? 2/22 167 PMPS, +2.5 81, +4 69, no data collected yet. What do I do tonight?

TankNRK

Member Since 2022
First day that Lando's been trending downwards in awhile, our first Lantus dose was his PM shot last night! After days in the high 400s, a low 300 is so welcome!

Going to work today, good luck while I'm gone to lil Lando! I'll leave food in the auto feeder for him for +4 and +6 I think :) we're doing shots earlier then usual so while we adjust we have time to ask for help here just in case before leaving for work.

Happy hump day every body!
 
Don't forget to link to your last post each day so it's easier for people to look back and see what was going on.
Here is yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...t-first-week-on-lantus-what-to-expect.274461/

It may be a couple of days before you see any lower numbers. Welcome to Lantus Land.
Got it! Thanks for the tip I'm still getting the hang of the forum so all advice is welcome.
I can't believe he was already so much lower this morning!, We are so used to being sky high at shot time.
 
My cat was frantic for food at PS when on Caninsulin cause it had worn off hours earlier. Like you, I noticed a difference right away with Lantus.
Yup the 2 hour fast has always been a nightmare for Lando, mainly because we'd need to start our fast a little earlier depending on the food because the insulin wore off by 8-9 hours in, poor guy. Looking forward to his ps this afternoon! He'll be happy he can have a good size snack when I'm off work today :)
 
@Wendy&Neko I know that Tank is trying to decide on shooting tonight (cycle #3 on Lantus) b/c Tank will be out of the house until +3.5.

Lando is already seeing blue on cycle #2 on Lantus. He is flat right now in blue, down from red I believe earlier today.

Do you have any advice on shooting? I suggested leaving down some MC carb possibly since Tank doesn't have data on whether Lando will continue to slide down to the lagoon.

@TankNRK
 
UPDATE NEED ADVICE:

Lando just tested at 167 preshot.
+8.5 was 180, +11 was 177. Need to give insulin but concerned 167 may be too low for 1.5u. not enough data to know just yet because it's only 24hrs on Lantus.

Need to leave, will be home before +3hr to check on him.

Please advise?
 
@Wendy&Neko I know that Tank is trying to decide on shooting tonight (cycle #3 on Lantus) b/c Tank will be out of the house until +3.5.

Lando is already seeing blue on cycle #2 on Lantus. He is flat right now in blue, down from red I believe earlier today.

Do you have any advice on shooting? I suggested leaving down some MC carb possibly since Tank doesn't have data on whether Lando will continue to slide down to the lagoon.

@TankNRK
Thank you ❤️
 
Update, we opted to give the full 1.5 units. Leaving out half a 3 oz can of LC at +1 and +2 and will get myself home by +2.5hrs in to check on him! :)
 
SHOOOOOT!!!!! Lantus works best when it doesn't have to "pull down" high numbers. Leave some LC food down and I understand you'll be back around +2.5 which is when the insulin should be starting to "kick in".
 
Last edited:
SHOOOOOT!!!!! Lantus works best when it doesn't have to "pull down" high numbers. Leave some LC food down and I understand you'll be back around +2.5 which is when the insulin should be starting to "kick in".
You got it! Go Lando go!! I'm so freaking excited/happy/anxious lol!
 
Update: came home at +2.5 hrs and he's at 81!

So unfortunately since we have NO data, I have no idea when his Nadir is going to be or what his cycles look like yet so don't know how to handle tonight and my own bedtime lol....

I'll definitely check before bed and watch him until then, but I usually go to sleep at +4 hours and don't know what to expect overnight. Any advice is appreciated!
 
Wow! What a great response to Lantus! That 81 is a reduction to 1.25U per SLGS.
Feed him a little and can you test again in an hour?
 
+4 69.....

I think it might be a good idea for you to drop down to 1.0 unit tomorrow instead of the 1.25, especially since he's responding to the Lantus so quickly. I know you have a tough job and you need to rest.

If it's not enough, we can always go back up to 1.25, but I think trying the lower dose may be less stressful for you (and us but we don't count).
 
I think it might be a good idea for you to drop down to 1.0 unit tomorrow instead of the 1.25, especially since he's responding to the Lantus so quickly. I know you have a tough job and you need to rest.

If it's not enough, we can always go back up to 1.25, but I think trying the lower dose may be less stressful for you (and us but we don't count).
That sounds fine with me, whatever y'all recommend :)
Alrighty +5 and we're at 93! He's mad I woke him up he's just over here sleeping lol. I said "I know Lando I know I was mad when my alarm went off too"

So, need to keep up the event or think maybe I can leave food in the timed feeder and go to sleep?

We can try one unit tomorrow morning :)
 
Back
Top