2/26 Jack: 198@amps, 244@+2

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Hope everyone had a good weekend- Jack was ok being alone most of Saturday with my trip to Brooklyn, despite my being 45 minutes late on his pm shot due to crazy traffic trying to escape from NY. Still holding 9 units because yesterday was a nice start, he hit 67 in his am cycle but bounced to 283 before bed. We are starting higher this morning, but I'm hoping he clears soon and shows some more dark green in a day or two. I really think he needs his dose held longer than most, he seems to take more insulin than most, so I decided that rather than keep increasing/decreasing after one promising cycle, I would make sure that's what his body wants and wait for numbers under 75/80 three cycles in a row before reducing. I don't know if this is helpful or not- I'm just out of ideas for regulating him, and can't really afford to repeat tests that may or may not give me answers. It's on the agenda, just maybe not for a month or two---unless something happens to warrant moving them up.

Hope the kitties and humans all have a good week!

Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...9units-acro-iaa-question.286978/#post-3155391
 
Hi Christine :)
Hope that the craziness you had in the house has settled down.
Sounds like a good plan. I know that TR means in/decreasing more frequently but it makes sense to me to sometimes hold the dose longer if you see an action that you think is good.
Sending hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Christine :)
Hope that the craziness you had in the house has settled down.
Sounds like a good plan. I know that TR means in/decreasing more frequently but it makes sense to me to sometimes hold the dose longer if you see an action that you think is good.
Sending hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks for checking in! It's a bit more calm, life just seems really out of control everywhere and for everyone lately, and I'm having trouble keeping up.
Jack is on SLGS because he won't stop eating the kibble, even if it is low carb and mixed with air dried, it definitely affects him. He is just a STUBBORN boy, and patience is NOT one of my virtues...LOL! Hope you have a good week! HUGS back! :bighug:
 
hi Christine, sounds like you have a good plan and holding your dose for a little bit with Jack to see what he does. Hope everybody’s doing well in your household. It does get overwhelming doesn’t it?

I can relate to trying to escape New York through the tunnels and just sitting and sitting and sitting. Traffic is horrendous trying to get out of the city. Almost seems worse trying to get out than it is to get in. But alas, I can’t go to New York these days with my kitty girl needing me at home, so no NYC escapades for me. Boo-hoo. Miss it a lot. :(
Hope Jack slides down gently today and shows you some dark green!
Have a nice week :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It's a bit more calm, life just seems really out of control everywhere and for everyone lately, and I'm having trouble keeping up.
Jack is on SLGS because he won't stop eating the kibble, even if it is low carb and mixed with air dried, it definitely affects him. He is just a STUBBORN boy, and patience is NOT one of my virtues...LOL! Hope you have a good week! HUGS back! :bighug:
I'm glad things have calmed down some. It does seem like things are a bit chaotic all over. Also, patience is HARD. :joyful: I hope you have a good day! :bighug:
 
Hi Christine,
Oh the NYC traffic! Glad you made it home (a bit late but made it!).
Hope things start settling down and you can breathe easier.
Jack seems to be doing better with this dose :) Like you say, let his body get used to the lower numbers. It takes time - Mikan's taking her time too.
Some cats do it fast, others take time :cat: But we don't get to decide how they do it :rolleyes:
Wishing everyone a joyful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks for checking in! It's a bit more calm, life just seems really out of control everywhere and for everyone lately, and I'm having trouble keeping up.
Jack is on SLGS because he won't stop eating the kibble, even if it is low carb and mixed with air dried, it definitely affects him. He is just a STUBBORN boy, and patience is NOT one of my virtues...LOL! Hope you have a good week! HUGS back! :bighug:
Right, I forgot that you follow SLGS.
It's interesting how some cats that don't let go of kibble.
You may not feel patient enough but taking care of Jack takes care and perseverance which you have! He's lucky to have you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
hi Christine, sounds like you have a good plan and holding your dose for a little bit with Jack to see what he does. Hope everybody’s doing well in your household. It does get overwhelming doesn’t it?

I can relate to trying to escape New York through the tunnels and just sitting and sitting and sitting. Traffic is horrendous trying to get out of the city. Almost seems worse trying to get out than it is to get in. But alas, I can’t go to New York these days with my kitty girl needing me at home, so no NYC escapades for me. Boo-hoo. Miss it a lot. :(
Hope Jack slides down gently today and shows you some dark green!
Have a nice week :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I don't really like the city...I only go to visit my mom, and EVERY DAY she hears the 'it's time to get out of the city' speech from me...lol! I'm sorry you can't go though, it's so hard to leave them with this condition, my anxiety is through the roof the whole time I'm out!
 
Back
Top