3/05 Baby G AMPS 278 PMPS 297 +8 149!! +9 143 +10 127! +11 115

I ran some errands this morning and when I came back, found she pooped a solid turd on the floor plus peed! Checked glucose right away. 272. Every once in a while she might pee outside her box and I've had her to the vets before about it and all they could determine is that it's behavioral. Not sure what she's upset about. :mad:
 
Not to my knowledge. She has 2 litterboxes and 1 of them was literally just a few feet from where she peed.
 
Tonight I was thinking of upping the Dr Elsey's to 75%. My dad was wondering if the food change caused her accident, but I'm thinking it shouldn't have because 1) she's had accidents before in the past, 2) her poop is solid, and 3) she hasn't thrown up. But like yesterday, she hasn't eaten as much wet food today, but then she always has been kind of on and off about wet food anyway. Maybe now she's turning off to it again. Not sure if she's feeling herself, either.

A question I have about the food is how healthy grain-free is for the heart? Seeing some articles online saying it's bad and some saying it's fine.

Also, with her numbers being what they are and the food change going the way it's been, do you guys still recommend waiting out the full 7 days on SLGS or switching back again to TR? She's only got 2 more days if SLGS, but wanted to be sure.

Thanks!

BTW, I saw these catnip-infused bubbles you can blow out of a wand, made just for cats, and thought we just had to try it out because she loves catnip. Can you believe she's a scaredy cat of bubbles? She hissed at them lol. :facepalm::p Silly girl. So no bubbles for us!
 
Tonight I was thinking of upping the Dr Elsey's to 75%. My dad was wondering if the food change caused her accident, but I'm thinking it shouldn't have because 1) she's had accidents before in the past, 2) her poop is solid, and 3) she hasn't thrown up. But like yesterday, she hasn't eaten as much wet food today, but then she always has been kind of on and off about wet food anyway. Maybe now she's turning off to it again. Not sure if she's feeling herself, either.
I was thinking the same thing - that you could go to 75% since her poop is solid.

A question I have about the food is how healthy grain-free is for the heart? Seeing some articles online saying it's bad and some saying it's fine.
Cats are obligate carnivores. Have you seen Dr. Lisa Pierson's website?
www.catinfo.org

Also, with her numbers being what they are and the food change going the way it's been, do you guys still recommend waiting out the full 7 days on SLGS or switching back again to TR? She's only got 2 more days if SLGS, but wanted to be sure.
For TR, you need to feed only canned food. No dry. For cats with ketones or a history of DKA, we sometimes fasttrack increases in SLGS to get them to a good dose sooner so they aren't hanging around in high numbers.

BTW, I saw these catnip-infused bubbles you can blow out of a wand, made just for cats, and thought we just had to try it out because she loves catnip. Can you believe she's a scaredy cat of bubbles? She hissed at them lol. :facepalm::p Silly girl. So no bubbles for us!
LOL. Sounds like Bandit. :joyful:
 
Almost slept past alarms again (I've been super exhausted and can't seem to catch up on sleep), but got up to get this +8 and we have a blue!! Only thing is it seemingly came out of nowhere so not going to lie...it makes me a bit nervous. Of course if she's going to drop, it's going to happen when I go back to work. :rolleyes: I'm just concerned if it were much lower earlier in the night or not. I'm going to retest in an hour (praying I wake back up). Definitely will need to come home for lunch tomorrow.
 
Also, not going to lie... normally, before, if I were to see a number below 180 (especially below 150), I would reduce so we have a cushion. I've not been very comfortable with anything below 150 since I work and she throws me curveballs now and then, probably due to the pancreatitis. What do you guys think.
 
I've noticed too that usually if her ears feel cold, her numbers are lower. I wonder why that is. I'll have to read up more on that. Do your cats do that?
 
Ok and now we have a bit of diarrhea. She just went and it was a bit formed but runny too.
 
Also, not going to lie... normally, before, if I were to see a number below 180 (especially below 150), I would reduce so we have a cushion. I've not been very comfortable with anything below 150 since I work and she throws me curveballs now and then, probably due to the pancreatitis. What do you guys think.
Even with SLGS which is a more conservative dosing method, reductions are earned below 90. With a history of DKA you want her to spend time in lower numbers. You risk glucose toxicity by reducing when she hasn't earned a reduction. You are testing enough to keep her safe.

I've noticed too that usually if her ears feel cold, her numbers are lower. I wonder why that is. I'll have to read up more on that. Do your cats do that?
When Bandit's numbers are really low and I mean below 50 or 60, then I find it harder to get blood for tests. Not in the 100s and above.
 
I'm trying to not let fear take over and revert back to my prior inclinations. I had a nightmare about a few days ago that she had a hypo and died. Just have this heightened fear of those, always have. But I hate when I "sabotage" her when she is finally getting decent numbers and I take them away. It's like there's always something to worry about with diabetes... on one end of the spectrum: hypo and death, and on the other end DKA and death (though hypo faster/deadlier). It really sucks.
 
I've decided to stay up for the next test because I don't trust myself to wake up lol but I really want to see what direction she's headed in. I literally set 3 different clocks but that doesn't necessarily guarantee to work. :banghead:
 
I'm trying to not let fear take over and revert back to my prior inclinations. I had a nightmare about a few days ago that she had a hypo and died. Just have this heightened fear of those, always have. But I hate when I "sabotage" her when she is finally getting decent numbers and I take them away. It's like there's always something to worry about with diabetes... on one end of the spectrum: hypo and death, and on the other end DKA and death (though hypo faster/deadlier). It really sucks.
All of us have been petrified of lower numbers when we first encounter them, but once you get used to them they are addictive.

I've decided to stay up for the next test because I don't trust myself to wake up lol but I really want to see what direction she's headed in. I literally set 3 different clocks but that doesn't necessarily guarantee to work. :banghead:
It's late in the cycle and she is in pretty safe numbers. The best way is to keep the alarm across the room so you are forced to get out of bed to turn it off. LOL.
 
Seems like she's hanging around the 140s.

It's late in the cycle and she is in pretty safe numbers. The best way is to keep the alarm across the room so you are forced to get out of bed to turn it off. LOL.
Usually my problem is I just don't "hear" the alarms at all to turn off. They could be right next to my head, going off and going off and I'm just snoozing away.
 
She's dropping more. She also wanted up on the bed by me too which she usually doesnt do unless she's not feeling right.
 
Give her a little food. Lower numbers might feel a little strange to cats because they aren't used to them. Once they get used to lower numbers they love. She is still over normal numbers.
 
Here's an example of why I get nervous to let her get too low. If you look back at July and August of 2022, she was on 3.5 units, chugging on along, an occasional blue but nothing crazy. Then all the sudden, out of nowhere, she had an AMPS of 129. I worry if she'll suddenly plummet. She throws curveballs. What do you guys make of that when that happened?
 
She's still going down. Only an hour to shot time. I don't think I can give her the full dose if she's low like that for a preshot.
 
Back
Top