? 3/10 Dimi AMPS HI (libre) +2 HI +3 492 +7 313 +8 356

Bobbi Kraham

Member Since 2022
Hi, I'm Bobbi, and Dimi, my kitty, and I are new here. Dimi was diagnosed 2 months ago, and his BG has been all over the place. Yesterday he received 3 units of Lantus in the AM. Based on reading posts here, I withheld his kibble - Purina ProPlan DM - and he stayed within a healthy range for a good part of the day for the first time. I didn't give him a PM shot because his BG was 100 at shot time and then dropped to 56 a half hour later.

This morning he registered HI on the Libre, but based on his low BG yesterday, particularly at PM shot time, I was reluctant to give him 3 units again, so I gave 1.5 units this AM. He has been pretty high today, despite not getting kibble. I understand that low BG may be followed by a high "bounce." Given the above and his current BG of 356 at +8, I'm not sure how much to give him this PM. I'd greatly appreciate advice. Many thanks, Bobbi
 
Last edited:
I think it's too soon for her to really understand the differences between the dosing methods but she should read them and see if one makes more sense to her.

If able to test as much as necessary, I always suggest TR (Tight Regulation) because it allows you to increase as often as every 3 days if the dose you're giving isn't getting the results you want.

On SLGS, you have to hold the dose for a full 7 days and then run a curve (test every 2 hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18)....the problem is holding a dose longer and the day you do a curve only gives you a snapshot of that one cycle instead of a good all around picture of what's going on day to day.

All that being said, I'd suggest sticking with the 1.5 for now. The bounce can take up to 6 cycles to clear so you're not getting a good sense of what the 1.5 dose will do now that the kibble is out of the picture.
 
I think it's too soon for her to really understand the differences between the dosing methods but she should read them and see if one makes more sense to her.

If able to test as much as necessary, I always suggest TR (Tight Regulation) because it allows you to increase as often as every 3 days if the dose you're giving isn't getting the results you want.

On SLGS, you have to hold the dose for a full 7 days and then run a curve (test every 2 hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18)....the problem is holding a dose longer and the day you do a curve only gives you a snapshot of that one cycle instead of a good all around picture of what's going on day to day.

All that being said, I'd suggest sticking with the 1.5 for now. The bounce can take up to 6 cycles to clear so you're not getting a good sense of what the 1.5 dose will do now that the kibble is out of the picture.
Thanks again, Chris! I'll definitely read up on dosing methods. I'll give 1.5 tonight, and may stick here for a bit unless he's really doing poorly b/c I'm heading out of town Sun - Tues and will need to hand over responsibilities to my teen daughter and husband, neither of whom will be as obsessive about monitoring as I am.
 
I'll give 1.5 tonight, and may stick here for a bit unless he's really doing poorly b/c I'm heading out of town Sun - Tues and will need to hand over responsibilities to my teen daughter and husband, neither of whom will be as obsessive about monitoring as I am.

That's probably a good idea....cats are very obsessed with routine and having mom leave is a definite change in routine. They don't always eat as much so we usually recommend a lower dose anytime the main caretaker is gone
 
If you did, I didn't get it!....LOL

It all worked out and she knows she can usually find me on Facebook. I just don't have time to work with the FB group and keep up with everything going on here too.
Hi Chris I posted on your Facebook page and sent you a message on messenger, I'm glad you saw the tag.
I know you are crazy busy on FB .
I'm wondering if you aren't around who else I can tag for her
@Chris & China (GA)
 
Back
Top