2/24 Miz Kirby AMPS 80/73/75 +2.3 72 +3.6 69 +6 66 +9 115 PMPS 134 +3 100

Jinx & Miz Kirby

Member Since 2022
Previous: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-68-1-noshot-100-1-93.274500/#post-3048088

This is only the 2nd time I've shot green. This morning she's at 80, and the last time was 2 days ago at 68. Last time I stalled an hour but fed her on schedule right after taking the 68 because I'd forgotten the 'don't feed if over 50 to see when BG starts going back up as insluin wears off' instruction on the shooting low page.

So this morning I've held off on feeding (except for the obligatory ear poke treat), which is making Miz Kirby and her two civvie companions annoyed (Pickle is her daughter, and Bailey is her nemesis/frenemy). Will test every 15-20 minutes until it starts going up, then feed and shoot immediately. Since the other day when her PMPS was 68 her nadir after that was 49, I reduced her dose .25. Once I shoot I'll make sure to take +1 and +2 etc. to track the food impact and when the insulin kicks in, and try to catch the nadir by testing frequently.
 
Tested 20 minutes after the 80 and she was at 73, so still on a dip. I'm guessing this is (at least in part) the depot catching up to the fact that yesterday evening I vaguely forgot I'd stalled the night before and was going to gradually work my way back to the normal eat/shoot time in 10 minute increments over a few days, and instead of shooting at 6:40pm I shot at 6pm, so even though I'd reduced the dose, the less-than-12-hours timing acted as a bit of an increase (back to the 1.25 level).
 
With TR, you can shoot any number over 50 if you can monitor. You don't need to stall. Sometimes numbers can fall after stalling - making the shooting difficult harder.
Don't fill her up so that she will eat every hour or every 30 mins, if necessary.

This is only the 3rd cycle of the lower dose so the higher depot is still at play. Why the 1 fat rather than 1U yesterday?
 
With TR, you can shoot any number over 50 if you can monitor. You don't need to stall.
Yeah, I was just being cautious since on the shooting low page it says between 80-100 if it's your first time shooting green to stall so you can see the pattern and shoot as soon as you see the number coming up from nadir as the insulin wears off (and the last time, which was the actual first shoot green for me, I messed up by feeding her during the stall, so I didn't get useful data for that side of it).

Why the 1 fat rather than 1U yesterday?
More of a note to myself because "just a little under/over the line" vs "right at the line" when there's no line for .25 makes my "numbers mean exact things" brain break a little. At 1.25 I feel like I'm always probably a little fat (but got a little lazy with writing the whole phraseeach time or just accepting that the line isn't as important as consistency), so I was trying to make the reduction be .25 from where I usually draw to when doing 1.25, hence 1 a little fat.

I am in love with today's spreasheet line, though... all regular green from AMPS to +6 so far!
 
Back
Top