20-Mar Maverick AMPS 250, +5.5 218

Christie & Maverick

Very Active Member
Previous

Thanks everyone who provided support and good thoughts last week, I appreciate it.

@JL and Chip very kind of you to check in, I must have done something when I upgraded the app on my iPad, and in the midst of lack of sleep. It should be ok now, sorry that I worried you :bighug:. I’m seeing some improvements and stability on the food selection (touch wood) which is always a relief, it helps me mentally when I’m not constantly opening food to see what he might like, and ending up throwing it away. Finding food that is low phosphorus that he will eat is a challenge, as is getting what I need for phosphorus binder. Progress at least in getting subqs for home now and Mirtaz if he needs it, and perhaps too the Cobalequin is helping, even though I asked for injectable B12 (and didn’t get it). Not sure what the reluctance is or was for giving me the things I am asking for, but I’m not going to go into that, since it serves no purpose.

At this point, I am focusing on Maverick, giving him lots of love and attention, and thankfully we have seen more good days (touch wood again). I continue to be grateful for each and every moment, and am making the most to build on the good things. I have also chosen to ignore the God-awful lab work from last week. If the kidney values improve, great, but I don’t need to and won’t take him in anymore just to see it or not as the case may be.

The diabetes part of this scenario is lack lustre, but cannot be helped much at this point either. Numbers that I would have readily shot without a second thought have now given me a great deal of anxiety, since the patterns I used to know no longer exist. Any one who has seen numbers in the 20s would likely understand my fear.

Maverick is currently happy up in his lemon tree, and I’m okay with that.

upload_2025-3-20_6-51-20.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-20_6-51-20.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-20_6-51-20.jpeg
    8 KB · Views: 63
Hi Christie, I don't know much about Maverick
I assume he has CKD . Reading your post from yesterday my heart goes out to you. I hope there are many more sunsets together. Tyler's brother Perry had CKD and I had to let him go 4 years ago at age 7. I did everything I could for him binder, fluids, low phosphorus food
It's such a terrible disease. My heart goes out to you and sending lots of hugs to you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
and prayers for Mav. Please give him lots of kisses for me ❤️
 
Last edited:
My heart swells as I read that he has seen more good days than bad (I'm also knocking on wood!). I've been down the same road; he is so blessed to have you. Treasure the time and enjoy every moment as you have been. Sending you and Mav the biggest of hugs. :bighug::bighug:
 
Continuing to send lots and lots of healing vines.
Thinking of you and your sweet Maverick
:bighug::bighug::bighug:


upload_2025-3-20_12-23-26.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-20_12-23-26.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-20_12-23-26.jpeg
    51.3 KB · Views: 67
I'm cheering for any tiny improvements you see. :bighug:. I think you are so right to treat the cat, and not just his numbers. Keep on keeping on Mav. :bighug:

Thank goodness Mav is on Levemir, it makes those low preshots just a bit easier with the later nadir. But I can relate to wanting to do reduced doses.
 
Hi Christie, I don't know much about Maverick
I assume he has CKD . Reading your post from yesterday my heart goes out to you. I hope there are many more sunsets together. Tyler's brother Perry had CKD and I had to let him go 4 years ago at age 7. I did everything I could for him binder, fluids, low phosphorus food
It's such a terrible disease. My heart goes out to you and sending lots of hugs to you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
and prayers for Mav. Please give him lots of kisses for me ❤️
Thank you, Diane. I remember when you were going through CKD with Perry, it is very hard. And sadly, I’ve also done the CKD thing with two cats previously so it’s by no means any easier the third time around, add to that other complications. Maverick thanks you for the extra kisses :)
 
My heart swells as I read that he has seen more good days than bad (I'm also knocking on wood!). I've been down the same road; he is so blessed to have you. Treasure the time and enjoy every moment as you have been. Sending you and Mav the biggest of hugs. :bighug::bighug:
Hi Kat- I’m sorry I’ve not been around to check on you and Trixie :bighug:. Thank you, I’m doing my best for him, although some days I feel like a failure. But he still loves me all the same.
 
I'm cheering for any tiny improvements you see. :bighug:. I think you are so right to treat the cat, and not just his numbers. Keep on keeping on Mav. :bighug:

Thank goodness Mav is on Levemir, it makes those low preshots just a bit easier with the later nadir. But I can relate to wanting to do reduced doses.
Well, you know me, I’m always trying to find the silver lining, and doing my best to channel my inner Wendy when I doubt myself. :bighug:. But lower preshots after bounce break and when his appy is off, and MC food that doesn’t prop him up, I’m not liking at all anymore.

The Boreal food I found and have been feeding this past week is apparently low carb and low phosphorus; I haven’t had a chance to confirm with them the ME values. Based on his BG when he’s been eating it, I would say very low carb, at least as he metabolizes it, less than 5% for sure.
 
Thanks, Wendy, wasn’t sure how accurate that old chart is, I know the PC foods are no longer available. The Boreal website does comment for some varieties that they are new formulations and their food contains what the manufacturer considers “low glycemic” ingredients like beans and peas.
 
I'm glad you're seeing some good days. I hope you have many more and can make the most of your time with Mav. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Can you get Weruva brand in Canada? They have a low phosphorus section which is very good.
Hi Bron, that was one of the first on my list, but sadly there was zero interest in the specifically branded low phosphorus. I still have some Chicken Frickazee which is on the lower end of phosphorus and he did eat a while back, then promptly decided no bueno. That may go into the rotation again. It’s sad to waste so much food, but at least it goes to compost.
 
Christie, I missed your previous post, but I've been watching Mav's spreadsheet and thinking of you. I'm so sorry. You have helped cheer me up so many times here, I really appreciate you. Your positivity and encouragement means a lot here. Sending so many vines for Mav.
 
Last edited:
Hi Bron, that was one of the first on my list, but sadly there was zero interest in the specifically branded low phosphorus. I still have some Chicken Frickazee which is on the lower end of phosphorus and he did eat a while back, then promptly decided no bueno. That may go into the rotation again. It’s sad to waste so much food, but at least it goes to compost.
It’s very frustrating trying to find food for them to eat!
 
Christie, I missed you're previous post, but I've been watching Mav's spreadsheet and thinking of you. I'm so sorry. You have helped cheer me up so many times here, I really appreciate you. Your positivity and encouragement means a lot here. Sending so many vines for Mav.
Thank you, Seth, what a kind and thoughtful thing to say :). I’m so very glad I have been able to be a positive help to you and Bell, that truly means a great deal to me. I’m sorry I haven’t been able to be around as much :bighug:
 
Back
Top