

    i'm thinking with that +9, unless he's down a lot by pmps, i'd give some insulin.

    but let's see what happens. we'll look for his +11.
     
  90. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+5-100,+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219

    +10 - 233
     
  91. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216

    +11 - 216

    oh gosh he is coming down slightly.

    to shoot or not to shoot that is the question. :D

    How much to shoot.

    Any suggestions would be much appreciated

    Linda
     
  92. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216

    how tired are you, linda?
     
  93. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216

    First a question Linda - how are you and Scooter doing at this point? I think I counted 30 tests today! :shock: I definitely wouldn't do the full dose tonight.
     
  94. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216

    Well I am not to tired yet but I doubt I can stay up all night. I am a little old for 24 hrs. :lol:

    I am going to test him again now. Still no shot. he ate tblsp of LC and ate off the others plates of LC to help clean up the different flavors. So I bet about 2 tblsp of LC.

    Linda
     
  95. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216

    Crashing again +11:45 - 128

    Suggestions?
    karo is wearing off I think

    :roll: :YMSIGH:
     
  96. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216,+11:45

    hold on, wendy's going to post.
     
  97. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55+6-45,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216

    Linda - we've been thinking that you should go to 4U as the new dose. It's what he was at before the dental and hopefully low enough you can avoid another day like today anytime soon. As the saying goes, if it doesn't work, you can always go back up.

    About tonight - there are two options. The first is a skip, the second is a half dose, something like 2U. If he just ate a couple Tbsp of food, that will likely influence his next test numbers.

    If you skip, you both get a break tonight, you get to see how Scooter will do without insulin, you drain the depot and you can get back to your normal PS time tomorrow. The down side is he may go high and take him a day or two to get back on track, but you can pretend you did a fur shot. ;-)

    Just saw your new test before I posted - I vote skip!
     
  98. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216,+11:45

    Ok Ladies I think skip too.

    He is running around chasing kittens and having a great time right now. :D

    I thought it would take quite a number of days to empty his depot but in fact it only takes 12 hours?

    At what point would you ladies feel safe to go to bed tonight? (if a all?) nailbite_smile

    Linda
     
  99. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216,+11:45

    i'd skip too. count it as a fur shot, let his ear heal tonight, and regroup in the morning.

    if you decide to shoot a reduced dose tonight, say the 2u, i'd think because of today, you'd still need to monitor when the lev begins to onset in 4ish or so hours. that sounds like too much to me.
     
  100. Linda and Scooter & Jack

    Linda and Scooter & Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Re: 2/19 Scooter AMPS 55,+7-67, +8-160,+9-219,+11-216,+11:45

    +12 - 91
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page