2/21 Chispa, 121 AMPS, 99 +3, 141 PMPS, 65 +2.75, 62 +3.75, 64 +5

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-16-chispa-106-amps-86-4.274261/#post-3046093

We're ba-a-ack! It's been a rough stretch at work (late nights & weekends spent meeting deadlines :arghh: ) but things are under control now. Chispa started the day in the low blues after a high bounce yesterday. I've been feeding her higher carbs at +1 +2 to reduce the diving (Bhooma's suggestion) and she seems to be on a more even keel, FX.

Hope everyone is doing great! :):bighug::cat:
 
We've missed ya! Good girl Chispa, nice blues and greens :D. Hope her cute little mouth is all healed up and she's back to normal :bighug:
Aww, thanks Melinda! Chispa is feeling so much better. I’m still chopping her shredded food in gravy, but in two directions, not eight. :) About the only thing she can’t do is bite off the juicy blades of cat grass with her formerly excellent scissoring technique (which Chulo never mastered … he would inhale them mostly unchewed and then “return” them later). It’s ok, though — she seeems to enjoy them just as much when cut into tiny bits and sprinkled over her food.

Very exciting to see Kitkat on OTJ trial! Fingers crossed for you two!!! :bighug::cat:
 
Well, so much for preventing the diving. :banghead: She is not a very carb-sensitive cat most of the time so I shouldn't be surprised, but this is discouraging. I'm glad that she tells me when she has fallen too far, too fast by meowing until I feed her, but I had hoped the 10% would have kept her on a more even keel.

Looks like it's going to be another pajama party for us tonight.
 
This might not work, but you could try a reduction and see if she holds it. She hasn't earned one, but I wonder if a slightly lower dose might reduce the diving.
Looking back over her SS, she’s been at everything from 2.75 to 4 units since the start of the year, but her overall BG numbers haven’t changed a whole lot regardless of dose. She had the occasional 60s at the lower doses too, and the higher doses have not resulted in any more green preshots than before., so maybe it’s worth a try to see if less is more … ??
 
Last year when you tried unearned reductions, they ended up not holding.
Hi Wendy -- thanks for weighing in. Here's what is confusing to me: Her preshots are higher on 4 units than they were at the beginning of the year on 2.75-3 units, and the nadirs on average were about the same. The higher preshots also correspond to the dental, which was three weeks ago tomorrow (I put a pink line on the spreadsheet to make it easy to spot) -- so you'd think they would be coming down by now, but I think they are trending higher if anything. I've tried to reduce the diving by feeding higher carbs early in the cycle, but that only works sometimes. If there is a pattern to any of this, I can't spot it. :banghead:
 
One thought I just had, and this might be crazy, but here goes: The meals she is getting now are lower in carbs than ever before -- mostly 4 to 6% Weruva only. I've been adding in Royal Canin (16%) in a 50/50 mix with the Weruva to try and reduce diving at the beginning of the cycle (resulting in a mix of about 10%), which doesn't necessarily work (see yesterday's PM cycle). Maybe I should go back to the higher-carb mix at every meal? Could it have been more stabilizing?? Seems counterintuitive, but I am at a loss as to what else is different now vs. September 2022, when she did beautifully on 4 units.
 
Last September is a long time ago in cat FD history. But some cats do better with slightly higher carbs. I allows you to get more carbs in and give a slightly higher dose. Might be worth an experiment.
 
Back
Top