2/4/ AMPS 353 PMPS 197 - questions/concerns

Teya and Tweety

Member Since 2024
Hi, I sure hope I am finally posting properly on here.

Tweety was increased to 1.5 units on Friday. Right away her numbers dropped significantly.

8/15/23 at diagnosis was 1 u. She got a UTI on 1/5/24 went to 2u due to UTI. Went hypo on 1/26/24 and back to 1 u 1/27/24-2/2/24. Friday 2/2 was increased to 1.5.

Today her AMPS was 353 I was shocked at dinner her PMPS was 197. It has never been that low at dinner ever. I think it was 247 once in the last month. I was afraid to give 1.5 units as last time she was at 178 around 8 pm she went hypo.

I have so much to learn about this. Why is she all over the board and going down today? Makes no sense. I still don't get why I would give her the same amount of insulin if she is reading at say 350 as if she were reading at say 150. I understand "spikes" are expected but they do not always happen.

I start a new job tomorrow and am in tears worried as she will be alone from 10:30-3:30. I think I may stick with 1 unit until training ends on 2/16 so I can watch her more closely. After 2/16/24 I will have much easier/relaxed hours.

Any thought on this topic of giving less insulin when numbers seem off? My vet is not going to be happy at all. She said people do this all the time and they do not support it. They need to have a dose to stick with she said. I get that, but this scares me a ton.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ing-kitty-with-ibd-daily-prednisalone.285698/

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/going-to-syringe-from-using-pen-needles.286238/#post-3149383

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/generic-insulin-switched-pharmacies.285861/#post-3148801
 
It can be scary seeing the blue number at shot time, Tootsie is responding to the increase very nicely! I am pushing up this post to get eyes as I see you have a question regarding dosing!

Don't be scared- just post here and good job managing, you are still pretty new at this and doing a great job!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It can be scary seeing the blue number at shot time, Tootsie is responding to the increase very nicely! I am pushing up this post to get eyes as I see you have a question regarding dosing!

Don't be scared- just post here and good job managing, you are still pretty new at this and doing a great job!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you for replying so much. It's very scary to see a we're never this low at night. Overnight she often drop ls even more. So starting at 197 and getting insulin is scary because I think, "what's going to happen overnight if she's already this low?!" She actually just went up to 220 so I'm relieved.

I think it's possible the syringe method is working better. Honestly it seems like it is getting into her system better than pen needles.

Since I'm going to likely just do 1 unit I guess I'll find out.

Thank you again so much..;)
 
Those lower preshots really are scary at first.:bighug: I remember shooting my first blue. How I held my breath and crossed everything that she would be safe. She bounced. :rolleyes: Did the same thing when I shot my first greens (under 100). Made it easier for me to shoot low. Lantus is really great at giving you flatter cycles when you shoot lower. With preshots over 300 or 400 (or worse), you can easily get a drop of 200 or more points. The same doesn't happen when you shoot the blues (in the 100's). Look at those AM cycles you've had where you had blue AMPS and what happened that cycle. Take a look at other people's threads and see what happens during the cycle when they shoot blue or green preshots.
I was afraid to give 1.5 units as last time she was at 178 around 8 pm she went hypo.
But she started that cycle at a preshot of 310. The 178 was an hour after the shot. Looks like she likes to drop early and fast when she starts high. At what times are you feeding her now and how much? I wonder if some of her preshot meal was reserved to give at +1 whether it would slow down that drop.

As for the action you saw the first time you shot 1.5 units, sometimes kitties will give you a heads up or hint as to what that dose is capable of in the first cycle. It might be that mid blues is where it will take her.

Instead of reducing all the way to 1.0 units, you might have tried 1.25 units. You do have syringes with half unit markings?
 
Thank you ... I really appreciate your reply.

Her daytime seems less scary than nighttime. The big drops into the 100s seem to happen overnight more than during the day it seems.

She eats breakfast at 6 am, snack at 10/11 am, dinner at 6 pm and snack at 9 pm. All times are give it take 15 minutes. Insulin at breakfast and dinner.

Yes we have half units and I have a touch hair over 1 unit tonight. Barely noticeable. Now she's at 254 and I'm wondering if I was hasty.

Yes, the hypo was reading over 300 then by 8 pm 2 hours after driver dropped to 178 and kept falling. I made an error in the timing showing 1 hour after meal but it was 2.

I guess I am still getting to understand why 1.5 units can drop her from 450 to 195 but why 195 getting 1.5 units won't take her into danger zones. I'll look at others charts as you suggested tomorrow.

Meanwhile, I'll give her a tad over 1u tomorrow depending on what she looks like in the morning. I am just so afraid of hurting her. Making her go hypo. It was so scary.

Now that I'm getting the hang of this board and giving the shots I hour to get clarity soon to help her best.
 
Try to be consistent in dosing as you can. You can either stick with 1.0 units, or go to 1.25 units, but keep it the same dose so the depot can settle in. Remember we dose on the nadirs, or how low the dose takes the cat, not the preshot values.

With breakfast at 6, sounds like you'll not be leaving home for a couple hours after shot time for the new job. That's good, that +2 or +3 test if you can get it, will help you decide what her cycle is going to look like and whether you should leave some higher carb food out for her to munch on while you are gone. Lots of good tips on working in this post. It says TR, but the tips still work if following SLGS. Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!
 
@Tootsie778
When linking your previous posts you don't have to list everyone, don't make yourself crazy :cat:, you just have to link the last post you did to the new post you do. So for tomorrow you will just link this one 2-4-2024 to tomorrow's :cat:
 
Welcome and I just wanted to say you’re doing great. Keep reading and asking lots of questions. That’s how you will learn. You’ll get the hang of things. Wendy has given you some amazing information.
I use a Libre 3 and I see you were using a Libre so remember you can scan to know what’s going on. With the Libre 3 that I use I get alerts if she is dropping and that’s my heads up to pay close attention. It looks like you’re using an earlier version of the Libre where you have to scan Tweety, so just remember you can do that for more information. I’m sure Tweety is bouncing from when he sees blue numbers so that’s why he will go up and down and that’s all very normal. Wishing you the best of luck and don’t forget to get to ask a lot of questions. People here are very helpful and willing to answer questions for you at all times.
Wishing you both good luck :bighug::cat:
 
Welcome and I just wanted to say you’re doing great. Keep reading and asking lots of questions. That’s how you will learn. You’ll get the hang of things. Wendy has given you some amazing information.
I use a Libre 3 and I see you were using a Libre so remember you can scan to know what’s going on. With the Libre 3 that I use I get alerts if she is dropping and that’s my heads up to pay close attention. It looks like you’re using an earlier version of the Libre where you have to scan Tweety, so just remember you can do that for more information. I’m sure Tweety is bouncing from when he sees blue numbers so that’s why he will go up and down and that’s all very normal. Wishing you the best of luck and don’t forget to get to ask a lot of questions. People here are very helpful and willing to answer questions for you at all times.
Wishing you both good luck :bighug::cat:
Thank you SO MUCH. I would love to know about your Libre 3... if it can alert me that would be amazing. Maybe her next one should be that!!! I am worrying about the dose but thinking I will stick with either 1.25 or 1.5. I feel risky at 1.5 though
 
Those lower preshots really are scary at first.:bighug: I remember shooting my first blue. How I held my breath and crossed everything that she would be safe. She bounced. :rolleyes: Did the same thing when I shot my first greens (under 100). Made it easier for me to shoot low. Lantus is really great at giving you flatter cycles when you shoot lower. With preshots over 300 or 400 (or worse), you can easily get a drop of 200 or more points. The same doesn't happen when you shoot the blues (in the 100's). Look at those AM cycles you've had where you had blue AMPS and what happened that cycle. Take a look at other people's threads and see what happens during the cycle when they shoot blue or green preshots.

But she started that cycle at a preshot of 310. The 178 was an hour after the shot. Looks like she likes to drop early and fast when she starts high. At what times are you feeding her now and how much? I wonder if some of her preshot meal was reserved to give at +1 whether it would slow down that drop.

As for the action you saw the first time you shot 1.5 units, sometimes kitties will give you a heads up or hint as to what that dose is capable of in the first cycle. It might be that mid blues is where it will take her.

Instead of reducing all the way to 1.0 units, you might have tried 1.25 units. You do have syringes with half unit markings?
I cant thank you enough for looking at this and helping! I had no idea that the higher she is the more she drops. I really just am trying to wrap my head around not being afraid to dose her when she is already in good numbers. It does not make sense to me yet that she can drop 275 points from 450 to 175 ... but then if it is time for the next shot and she is at 175 - I don't understand why she would not go hypo. If she drops 275 points from a dose - why would she not drop significantly with ALL doses. I hope this makes sense. I am going to go back and read the stickys some more.

For now though... I think I will give her 1.25 u even though it seems like she can do 1.5. I just cannot be here so I am scared to. Hence, airing on the side of caution at 1.25 is better for my brain. But what is better for HER is what I am struggling with. I guess if I give 1.25 tonight and 1.25 tomorrow and she will not budge from the 250s to 350s I will know and can go back to 1.5 I guess. I am rambling. Thx for listening.
 
Thank you SO MUCH. I would love to know about your Libre 3... if it can alert me that would be amazing. Maybe her next one should be that!!! I am worrying about the dose but thinking I will stick with either 1.25 or 1.5. I feel risky at 1.5 though
I know Wendy suggested picking a dose and using one dose. She’s an incredible advisor and she knows all about dosing so I would follow what she recommended.

If you have a question, use the question mark and a brief question. I see you are already doing that, so great work!!
If you have any questions about the Libre, I am happy to try to answer them. I’ve been using them since last February. So just about a year. (Started with the Libre 2 and then when I realized the Libre 3 would enable me to not have to scan her and get 24/7 readings on my phone, I decided to switch. I really, really like it. It makes me feel like at least I know what is happening with her all the time and that gives me comfort.
Plus, she’s very difficult to ear prick. But, I do that when I must find out if she’s going very low. I am able to do that, which is very important. We need to know how to do get a manual reading.
Hope this helps!! :)
 
I know Wendy suggested picking a dose and using one dose. She’s an incredible advisor and she knows all about dosing so I would follow what she recommended.

If you have a question, use the question mark and a brief question. I see you are already doing that, so great work!!
If you have any questions about the Libre, I am happy to try to answer them. I’ve been using them since last February. So just about a year. (Started with the Libre 2 and then when I realized the Libre 3 would enable me to not have to scan her and get 24/7 readings on my phone, I decided to switch. I really, really like it. It makes me feel like at least I know what is happening with her all the time and that gives me comfort.
Plus, she’s very difficult to ear prick. But, I do that when I must find out if she’s going very low. I am able to do that, which is very important. We need to know how to do get a manual reading.
Hope this helps!! :)
Yes she sure did... I am not the greatest with my words lately! LOL I guess I was asking opinions on the 1.5 vs 1.25 given her numbers. I went with what I think is 1.25. My understanding on the syringe is that if the black plunger lines up with the line - then that is the dose. So I put the black plunger juuuuuuust above the half marker and hope it is 1.25. Truth be told I am using a magnifying glass to ensure I am right! Someday this will all be funny and I look forward to the day.

I will check into the Freestyle4 for sure!!
 
Yes she sure did... I am not the greatest with my words lately! LOL I guess I was asking opinions on the 1.5 vs 1.25 given her numbers. I went with what I think is 1.25. My understanding on the syringe is that if the black plunger lines up with the line - then that is the dose. So I put the black plunger juuuuuuust above the half marker and hope it is 1.25. Truth be told I am using a magnifying glass to ensure I am right! Someday this will all be funny and I look forward to the day.

I will check into the Freestyle4 for sure!!
Then stick with 1.25 and see how he does. Try not to change the dose each cycle, unless he drops too low and earns a reduction of .25 units.
I use a magnifying glass also because these lines are very tiny and you want to be very precise.
Just take your time and triple check each time you measure! :rolleyes:
 
Then stick with 1.25 and see how he does. Try not to change the dose each cycle, unless he drops too low and earns a reduction of .25 units.
I use a magnifying glass also because these lines are very tiny and you want to be very precise.
Just take your time and triple check each time you measure! :rolleyes:
What a relief!! I thought I was going overboard buying this huge light-up magnifying glass. :) Yes it looks like this is a good dose for her right now to keep her under 300 and "safe" when I am away in training these next 2 weeks.
 
Back
Top