2/7, Merme, AMPS 139, +3 67, +4 74, +6 78, +9 116 PMPS 142

Thank you so much Marielle!! we're doing great!! Merme is surffing green today!!! :o first time this low for him, so I gave him food and I'll be checking again in 20 min :confused:

How do you manage Jude's low numbers?? that 54 you got yesterday felt little scary for me, how are you guys?

I'm so scare of hypos, Merme looks fine even though he is at 60's, I have to control this fear
 
Thank you so much Marielle!! we're doing great!! Merme is surffing green today!!! :eek: first time this low for him, so I gave him food and I'll be checking again in 20 min :confused:

He's surfing green yesterday and today!! Well done, Merme and Andrea.

How do you manage Jude's low numbers?? that 54 you got yesterday felt little scary for me, how are you guys?

One thing that helps is building data by testing which then helps to project what he will likely do. This is not easy, and we haven't been in the consistent lower numbers long, but I'm able to see some patterns. Plus, it's good to know that Lantus is designed to keep Jude flat in a cycle, so that helps when I have to shoot a full dose and he's in the greens at his PM/AM PS. I study others' sheets as well (they give me courage to shoot when he's low). Every cat is different, but there are some consistencies. Also, I listen to the experts here. Food is the remedy, so to speak, that can bring them back up, and you can control the surf with food. Even low carb food can bring them up, so I encourage Jude to eat frequently when he's in the greens.

I'm so scare of hypos, Merme looks fine even though he is at 60's, I have to control this fear

I think it's normal to be scared--but that just means you take Merme's well-being seriously. With time and experience, I have gotten more confident, but it's always a worry.

I hope Merme continues to see better and better numbers!
 
Hi Andrea, I saw that Merme went down to 67 and several lower greens today.
Since you are following SLGS, please reduce his dose at his next shot down to 1 unit.
Any time he goes under 90, you give a reduction of .25 units.

Does this make sense?


Here is some tried-and-true information from the SLGS section of the "Dosing Methods" sticky, which is located here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kittyfalls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
 
Thank you so so much Staci, he will be getting his reduction today, 1U for him, today is his last night on antibiotic also, I’m excited to see how his body respond the next days

thanks a lot for pointing this out :bighug:
 
Back
Top