2/22 Chispa, 138 AMPS, 116 +2, 112 +4.5, 158 PMPS, 90 +2, 61 +3

How late in the cycle does she get food? Feeding carbs after the nadir can reduce duration and give higher preshots. And of course, bouncing after diving :banghead:
Do you think you can feed her only 4% later in the cycle? And try higher than 10% at +1.
 
How late in the cycle does she get food? Feeding carbs after the nadir can reduce duration and give higher preshots. And of course, bouncing after diving :banghead:
Do you think you can feed her only 4% later in the cycle? And try higher than 10% at +1.
Hi Bhooma. She gets fed about ten times a day (seriously) ... nowadays it's +1, +2, +3, +5/6, +9/10, and then same thing PM cycle. Believe it or not, I have been feeding her only 4% in the second half of the cycle (exceptions being when she's on the lower side late at night and I'm leaving food in the feeder). But even then, the last meal before the preshot would be LC.

Tonight I fed 7% at +10, thinking I'd test out my theory that maybe higher carbs overall would create less bouncing. The preshot was high (158) and there was food left in her dish, so I didn't feed again until +2 (she still hadn't cleaned her plate by then). When I saw how far she had dropped (to 90), I gave her a mix of about 12%, which she ate -- and still managed to drop to 61 over the next hour. If there's a clear correlation between the carb content of her food and where her BG goes, I'm at a loss to see it. :(
 
Can you cut out the snack at +9/+10? Also 7% carbs is on the higher side for that late in the cycle. Is there a chance that she is eating in the 2 hour window before PS? That could be another reason why she is high at PS - if the number is food influenced.
 
Hmm ... Would it be ok to move the snack back to +8? She is not used to having to go more than 4 hours between meals, if that. How long does it take for a meal to clear their system, at least enough to not influence the numbers?
 
We work with 2 hours before PS for the meal not to influence the numbers. But the reason for not feeding late in the cycle (if that is an option) is food can reduce duration. It's like applying the brakes on a moving vehicle. So the amount of time insulin works to keep numbers down is reduced by food.

You could try a +8. Lowest carbs possible. And see if that makes a difference.
 
Back
Top