2/3 Minner AMPS 103 +3 130 +6 85 +9 117 PMPS 109 +3 68 +6 85

MinnerPip

Active Member
Prior Post

Nothing exciting or unusual to share. Grateful she had a mini blue streak that coincided with time I had to be away from house this morning.

@Staci & Ivy I opened the calipers and started playing around w/ them. Something has to be really off b/c according to the dose (7.25) and the mm to unit ratio for the UltiCare VetRx syringes, (1.25), the caliper should be set to 9.0625 and it looks like this setting would align to slightly less than 7u. More on this later.
 
The markings on the syringes can be quite off. If you press the plunger fully and check each syringe, you will see that often the zero mark does not align with the plunger in the fully pressed position. I've found a difference of as much as 0.5U in some syringes!
 
So what to do if the calipers indicate my “normal dose” will now be smaller than what i’ve been dosing? I can’t give what appears in syringe to be reduction of more than 0.25u by dosing what the calipers say is 7.25.

Since this is really more about consistency and not the dose number itself, I’m wondering if I simply measure with calipers what the syringe says is 7.25, which is 10.08mm …. And then I just do 10.08 using calipers going forward … and use that ratio of 10.08mm to 7.25u, which is 1.39mm = 1u for any future dose changes. Is this the right way to think about it?
 
I would use the mm values for the dose you want to give and not what the syringe marking say. You might need to go up or down in dose if you have been actually giving a lower or higher dose than what the mm reading for that dose works out to. Like you said, it is about consistency.
 
So what to do if the calipers indicate my “normal dose” will now be smaller than what i’ve been dosing? I can’t give what appears in syringe to be reduction of more than 0.25u by dosing what the calipers say is 7.25.

Since this is really more about consistency and not the dose number itself, I’m wondering if I simply measure with calipers what the syringe says is 7.25, which is 10.08mm …. And then I just do 10.08 using calipers going forward … and use that ratio of 10.08mm to 7.25u, which is 1.39mm = 1u for any future dose changes. Is this the right way to think about it?
Hi Laura, glad to hear you’re working on using the calipers to help be consistent.
Yes it appears your measurement will be 10.08 mm on the calipers for a dose of 7.25 units.

That’s exactly how I do it and I ignore the lines on the syringe.

I think it takes some time just to get used to doing it because you’re used to looking at the lines, but I just make sure to look at where the arms are lined up very carefully and check it several times before I’m satisfied that the dose is correct :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top