Have you seen this before? Sometimes visuals help.
View attachment 63579
As a reminder (copied from sticky):
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
Those are "typical" cycles, but as it says each cat is different. Nadirs can and do move around, we have no control over that, it's just whatever biological processes doing their thing.
BUT - bounce breaks often have a later nadir. These higher preshots (today, 19th, 20th) are a clue he went lower/dropped faster overnight than he was used to. My guess is he likely hit blue again last night around +6. Then he bounced - which can take up to 6 cycles to clear. But Taz seems to clear them the next cycle (19th, 20th, today), or at most after 2 cycles (12th). So when you see such a high preshot come down as far as it did today (or 19th, 20th) - it
can mean a later nadir, always good to get later tests when that happens.
Another thing is anecdotally, flat yellow cycles like you saw yesterday can mean action to follow. I too would have stopped testing after +4 last night, but something happened later to cause a bounce. It happens sometimes.
*It is possible today wasn't a bounce. Last night doesn't totally convince me it is, but the combination of high preshot and later nadir make me think it is. Could just be one of those random things that happen (or even a bad strip).