2/8 Mia AMPS 338 +2 275 +4 97 +6 92

MonicaT

Active Member
Previous:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...3-5-41-4-63-5-50-6-121-pmps-481-2-367.298141/


So Mia is done with yesterdays bounce it seems like, and is already down in greens at +4 this morning :)

However I am wondering what to do for the pm cycle as we aren't going to be home to monitor her. Seeing she is down to 97 when she started at 338 this morning, I'm worried she might drop too low during her pm cycle and we won't be here to catch it.

We'll be back for between +4 and +5 during her pm cycle. Would it be stupid of us to reduce her pm shot by just a bit? Would I risk ruining the good thing she has going right now?
 
Seeing she is down to 97 when she started at 338 this morning

Good morning Monica and Mia! Glad Mia is out of her bounce.

I'm not qualified to answer your question but I did notice that's a pretty steep drop from 338 to 97. :woot: Do you feed any snacks at +2 or +3 to slow the slide?
 
Good morning Monica and Mia! Glad Mia is out of her bounce.

I'm not qualified to answer your question but I did notice that's a pretty steep drop from 338 to 97. :woot: Do you feed any snacks at +2 or +3 to slow the slide?
@Laurie&Petey hi! No worries, hopefully an admin will see it before her pm cycle!

Yes that was definitely a big drop! She did eat 30 grams at +2 and another 10 grams at +3 of her regular low carb wet food that's 3% carb. So didn't seem to help avoiding that big drop :(
 
Indeed that does seem like a big drop. Do you have any higher end LC you can feed? For me, Cleo gives more dramatic cycles when her preshot is higher than when she starts in blues/green :rolleyes:.
When she gives me a higher preshot, I tend to feed her a slightly higher but still LC food.
Even if you reduce the dose, the depot can influence the first half of the cycle.
See where she is closer to shot time and post again. :cat:
 
Indeed that does seem like a big drop. Do you have any higher end LC you can feed? For me, Cleo gives more dramatic cycles when her preshot is higher than when she starts in blues/green :rolleyes:.
When she gives me a higher preshot, I tend to feed her a slightly higher but still LC food.
Even if you reduce the dose, the depot can influence the first half of the cycle.
See where she is closer to shot time and post again. :cat:
@Angela & Cleo Yes I have some that is 4% and some that is 8%. Would you feed higher carb low carb throughout the cycle or just for the meal she gets with the insulin?

I usually feed around 40-50 grams with the insulin, then 40 grams again at +2 and 20 grams twice after that and withhold food after +6
 
I see that she's leveled out nicely!
I tend to let the numbers be my guide as to when to feed the higher end LC. In today's example, I may have switched to slightly higher end LC at the +1 or +2 snack, just a tsp or two. The purpose/goal would be to slow the steep drop. Steep drops are one of the triggers of bouncing.
Here is a link about feeding the curve which might help.
 
I see that she's leveled out nicely!
I tend to let the numbers be my guide as to when to feed the higher end LC. In today's example, I may have switched to slightly higher end LC at the +1 or +2 snack, just a tsp or two. The purpose/goal would be to slow the steep drop. Steep drops are one of the triggers of bouncing.
Here is a link about feeding the curve which might help.
@Angela & Cleo yes we had tried out feeding the curve according to advice on here before Christmas where she was in green and blue numbers, but struggling with steep drops. But never got the hang of it and felt like it wasn't really working

But will give it another shot now that she is back in nicer numbers :)
 
Back
Top