2/7 - Trixie - AMPS 236, +2 216, +4 198, +7 187, PMPS 178, +2 142

Hi Kat, you could try going up to 1.25 units since you’ve held this dose for 13 days to see if you can get a little lower.

Have a safe night!
:bighug::cat::bighug:
Hi Staci!! Thank you, that is what I am wanting to do but wasn’t sure how many days I had to wait without her getting a nadir between 90 and 150.

Today is day 2 of no nadir under 150 so was hoping someone would recommend that I can safely increase her dose to 1.25u.

:bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Laurie, thank you. She has been doing pretty well so far and wanting to keep that momentum going.

Looks like Petey has had great couple of days! :cool:
 
Hi Staci!! Thank you, that is what I am wanting to do but wasn’t sure how many days I had to wait without her getting a nadir between 90 and 150.

Today is day 2 of no nadir under 150 so was hoping someone would recommend that I can safely increase her dose to 1.25u.

:bighug::bighug:
Your goal with SLGS is to have nadirs in the 90 to 149 range (as much as possible)

If they drop below 90, you would reduce immediately.
 
One of the potential complications is that you’ve just recently stopped feeding dry, and generally speaking with SLGS it is suggested if you decide to change other factors you’d not increase dose until the change is complete. Unfortunately, it’s difficult to determine how long the effects of dry food remains in the system.

As you’ve noted, Kat, following SLGS, the dose was getting nadirs in the right range, which warranted continuing to hold the dose but over the last couple of days, nadirs do seem to be creeping up. If you can continue to monitor closely, you can bump her up to 1.25u.
 
Thank you Christie, I thought that removing her dry food would have the opposite effect than what I’m seeing and I don’t want to put Trixie in any danger by increasing too soon.

How many days should I wait if I don’t see nadirs between 90 and 150? Should I wait a few more days?
 
How many days should I wait if I don’t see nadirs between 90 and 150? Should I wait a few more days?
I think you have room to increase. While we say nadirs between 90-149 with SLGS, you want more than the stray nadir in that range. She is seeing lovely flat cycles for a newly diagnosed cat and you want her spending as much time in that range as possible. You are also testing more than enough for SLGS. In fact, with the removal of dry food, you could even try TR. That could help her get regulated sooner and maybe even into remission (paws crossed) - not that cats haven't gone into remission with SLGS. But TR will give you more flexibility with dose changes and help her spend more time in healing greens.
 
It’s a bit of a toss up, since you already reduced the amount of dry and she was only getting a little. That’s one of the reasons dry food is problematic, it’s a variable that is difficult to know how long effects last and so it’s out of your control. With SLGS you hold a dose a minimum of 7 days depending on the nadirs. Based on how things are going with the last few nadirs that were under 150 a few days ago, and since you’ve held the dose already more than 7 days, if it were me, I’d bump her up tomorrow and see how she does.
 
One other thing to think about, Kat, with your autofeeder is perhaps not giving her a snack at +9. I think I mentioned this to you before, but for many cats, and depending on how carb sensitive they are, feeding after nadir can put the brakes on whatever duration that dose has left. I would try feeding up to +6 and see if that helps.
 
I think you have room to increase. While we say nadirs between 90-149 with SLGS, you want more than the stray nadir in that range. She is seeing lovely flat cycles for a newly diagnosed cat and you want her spending as much time in that range as possible. You are also testing more than enough for SLGS. In fact, with the removal of dry food, you could even try TR. That could help her get regulated sooner and maybe even into remission (paws crossed) - not that cats haven't gone into remission with SLGS. But TR will give you more flexibility with dose changes and help her spend more time in healing greens.

Thank you Booma! I will bump her up tomorrow to 1.25u and hope to get her closer to those healing numbers. :bighug:
 
One other thing to think about, Kat, with your autofeeder is perhaps not giving her a snack at +9. I think I mentioned this to you before, but for many cats, and depending on how carb sensitive they are, feeding after nadir can put the brakes on whatever duration that dose has left. I would try feeding up to +6 and see if that

You did mention this to me and I did try it but she was waking me up at 4am looking for food. I made the selfish decision to give her a later small snack of 0-2% carb to keep her happy and let me sleep. If I don't see much improvement with the increase to 1.25u, I'll go back to not offering her the later snack.

Really appreciate your support! :bighug:
 
Back
Top