? 2/7 - Mr Kitty - AMPS 345, Meter variance

FrostD

Very Active Member
Previous thread

Still not much to report. But I do have a question on meter variance, using yesterday's PMPS as an example. I tested, got 276...was odd number for him, so retested and got 314. Curiosity got the better of me, so another test...385.

I figured to "split the difference" and that 314 was likely closest (not like it matters much at these numbers....).

But my question is what to do when we start to get close to the "new to 200s" threshold for holding the dose longer in TR. For example, when I start seeing values right around the 300 mark that could actually be 240, or 360. I really don't want to have to do 3 tests every time, but also don't want to be hasty.
 
I haven't seen any guidance on bumping posts, but haven't had a response. Busy night on the board, and this isn't super pressing, so I'll just post again in tomorrow's condo if needed.

Additional question with respect to TR - after a lot of reading, it seems like an awful lot of work and lost sleep trying to keep cats surfing in the greens. Is the intent here trying to give the pancreas enough of a break to hopefully kick back in eventually?

My goal has first and foremost been regulation, remission a distant pipe dream. Having come from regulation on Vetsulin, I was perfectly happy with preshots in the 100s, and nadirs around 80 or 90. So this is just a bit of a different world.
 
To bump a post, just type "bump" to bump it up. Super bowl day, plus a Sunday, maybe that's why it's slow?

Second question answered first, yes, the more time cats surf in green, the more their beta cells can rest and hopefully recover. And you are right, regulation is a prerequisite to remission so a good first goal.

For your question on the first post, take things at face value. It'll drive you crazy trying to figure out what might-of/could-of been with meter variance. If I was in doubt for a number being reasonable (and the 200's one would have been only 3 hour after the 431), I'd take a second test. Sometimes it took a tie breaker 3rd test. There is no "new to 200's" threshold in TR, but there is a new to under 200's ie. new to 100's.
 
Back
Top