3/1 Oregano AMPS 273 +2 215 +5 194 PMPS 165 Dose advice pls

wade

Member
Hi all, I am hoping to get some suggestions re dose here… oregano had multiple drops down to the 50’s starting yesterday afternoon. I was able to get her back into the low to mid 100’s over a period of about two hours with crunchies but it was pretty scary. I reduced her pm dosage down from 3.25 to 2.5 last night. She stayed pretty good all day so I repeated the 2.5 (instead of 3.25) dosage again tonight. Currently it is pm dose +3 and she’s crashing again. Her sensor went off at 80 and crunchies got her up to 92, then a twenty minutes later up to 214. Then over the next ten minutes it dropped to 200 then 184 and seems to be going back down again.

Am I still giving her too much insulin? And if so, is it ok to reduce by .5 or more or does it have to be slower/more gradual? Any reason why she’d be dropping so aggressively since yesterday? She has been eating very well at mealtime so I don’t think it’s that.

thank you in advance for any guidance.
 
Hi all, I am hoping to get some suggestions re dose here… oregano had multiple drops down to the 50’s starting yesterday afternoon. I was able to get her back into the low to mid 100’s over a period of about two hours with crunchies but it was pretty scary. I reduced her pm dosage down from 3.25 to 2.5 last night. She stayed pretty good all day so I repeated the 2.5 (instead of 3.25) dosage again tonight. Currently it is pm dose +3 and she’s crashing again. Her sensor went off at 80 and crunchies got her up to 92, then a twenty minutes later up to 214. Then over the next ten minutes it dropped to 200 then 184 and seems to be going back down again.

Am I still giving her too much insulin? And if so, is it ok to reduce by .5 or more or does it have to be slower/more gradual? Any reason why she’d be dropping so aggressively since yesterday? She has been eating very well at mealtime so I don’t think it’s that.

thank you in advance for any guidance.
Hi Wade

I’m sorry no one got to you yesterday. Usually the only people on the board that late are ones staying up with their kitties working low numbers or helping others to work low numbers. We always tend to triage posts. It will be very helpful for those helping you if you could post your subject line as we require in this insulin support group. You can find that information HERE. I have fixed it for this post but going forward, you’ll know how to do it. We also link from the previous thread and that info is in the link.

I’m not sure why you lowered her dose last night as she didn’t earn a reduction. Sometimes members might shoot a one time lower dose but, honestly, that is not for your kitty. Because of the lantus depot, her cycle would be pretty much the same as if you had shot the 2.75u. Even if we have to skip a shot, we advise members to test for a bit to make sure the BG stays safely up because it takes most of the cycle for the depot to deplete a little bit.

You will make the best progress with her if you don’t guess at when to reduce or increase her dose but follow one of the dosing methods we’ve used here very successfully for decades. Because she is still getting her crunchies, you can only use Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) until you have her consistently on only canned or balanced raw food. Under SLGS, once you increase the dose, you would hold it for 7 days and then reassess unless she drops below 90 at any time. Then you would decrease by 0.25u. The major reasons we would generally raise by 0.5u is if the kitty is in BGs above 300 or if it is a high dose kitty (above 6u bid). Likewise, we don’t typically lower by 0.5u unless the kitty suddenly decides to quickly come down the dosing ladder by earning one reduction after another. Quite frequently, we address that situation based on the cat and what the cycles look like.

One thing I see that is likely causing your concerns is dose-hopping. In less than a week, you’ve gone from 2.5 t0 3 to 2.75 to 3.25 back to 2.75 and back to 2.5. That is not how to work Lantus. It works much better when you are very consistent in your dosing unless she drops below 90. Depots from a higher dose “can” take up to six cycles to stop affecting the next lower dose so you can see how changing her dose so often is really messing with her depot and making it difficult to determine what dose she really needs. I can’t see what dose you shot this morning as the SS has not been completed for your tests today. It’s hard to tell if the 73 and 58 from 2/28 were caused by the 3.25u but that would be extremely likely.

My suggestion is you stick with 2.75u for 7 days unless she drops below 90. If she drops below 90, reduce to 2.5u and hold that dose another 7 days unless she drops below 90 again. After each 7 days, we reassess and look at nadirs and determine if the dose needs to go up or down.

If you get her off all dry food and want to try the Tight Regulation Protocol (TRP), also linked above), let us know. You’ll want to read through it first as it is a more aggressive approach and may not be the best for you or her considering her issues. But....you know her best and as long as someone can be there to respond to lower numbers (we don’t reduce on TR until the BG drops below 50), then SLGS might be a better fit.

Also, we’ve had many members use the FS Libre and it typically runs lower than the handhelds that most use. That means you might be taking reductions when she potentially has not earned them. But using a handheld means you have to learn how to poke her ear, often several times a day if the BG is lower.

Let me know if you have any other questions and welcome to the group!
 
Hi Wade

I’m sorry no one got to you yesterday. Usually the only people on the board that late are ones staying up with their kitties working low numbers or helping others to work low numbers. We always tend to triage posts. It will be very helpful for those helping you if you could post your subject line as we require in this insulin support group. You can find that information HERE. I have fixed it for this post but going forward, you’ll know how to do it. We also link from the previous thread and that info is in the link.

I’m not sure why you lowered her dose last night as she didn’t earn a reduction. Sometimes members might shoot a one time lower dose but, honestly, that is not for your kitty. Because of the lantus depot, her cycle would be pretty much the same as if you had shot the 2.75u. Even if we have to skip a shot, we advise members to test for a bit to make sure the BG stays safely up because it takes most of the cycle for the depot to deplete a little bit.

You will make the best progress with her if you don’t guess at when to reduce or increase her dose but follow one of the dosing methods we’ve used here very successfully for decades. Because she is still getting her crunchies, you can only use Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) until you have her consistently on only canned or balanced raw food. Under SLGS, once you increase the dose, you would hold it for 7 days and then reassess unless she drops below 90 at any time. Then you would decrease by 0.25u. The major reasons we would generally raise by 0.5u is if the kitty is in BGs above 300 or if it is a high dose kitty (above 6u bid). Likewise, we don’t typically lower by 0.5u unless the kitty suddenly decides to quickly come down the dosing ladder by earning one reduction after another. Quite frequently, we address that situation based on the cat and what the cycles look like.

One thing I see that is likely causing your concerns is dose-hopping. In less than a week, you’ve gone from 2.5 t0 3 to 2.75 to 3.25 back to 2.75 and back to 2.5. That is not how to work Lantus. It works much better when you are very consistent in your dosing unless she drops below 90. Depots from a higher dose “can” take up to six cycles to stop affecting the next lower dose so you can see how changing her dose so often is really messing with her depot and making it difficult to determine what dose she really needs. I can’t see what dose you shot this morning as the SS has not been completed for your tests today. It’s hard to tell if the 73 and 58 from 2/28 were caused by the 3.25u but that would be extremely likely.

My suggestion is you stick with 2.75u for 7 days unless she drops below 90. If she drops below 90, reduce to 2.5u and hold that dose another 7 days unless she drops below 90 again. After each 7 days, we reassess and look at nadirs and determine if the dose needs to go up or down.

If you get her off all dry food and want to try the Tight Regulation Protocol (TRP), also linked above), let us know. You’ll want to read through it first as it is a more aggressive approach and may not be the best for you or her considering her issues. But....you know her best and as long as someone can be there to respond to lower numbers (we don’t reduce on TR until the BG drops below 50), then SLGS might be a better fit.

Also, we’ve had many members use the FS Libre and it typically runs lower than the handhelds that most use. That means you might be taking reductions when she potentially has not earned them. But using a handheld means you have to learn how to poke her ear, often several times a day if the BG is lower.

Let me know if you have any other questions and welcome to the group!

ok. I misunderstood the “earning” of reductions then. I was thinking it meant if the kitty hit under 90 at any point during the day to reduce by .25.

my misunderstanding coupled with her just not eating near as much food now that we are moving her to soft vs crunchies led me to think I needed to lower her insulin. I appreciate your pointing it out. I definitely don’t want to do this wrong.

given that she got 1 unit yesterday am and 2 yesterday pm (stayed in mid 100’s virtually all day and had the single best day numbers-wise since diagnosis) does your recommendation to move her up to 2.75 stand or should I increase from 1 to 2.75 slowly (.25/day holding each dose for seven days as we increase?)

thank you again for all of your help.
 
ok. I misunderstood the “earning” of reductions then. I was thinking it meant if the kitty hit under 90 at any point during the day to reduce by .25.
Yes correct but if drops below 90 in the a.m. and then again in the p.m., you would only reduce once. Does that make sense? Until you get used to when to take reductions if she drops below 90 frequently, just ask :)

If you are taking away the dry, then you should see a need to reduce the dose….again only when it drops below 90.

given that she got 1 unit yesterday am and 2 yesterday pm (stayed in mid 100’s virtually all day and had the single best day numbers-wise since diagnosis) does your recommendation to move her up to 2.75 stand or should I increase from 1 to 2.75 slowly (.25/day holding each dose for seven days as we increase?)
You can try 2.5u but I wouldn’t drop her back to 1u. Those lower numbers aren’t due to the 1u dose but one of the higher ones.

Keep posting and asking questions! She looks pretty good but she can look even better.
 
Any advice on dosage? Oregano has been back in the 300s and I suspect I have her insulin too low. Her eating has cut way back for no discernible reason. She seems to feel fine and is alert and happy and eager for mealtimes as ever. Just eating about half as much as she normally does which is what led to me reducing her dosage but I’m realizing I may have made an error there.
 
Back
Top