2/9 Shadoe pmps 351 +4 319 7.5u cycle1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Very Active Member
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday's recap:
324 - amps
326 -+2
317 - +4
329 - +6
365 - +10
409 - pmps
358 - +2
292 - +4
256 - +6
284 - +7
412 - today's amps

:YMSIGH: And so begins another day in the reds.

This morning, Shadoe was sleeping with me which she has not been doing for awhile. I don't know if that is good or bad anymore. Maybe she wanted to know when I got up because she was anxious for her shot due to the high number, or not; she did jump up with me and then proceed to go under the test spot. I just went about my morning business till she came out and then rattling the pure snacks bag seemed to be the clincher to get her up to test and shoot.

I really wonder about how come her cycles seem to end abruptly. She drops nicely, surfs a bit, then ZOOM up to reds. It's like she runs outta gas, so then I think 'what about that lousy shed? We need a bigger shed?'
Seriously, where's the shed when we need some?

Anyways, Shadoe is dozing now, test/shot done, piddle done, and food is in the feeder for the day. She does not seem too enthused about the beef/liver soupy slop for breakfast, but she has obviously mistaken me for my usual cater to Mz. Picky Fusspot. I think the fresh roast chicken last nite spoiled her :lol:

That's it for now. This shot was cycle 6, so we are heading up to 7.5u on tonite's shot. If anyone has reasons to hold the current 7u, please let me know. Otherwise, it's up, up, and away we go tonite.

ps. it's really freaky weird to be shooting such a large amount. If anyone wonders how it feels, just fill a used syringe to the 7u mark and shoot the water into the sink. It's seeming like you are pressing down forEVER :YMSIGH: UGH.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412

linda and bear mentioned the split dose the other day. some cats are on such high doses that they don't fit in one syringe so they need two. but for others splitting the dose between two syringes seems to create more overlap for them and make the dose more effective, even if they don't really need to do it in order to get the full dose into the cat.

you might want to try a split dose sometime when you'll be around all day to monitor. it might make a difference for you. cleo's on a much smaller dose but it works for her, too (normally it's when i accidentally shoot too much insulin out of a syringe and don't want to reinsert it or waste it, so i just put the extra amount needed into a 2nd syringe).

i think because you are seeing a good response with the higher dose increments (just not all the time), you may not feel the need for the split dose yet. you might want to try it on a cycle you expect to be high and flat, tho. keep it in mind, anyway. maybe you'll want to discuss it with jill or one of the higher dosers.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412

Thanks Chris, that's definitely something to consider. I would need to know if a difference is realized with some time between the partial shots, and also how much in each syringe.

I am not losing sight of the fact that we have had Shadoe tested yet, I have to go back to the vet and see how her enquires have gone into sending draws to MSU for the IAA and IGF-1 tests. If those come back positive, the results most likely would affect how we continue with Shadoe's tx.

FYI.
I did take a +1 when out the door for tbp; 418. i just wanted to see if there was any response at all to the dose before I left as we are going to increase the dose tonite. It's really weird but reassuring that Shadoe's numbers were still rising at +1, but Shadoe was acting relieved and rolling around back and forth on the livingroom rug, happy to know that she would be feeling better soon - that's my guess.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412

Come on Shadoe, let's see some action here...these reds are totally unacceptable! grr_red But you're right, you haven't had the test results back yet and there could be an explanation there for Shadoe's resistance...maybe she's not just being stubborn! grumpy_cat Keep on truckin'! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412

I'd like to see what the experienced eyes have to say on this, is the possibility of holding the dose for 10 cycles an option?
Not all kitties get it by 6, I am really curious about that.
I'll check back later.


hope ur feeling better today Gayle
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412

Hey Gayle
Well I know the red is not pleasing you but yesterday was a very nice change for Shadoe
and she is not used to that.
Also, you saw what Max's AMPS was this morning and he also went up at +1, so who knows.
Breakfast??
No way of getting any other morning checks for her today? I would so love to know where she is headed. You really need to teach Booboo to handle that meter.
Hugs for some answers.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412

Wow. And I thought Magnolia was on a high dose. I can understand how you are using up all of your patience, but it really does appear that Shadoe is making some progress! I hope you hear good things from the vet.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412

ronnie, problem is that shadoe tends to overcome a dose so it doesn't pay to sit on it for that long right now. [we've already gotten input from some high dosers on this for gayle.] we're seeing some strides but still room for improvement. by the 3rd day we're starting to see more flatness with shadoe still. remember, too, that with tilly we can always start shaving a dose if we're seeing too strong a response.

yep, was wondering about IGF-1 and IAA. realize it probably takes time to get all-systems go on those tests.

[oops, actually came here to talk more about the split dose. yes, some people shoot the 2nd shot some time away from the first. others just shoot two different locations at around the same time, splitting the dose that way. that's what i was proposing, actually. could be right near each other -- not necessarily in two different parts of the body.]
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412

Hey Chris,
There has been one thing in the back of my mind that has been bugging me.
What does body content have to do with anything? As in body fat and muscle?

I have referred to Shadoe as my football kitty in the past and for a good reason:
She is SOLID.
There is very little FAT on her. Even the vets and all the techs at the animal hospital where we go keep saying Boy she is Solid!! She reminds me of a pregnant human - how the stomach, well entire mid section is very firm. She may not look large, so that's why the techs were surprised.

I wondered how insulin plays out when you look into body makeup of the feline.
If you looked at a 11lb small muscular cat and then a larger quite fat 11lb cat.
maybe it does not factor in at all with the absorption, etc, but I have have been wondering about it.

About the split shots, I would be willing to try say some in the scruff and some in the side - that is a thought but I would really want to have some input from those can see past this idea to the results and effects.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412 pmps 351 7.5u cycle1

Moved up to 7.5u this shot; will see what results come of this increase.

Shadoe seems fine; she was asleep in bed when I got home, and conveniently got up in time for pmps.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412 pmps 351 7.5u cycle1

Gayle, what can I say...
Good luck with the 7.5 , I know, I know

Stupid question of the day but if Shadoe is so solid, firm, muscular, you don't have a problem picking up enough skin to shoot in that yummy part?
Now I have no condfidence in my shooting techniques and always question if I did it well,
but I am just wondering...
 
Re: 2/9 Shadoe amps 412 pmps 351 7.5u cycle1

I wondered how insulin plays out when you look into body makeup of the feline.
If you looked at a 11lb small muscular cat and then a larger quite fat 11lb cat.
maybe it does not factor in at all with the absorption, etc, but I have have been wondering about it.

i like your thoughts...wonder if there is any data to give you answers.

paws crossed this dose shows some serious action.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top