2/21 Snuggles AMPS-136/95+2/83+3/79+4.25/87+5.25/91+6.25/95+7.25/105+9/PMPS-114/110+2/90+4/98+6

Remember to try the LC snacks today and see if she will surf in green. How is she feeling today?
She’s doing great! She ate her breakfast and is now getting her bath. Could you please remind me when to give snacks and how much each snack? Sorry, I have brain fog this morning. Also, when do you suggest I test her..I know I over test! Thank you! Her eyes are closed now..I’d say it’s going to be nap time! :cat:
 
I thought you had a feeding schedule of snacks at +2 and +4 and maybe anytime before nadir? I would stick with whatever you have been doing— and let the numbers be your guide. As for testing, today I would start with a +2 actually, just before her planned snack. She doesn’t seem to get the food bump that she used to get (we had noticed this before and talked about it.).
 
I thought you had a feeding schedule of snacks at +2 and +4 and maybe anytime before nadir? I would stick with whatever you have been doing— and let the numbers be your guide. As for testing, today I would start with a +2 actually, just before her planned snack. She doesn’t seem to get the food bump that she used to get (we had noticed this before and talked about it.).
Ok! Am I supposed to be testing right before I give the snack? Or feed then wait an hour and test? Maybe I haven’t been doing this right. Thank you! :cat:
 
Practice the drop dose with an old syringe and water. Some have trouble and say they don’t get even a drop when they try.
 
Practice the drop dose with an old syringe and water. Some have trouble and say they don’t get even a drop when they try.
Thats what happened with me this morning. I may practice with cranberry juice and paper towel so I can actually see if I’m getting anything in the syringe.
 
She’s not ready for an otj trial with so many bg tests over 90. I would start giving a small +9 snack and also feed to prevent a drop under 90 so that means higher lc or even low mc snacks. You might consider lowering the reduction number as well if the snacks do not work. Maybe reducing if under 70 or 75? @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom what do you think? I would have fed higher at +2 today for example. You want to get rid of bg over 100.

@sandysh66
 
She’s not ready for an otj trial with so many bg tests over 90. I would start giving a small +9 snack and also feed to prevent a drop under 90 so that means higher lc or even low mc snacks. You might consider lowering the reduction number as well if the snacks do not work. Maybe reducing if under 70 or 75? @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom what do you think? I would have fed higher at +2 today for example. You want to get rid of bg over 100.

@sandysh66
I can start the small LC + 9 snack today.
 
I really do think that you should consider reducing her reduction point down to say, 70. If you were following TR it would be 50. People do sometimes have custom reduction points. She’s not quite ready to go off of insulin all together and this could help her on her way. Of course, we will see what she has planned. Wait and see what the others have to say. Hopefully @Wendy&Neko will stop by. She’s been checking in on your progress. :)
 
I really do think that you should consider reducing her reduction point down to say, 70. If you were following TR it would be 50. People do sometimes have custom reduction points. She’s not quite ready to go off of insulin all together and this cough help her on her way. Of course, we will see what she has planned.
Well she’s already at a drop dose so what’s left for reductions? Just staying at drop dose is what will happen right if I drop reduction point to 70?
 
She still needs support so as I suggested already I would lower the reduction number or switch to TR if she were my cat.
At this point, what would I have to do in order to switch to TR? Also, what does lowering the reduction number do when she is now on drop dose?
 
With TR you only reduce if the bg is under 50 so you would stick with 0.10. If the bg number starts to go up and stay up you don’t need to wait 7 days. Read the sticky on dosing methods.
 
Back
Top