Jinx & Miz Kirby
Member Since 2022
Previous: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-8-miz-kirby-amps-242-4-84-7-215-pmps-267.273962/
Hi! Haven't been posting here but have been diligently filling in my spreadsheet. Miz Kirby hasn't really been developing any specific pattern during the day... one day she drops and raises sharply, others there's a high flat curve (weirdly, evenings after PMPS/dinner are more consistent). Today is the first day, though, that her BG has dropped back down after the rise that comes after her nadir. PMPS is 68 -- first time in the almost 6 weeks on insulin that the PMPS has been in the green (usually it's back up to pink or yellow by then). The newbie posts say to ask for advice with this kind of preshot number, so I'm asking.
Shoot low to stay low and plan to re-feed in a few hours and check BG a bunch of times this evening/tonight? Delay shot a bit this evening and then shoot later in the morning tomorrow to get the 12 hour? Skip shot tonight? Usually I feed then shoot while she's still eating. Just now I fed her the normal evening amount but haven't shot yet. I work from home and can stay up late without interfering with my job, so I can stay up to check BG as needed.
Of note, her ears have been getting a little tougher to get a decent drop from (not sure what's up) so I didn't get an AMPS for the first time in a long time (4 pokes were a no go), but I shot normally based on the pattern she's developed between the last BG of the night and the AMPS numbers
Thanks for any advice!
Hi! Haven't been posting here but have been diligently filling in my spreadsheet. Miz Kirby hasn't really been developing any specific pattern during the day... one day she drops and raises sharply, others there's a high flat curve (weirdly, evenings after PMPS/dinner are more consistent). Today is the first day, though, that her BG has dropped back down after the rise that comes after her nadir. PMPS is 68 -- first time in the almost 6 weeks on insulin that the PMPS has been in the green (usually it's back up to pink or yellow by then). The newbie posts say to ask for advice with this kind of preshot number, so I'm asking.
Shoot low to stay low and plan to re-feed in a few hours and check BG a bunch of times this evening/tonight? Delay shot a bit this evening and then shoot later in the morning tomorrow to get the 12 hour? Skip shot tonight? Usually I feed then shoot while she's still eating. Just now I fed her the normal evening amount but haven't shot yet. I work from home and can stay up late without interfering with my job, so I can stay up to check BG as needed.
Of note, her ears have been getting a little tougher to get a decent drop from (not sure what's up) so I didn't get an AMPS for the first time in a long time (4 pokes were a no go), but I shot normally based on the pattern she's developed between the last BG of the night and the AMPS numbers
Thanks for any advice!