2/6 Callie AMPS 117, +3 91

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
Prev:https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-3-callie-amps-109-pmps-85-3-5-88.258842/

Callie seems to be happily settled into this fat 1.25 dose. Today is a week on it with mostly greens but I’m thinking we should maybe hold it longer because her AMPS remains blue and she also has random blues at other times. (Re: AMPS: I’ve tried feeding at PMPS +8/+9 and not feeding after PMPS +6 and have gotten the same low blue AMPS range so not sure what else to try or if AMPS is just stubborn…)

@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee What do you think about dose? And any other thoughts/ suggestions are always welcome :)

Happy Sunday everyone. Surf safely kitties :cat:
 
I think I would stick with the current dose a little longer unless you see lower green nadirs. Sounds like you are trying everything to lower the preshots. How’s the asthma and allergies?
 
I think I would stick with the current dose a little longer unless you see lower green nadirs. Sounds like you are trying everything to lower the preshots. How’s the asthma and allergies?
Sounds like a plan. Thanks, Elise.

Question about Callie’s nadirs and food: Callie still tends to drop fast from the blues around her onset in the day cycle. She stays in safe numbers but I’m wondering if the fast drop is the reason that she then bounces up and stays in higher greens / low blues for the rest of the day. Nights are usually pretty flat, I assume because she is starting lower so no big drop and no subsequent bounce.

Do you think I should be giving higher carbs at AMPS and/or AM +1 to slow that initial drop? Might that help bring her nadirs down (ETA: but more slowly) ? Or do you think it will just make everything go higher?

Callie hasn’t had an asthma attack in a while, since early December I think. About a week ago I lowered her inhaled steroid dose down a bit from the max and so far so good (huge anti jinx!) Hope to be able to lower her back to her normal dose soon without any attacks.

Allergies are pretty much her baseline “good” - still somewhat itchy with a few granulomas here and there but not at all terrible. Thanks for asking.
 
Last edited:
Sounds like a plan.

Do you think I should be giving higher carbs at AMPS and/or AM +1 to slow that initial drop? Might that help bring her nadirs down (ETA: but more slowly) ? Or do you think it will just make everything go higher?

I agree. I think it would be a good idea to feed a little higher carbs to stop a big drop.

Callie hasn’t had an asthma attack in a while, since early December I think. About a week ago I lowered her inhaled steroid dose down a bit from the max and so far so good (huge anti jinx!) Hope to be able to lower her back to her normal dose soon without any attacks.

Allergies are pretty much her baseline “good” - still somewhat itchy with a few granulomas here and there but not at all terrible. Thanks for asking.

I am glad overall she’s good. Mocha is the same bit getting occasional dermatitis on her ears. A few days of zyrtec seemed to help. I wonder if it’s seasonal or something in my condo causing it for her.
 
Callie is looking good. She is green almost all day and most of the night. Her AMPS is almost green and the AMPS is anyway the last to come down.

She does drop hard in some AM cycles. What's your feeding schedule like?
 
I am glad overall she’s good. Mocha is the same bit getting occasional dermatitis on her ears. A few days of zyrtec seemed to help. I wonder if it’s seasonal or something in my condo causing it for her.
Glad the zyrtec helps but I'm sorry about Mocha's ears. I really hate these allergic conditions for them :(

Have you ever tried cbd oil for Mocha's allergies? We originally looked into it for Callie's arthritis pain but the cbd our vet recommended for Callie is supposed to also help with itching. With everything we throw at Callie's allergies, it is very hard to pinpoint what helps the most but I do feel like Callie is more uncomfortable -- stiffer from arthritis and itchier from her allergies -- on days that we don't give her cbd. And our vet has another cat patient that is currently only using this cbd for skin allergies and it seems to help.

This is the cbd oil we're using: https://www.ellevetsciences.com/product/cbd-oil-for-cats/ and here's a link for more info about the science behind it: https://www.ellevetsciences.com/cbd-science/
 
Callie is looking good. She is green almost all day and most of the night. Her AMPS is almost green and the AMPS is anyway the last to come down.

She does drop hard in some AM cycles. What's your feeding schedule like?
Thanks, Bhooma. What's strange with Callie is that she had a short period (late 11/21- early 12/21) when she was mostly green at AMPS. But that was when she hit her breakthrough dose and was going pretty quickly down the dosing scale so I guess I can't really compare then to now.

Re: current feeding schedule: We feed the largest meals at AMPS and PMPS. Lately, we have only been feeding raw (less than 1% carbs I think) and Ziwi Peak Venison (3% on food chart.)

AM: small snacks at +1ish, +2ish and after the +3/+4 test. Then at least one more snack, usually at +8 when she gets her afternoon gaba. Possibly also a +6 and/or +9 depending on how hungry she is and whether I am experimenting with feeding. I know that ideally we shouldn't feed after nadir ... but Callie definitely didn't get that memo ;) Also, frequent feedings keep her vomiting at bay.

PM: same as AM through +4 and then I will usually either give her a small snack at +6 or +8/9. (Sometimes both if she's screaming loud enough to wake up our neighbors :rolleyes: )

I am thinking we'll add 1/4 teaspoon of 35% HC to Callie's +1 tomorrow AM if she's at her usual 100+. Let me know if you think we should make any other tweaks.
 
Back
Top