2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99 +12.75 108

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40 +1.6 40 +2 56

i'd give him a teaspoon or two of hc now.
it's 1:30 here. i don't have it in me to stay up another 2 hours. lol! all you want to do at this point is to keep him over 50. getting him up to 80-90 before going to bed would be good.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40 +1.6 40 +2 56

Ok I will give him some more and try and get his numbers up there before I go to bed and I will leave out his LC food. Thanks for all of your help tonight Jill you're a kitty saver
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40 +1.6 40 +2 56

you know what to do. we call it lather, rinse, repeat. lol!
and don't forget to reduce the dose in the morning to 0.25 unit. dillan is already booking his trip to the Falls...
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40 +1.6 40 +2 56

He's filled up on HC now, won't eat any more I'll leave it there for him though. I just hope that tomorrow morning that the number is decent because I do not want to leave the GF with Dillan lower then 120 and shooting him.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40 +1.6 40 +2 56

Hi Mike and Dillan!
What a great day... Woo hoo.. :mrgreen:
I usually will feed 2TB of food.. just enough to keep the numbers coming up..
And.. leaving out food for him to snack on is a great idea!

Hope to see some more nice numbers tomorrow!
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +1.3 40 +1.6 40 +2 56 +3 68

Thanks for the info. These teaspoons could have been called tablespoons for sure because they were heaping. It was our first time but we got through it. His numbers are coming up now too so I think I will give him the rest of his LC food and give the poor guy a break.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99

I don't know if I should have just started a new condo yet but oh well. Dillan has a 99 this morning he is really frisky and doing well. I have to work today so I will not be able to do any testing and the GF will not be able to get many tests if any, so I'm thinking with this low of a number that the shot is just skipped. Let me know what everyone thinks about this.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99

Dillan420 said:
I don't know if I should have just started a new condo yet but oh well. Dillan has a 99 this morning he is really frisky and doing well. I have to work today so I will not be able to do any testing and the GF will not be able to get many tests if any, so I'm thinking with this low of a number that the shot is just skipped. Let me know what everyone thinks about this.


Hi Mike

this 99 is from last nites PMPS cycle +10.5, so there's still an hour 1/2 til todays AMPS...will u be around to get the +12 AMPS number?
If so, then u can open a new condo and link this thread to it.

Dillan earned the .25 reduction overnite, but I can understand why you're hesitant to shoot the new dose without any guarantees of monitoring,
I would do what you feel u are most comfortable with.

If u skip the shot thou - could Jodi possibly get at least one test in - would give a good idea of what Dillan does with the skipped shot at this point.

But if u do give the new dose, like I said, there's no guarantee of a spotcheck...I feel bad that you're in this situation about the testing, Dillan is really doing well, but like I said - do what you are comfortable with.
We will understand, ok?
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99

I can't get the AMPS I'm already at work I would imagine that it might be up to 110 possibly. I'm not sure how much he would drop from a 0.25 dose so I'm hesitant on getting her to do the test. I will talk to her about getting at least one test done today. What usually happeneds to the numbers when someone misses a shot? Does it take long to gain control of them again? I could get her to give the shot and just feed lots of HC but I'm not sure if this is better then giving no shot. I could approximate when Dillan is going to have his drop from my data, it will be between 1 and 2. From the 0.25 dose I don't think he will go too low I just don't know for sure 100%
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99 *ADVICE PLEASE

When u skip shots, the shed depletes...empties out so to speak.

I'm really not comfortable suggesting you give the shot if there is no AMPS number, it's hard to predict where Dillan will end up at +12, he could dip back down to green, u know?

if it were my cat and I couldn't test, then no - I would not shoot.

Hoping others can jump in on this.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99 *ADVICE PLEASE

I'm reluctant to override Jill's advice, and I'm reluctant to advise a dose at all without a preshot. With no AMPS, and limited tests, I'd skip it or shoot a fat zero -- primarily because he's got a lot of HC food still possibly in his system from last night. He should get back on track with a skipped/reduced dose, but that brings me to an important question: are you gonna miss every AMPS during the work week? It's going to be incredibly hard to advise this situation without them..
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99 *ADVICE PLEASE

Hi,

Ronnie is right, it is a shame you couldn't get a +12 to check a rising number.

Would your GF be able to give a .1u dose? This would basically be a token dose and because it is so small kitties can not hypo on it. There is a pic in one of Jills stickies.

It depends on the cat, but usually you see a higher number because of a skipped shot and possibly a following flat cycle after the next shot given (shed refilling)

However, 2 things. We have a kitty now on a small dose (Yay :mrgreen: ) and some cats (like mine) can hold their numbers despite a skipped shot.
Skipped shots are seriously ill advised if you have a kitty with a history of keytones and as a general rule not recommended.

There comes a point where the decision lies with the bean based on what they know of their cat, experience, knowldge gained and advice offered by the board.

If GF their to keep an eye, that's another cover, as well as if she can get a test.

Just seen Carolyn and Spots post-can you move shot times (i.e get up at the crack of dawn? :lol: ) as I don't think you have much longer to go**
What is never a good idea is delaying a shot by say 2 hours and then shooting again 10 hours later, as this in effect would be the same as increasing the dose.You have to gradually work back towards your +12 shot time, usually in 15 minute increments (some people can do longer, again, based on knowledge of your cat and data collection, but unlikely advised by someone on the board (i.e a beans decision-something I did on a number of occasions and was comfortable with cos I knew how Lucky would react, but toatlly my decision)
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99 *ADVICE PLEASE

We'll have to adjust him down to a different time then I could do it. I'll just stay at her house during the week and then move his time to something that I can get the test at. Since we are going to skip this shot can I pretty much shoot at any time I want tonight?
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99 *ADVICE PLEASE

If it's after +12 yes, then that time would then need to be your new hooting time.
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99 *ADVICE PLEASE

Dillan420 said:
We'll have to adjust him down to a different time then I could do it. I'll just stay at her house during the week and then move his time to something that I can get the test at. Since we are going to skip this shot can I pretty much shoot at any time I want tonight?

yes. since there was no shot this morning you can shoot at whatever time is best for you tonight.

btw, good call on not shooting this morning! no ps number, hc on board, and not being sure if or when spot checks can be done when kitty appears to be racing to the falls = no shot in my book. not shooting is something we usually don't recommend, but in this case it's the safest thing to do... and safety comes first.

mike, don't worry about the skipped shot this morning. it's not a big deal. besides, it will be very interesting to see where dillan is at later today without insulin on board. start a new thread with his test number when you get home from work.
have a good day!
 
Re: 2/7 Dillan PMPS 99 +1 56 +2 56 +3 68 +10.5 99 *ADVICE PLEASE

15 minutes ago so it would be his +12.75 108. I will skip the shot and I will move his new time to 6:00 instead of 9:00 for I can start waking up early to monitor him this should allow me to get a +1 and +1.5 if needed in the mornings and most importantly his AMPS.

Woohoo Jodi, she got the number and will get one later today WooHoo. Dillan is going to have some LC right now
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top