2/7 Ravan/amps195/+4 135/pmps229/+5 333/

JoyBee&Ravan

Member Since 2018
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-6-ravan-amps157-5-102-pmps171.242696/
images


3 below this morning, but it's nice & sunny :D:cat:
 
Hi Nancy

There is no AMPS in the subject line :)

While Raven has been looking good, you’ve caught two drops into the 30s at this dose. With TR, we reduce the dose immediately for a drop in the 30s. To be safe, you should take a full 0.25u reduction. If the reduction fails, you can add a little back on but I wouldn’t take him back to a +0.5u right away.

Have a great day! Stay warm.
 
Last edited:
take a full 0.25u reduction.
keep Raven safe by reducing the dose.

I haven't been posting much anymore. Raven seemed to be regulated at .5 for quite a while. In January his BG went to over 400 then 500. I thought it was a UTI, gave D-mannose for a few days & it wasn't coming down.
Had Lab work done & Vet informed me "everything looked Great!" ( also did a urinalyses) He gave me Amoxi. "just in case" it might be an infection brewing. The first pill I gave Ravan he vomited within mins. I know antibiotic can cause them to be nauseous & not eat, so I stopped the Amoxi.
He wasn't eating much to begin with. ( my vet of 23 yrs retired & this new guy didn't know much about Diabetes He even admitted as much)

I decided to continue with the D-Mannose 3 times a day. The first 39 was probably from the increase to .75 dose. I went back to .5 & he was doing well. Eating good again. Then he had another seizure & his BG is gradually going up.( the second low BG might have been from the seizure?)
He's been wanting higher carbs lately. I tried "many" low carb food including his raw diet & he refused to eat. I gave him some 13% carbs & he ate every last bit.
Not sure what's up with that but as long as he's eating I figure it's better than not.

He has good days, even playing a bit but most of the time he sleeps. He's even started fighting me about being tested. He hides. I'm trying to do the least possible to keep him happy.

With his BG being in the upper 100's I think if I lower his dose to .25 he'll go over 200. I do slight a adjustments with calipers & if he starts getting into green again I'll be careful.

Thank you for checking on us :).
 
You might want to put a note either in your signature or on the spreadsheet so we don't keep bugging you about the dose. You know Raven very well. If you note something like "custom dosing -- do not copy" it will prevent people with less experience from doing what your doing based on their thinking their SS looks like Raven's
 
I haven't been posting much anymore. Raven seemed to be regulated at .5 for quite a while. In January his BG went to over 400 then 500. I thought it was a UTI, gave D-mannose for a few days & it wasn't coming down.
Had Lab work done & Vet informed me "everything looked Great!" ( also did a urinalyses) He gave me Amoxi. "just in case" it might be an infection brewing. The first pill I gave Ravan he vomited within mins. I know antibiotic can cause them to be nauseous & not eat, so I stopped the Amoxi.
He wasn't eating much to begin with. ( my vet of 23 yrs retired & this new guy didn't know much about Diabetes He even admitted as much)

I decided to continue with the D-Mannose 3 times a day. The first 39 was probably from the increase to .75 dose. I went back to .5 & he was doing well. Eating good again. Then he had another seizure & his BG is gradually going up.( the second low BG might have been from the seizure?)
He's been wanting higher carbs lately. I tried "many" low carb food including his raw diet & he refused to eat. I gave him some 13% carbs & he ate every last bit.
Not sure what's up with that but as long as he's eating I figure it's better than not.

He has good days, even playing a bit but most of the time he sleeps. He's even started fighting me about being tested. He hides. I'm trying to do the least possible to keep him happy.

With his BG being in the upper 100's I think if I lower his dose to .25 he'll go over 200. I do slight a adjustments with calipers & if he starts getting into green again I'll be careful.

Thank you for checking on us :).
Thanks for the explanation. I agree with Sienne but it still concerns me especially because he’s not wanting to be tested as much. What if, on 2/3, you hadn’t caught that BG or it had been just a little lower? I honestly don’t know if him having seizures for another issue can put him more prone to having one if his BG just gets a bit lower than it should.
 
note something like "custom dosing -- do not copy"

still concerns me especially because he’s not wanting to be tested as much

Sienne, I'll put that in the notes on his spread sheet. Thank you.

Marje, I'm trying to take one day at a time. I spend a lot of time crying because I realize with all Ravan has going on he might not be with me much longer.
I get up several times during the night. If he's up I will test him but more often he's sleeping so deeply he doesn't even wake up when I touch him. I've even tested him when he's sleeping at the top of the stairs.
He'll glance at me & fall back asleep. I am being careful.

Do you have any thoughts about why he's wanting higher carbs?

Also I'm "occasionally" having problems with the SS 1/20 +6 the box & #
and 2/5 the space for notes I can't correct?
 
Last edited:
Do you have any thoughts about why he's wanting higher carbs
I don’t really unless there is something in the food ingredients, more than the carbs, that he prefers.

I’ll be on my computer a little later and check his SS. If I still have editing rights, I can fix the 1/20 +6 box. Is the BG of 424 correct? Can you please tell me more about the 2/5 space for notes? You mean the Remarks? What is the specific issue?

I’ll send you a PM to see if I have editing rights.
 
Is the BG of 424 correct?
tell me more about the 2/5 space for notes?

Yes the 424 is correct but you can see the color is off & the # is not centered. The space for remarks was colored gray & I couldn't fix it but I just checked now & it's OK ?
I have weird things like this happen every once in a while. One of the people on the forum corrected a few things but she didn't know what caused them.

Thanks for your help.
 
I don’t really unless there is something in the food ingredients, more than the carbs, that he prefers.

I’ll be on my computer a little later and check his SS. If I still have editing rights, I can fix the 1/20 +6 box. Is the BG of 424 correct? Can you please tell me more about the 2/5 space for notes? You mean the Remarks? What is the specific issue?

I’ll send you a PM to see if I have editing rights.

I don't see "file Share" on the SS?
 
using a desktop, “file” is in the upper left of the tool bar.

I'm on a desktop. I just discovered the little arrow pointing up on the top right side. I clicked on it & the menu popped up!

I've never had a job working with a computer. This is my first experience with a spread sheet. I'm still learning how to do things :woot::woot::woot::p

See you can teach an old dog new tricks!!:D
 
Last edited by a moderator:
I'm on a desktop. I just discovered the little arrow pointing up on the top right side. I clicked on it & the menu popped up!

I've never had a job working with a computer. This is my first experience with a spread sheet. I'm still learning how to do things :woot::woot::woot::p

See you can teach an old dog new tricks!!:D
Great job!
 
Back
Top