2/23 Jack 254@AMPS- increased to 9units

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Apologies for no post yesterday; between Jack's brother Sable having more extensive oral surgery and extractions than anticipated (now we wait for biopsy results on what was termed a 'very unusual and slightly ugly' mass in his lower jaw :arghh:) and the unexpected snow/ice that left me stranded and unable to drive for a few hours, poor Jack only had 2 tests and was 45 minutes late on his PM insulin. Which , i was anticipating a very high number for, freaking out in the car trying to get home fast on icy roads, and he was actually LOWER than he had been for the previous 6 cycles. I'm thankful he was 204. But I'm also soooooo confused! Maybe he didn't eat the pate I left out? Maybe he was playing and not sleeping while I was gone? I can't keep up. This makes no sense to me. Even though he is not eating the correct diet, he is pretty consistent in what he eats and when he eats lately. And when I tested his blood ketones the other day, we were at 0.2 which is pretty much where Jack stays if we see BG#'s under 300.

This morning he was 254. He did eat some ziwi peak so he had less kibble (a rare occurrence lately, but hey, I'll take what I can get) but we went to 9units because technically we are overdue for that increase and I should only be out of the house for a few hours today, and around all day tomorrow. Saturday I have to go to Brooklyn to see my mother, so that will be another stressful day for me. Hopefully Jack decides to cooperate and just keep steady numbers. We'll get back to fighting the food issue again next week, after Sable recovers a little more.

Tagging @Diane Tyler's Mom because she was kind enough to comment on my poor Sable previously.:( I guess this thread should strictly be about Jack, but I tend to mention his siblings from time to time to provide context for what's going on in the house, with my schedule, and how it affects Jack .

Hope everyone who had 'weather' yesterday is safe and warm today.

Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-21-jack-254-0-2ketones-amps.274449/
 
Hi Christine, I feel so bad that Sable had to have more extensive oral surgery than expected, poor baby.
It's ok if you post about Sable because we do care about him!

How is he doing today
Did they send you home with pain meds?
Praying the mass isn't anything serious.
Keep us updated when you get the biopsy results :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
 
Hi Christine, I feel so bad that Sable had to have more extensive oral surgery than expected, poor baby.
It's ok if you post about Sable because we do care about him!

How is he doing today
Did they send you home with pain meds?
Praying the mass isn't anything serious.
Keep us updated when you get the biopsy results :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
Thank you so much! :bighug: Sable came home with 3 days of Onsior and 5 days of Buprinex. I'm just praying that the biopsy isn't what I fear it is. :nailbiting: And Jack is doing OK so far on is 9 units, he was 264 @+6hrs this afternoon. Thanks again for your support, I really appreciate it.
 
Back
Top