? 2/25 Sly, PMPS 151 *NO SHOT, +1 141, +2 138, +3 139, +5 138 ,

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Deb and Sylvester, Feb 25, 2023.

  1. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
  2. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Had a softer than normal number 2, probably from the switch to all YA. I will eliminate the SEB, he probably doesn't need it with all the psyllium. I had to clean his bum a little, he's almost where he can reach it again, hence why I don't want him to gain any weight.

    On a positive note, he was running around a little last night again, chasing the other 2, so he's feeling pretty good! I hope the increased activity helps.
     
  3. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Ooh, he's lower at +2 today than yesterday. Fingers crossed he dips to blue!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Go Sly! :cool::cool::cool:

    How much of the DM was he getting in terms of overall %?
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  5. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Only about 1/8th-ish!! I'm actually shocked how carb sensitive he is. But I'm so glad I said, let's do this!!

    He's 147 at +3, I gave him his fish broth, and offered part of a Churu (he wasn't impressed ECID), do I need to offer food, or wait to see what +4 reads? I don't want to overfeed, or not leave him enough food for early afternoon. He usually comes looking around +5/6..
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He's not dropped a lot between +2 and +3 so you can wait to feed.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  7. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Ok! Thanks Bhooma!!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  8. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    He's doing so well, I told him and his pancreas to keep up the good work!! ;)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  9. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    He's been at this number for hours :eek:

    I hope he comes up before PMPS.:nailbiting:
     
  10. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    We're only 20 minutes to PMPS and he's still floating in the 130s..... ??

    Do you think the carb reduction is acting like a dose increase or is this carry over?

    @Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy
     
  11. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    He's hangry and I need to stay on schedule for tomorrow, we have been putting off my folks for weeks.... :(

    Should I just give a reduced dose or continue to stall?
     
  12. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    He's still flat 138 @+14

    I know stalling itself is like a reduction, so I have no idea if I should give just a token dose right now.

    :confused:
     
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Did you shoot?
     
  14. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    No, I checked him 30 minutes ago, and he's 138
     
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I see 5U in the PM cell? How long since his shot was due?
     
  16. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    A couple of nights ago, you had a 103. And you shot 3.5. He stayed low for the first three hours and then went up.
     
  17. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Can you monitor tonight?
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  18. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    No if you look at the notes, I stalled until +15 when he hit 174.

    He's so much lower tonight at the same time. That DM food really had an affect on his BG.
     
  19. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If you shoot now it will put of your schedule for tomorrow. Has he had any history of ketones? What time do you need to leave tomorrow? When in the cycle and for how long?
     
  20. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That is true. It seems cutting out the HC food is helping. Since you just dod this (was it today?). Perhaps you should shoot a reduced dose and monitor to see how he does.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  21. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Yes,
     
  22. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    No history of ketones, I'm leaving here around noon and will be back at 5. If I shoot now, shot time would be about 9 am, so I could monitor the first 3 hours before I leave.
     
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    One option is to skip and shoot at your usual time tomorrow but he might shoot sky high - or may not with the DM out. Or shoot a token dose and shoot tomorrow AM 11.5 hours from tonight.
     
  24. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    I was thinking of giving a token dose, I'm just not sure how much. I had to feed him, I held back almost 3 hours.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  25. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It might be good to see how things go without the DM.
     
  26. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Feed and shoot. You could do 2.5U or 3U.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  27. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    I thought about this earlier. He might be a little high for a day or so, but maybe 1 missing dose can be like a reset.

    I'd be interested to see his morning number.
     
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If he has no ketones, you can also skip. And shoot at your usual time in the morning.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  29. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    @Bandit's Mom

    Do you think I should skip or shoot half the dose?

    I guess I'm just wondering if dropping the DM is making a bigger impact on the second day, and the dose is a smidge high..?

    Maybe skipping will give a picture, unless he bounces..
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  30. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I would have said shoot a token dose if you didn't have to leave tomorrow. The food change does seem to have made a huge impact so you want to monitor closely. By skipping you can shoot at your usual time tomorrow. He might be quite high but he might not either. That itself will be illuminating.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  31. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    I agree, I would have done the same. His morning number will be interesting to see.

    Or, I'll test him in 2 hours and kick myself!! :arghh:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  32. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    A small housekeeping note in the SS. For the PM shot of 2/18 you would put "103 @+12, 103 @+13, 124 @+14, 174 @+15" to indicate that you shot at +15. The +1, +2, +3 etc cells for that cycle would reflect the tests after you shot.

    Tonight you you put NS (for no shot) in the U cell and enter the test numbers in their usual cells - like if you had shot. So the +14 will be at +2 etc.
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  33. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Ok thanks, I will update the spreadsheet for that day, and note the no shot for tonight!!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  34. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    Still holding at 138...
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  35. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Wow! What has he been eating?
     
    Deb and Sylvester likes this.
  36. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    He ate all his dry food for the day by +5 (pm cycle), both his wet feedings (FF pate), fish broth, and every snack I offered; today was freeze dried chicken and salmon.

    After I tested him, he retired upstairs for some zzz's. If this is related to the food change, then he's incredibly carb sensitive.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  37. Deb and Sylvester

    Deb and Sylvester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2023
    I cut the HC back on Friday. I did it knowing that if I waited, there would be another dose increase tonight (Sunday), and figured, he like the YA, his poops are pretty great now, lets get the HC out of the picture. I honestly wasn't expecting this though, it was such a small amount of the DM..
    Anyway, I'll have to see how the next few days cycle through..?
     

Share This Page