3/10 Oliver PMPS 362, +1.25 345

Jennifer & Oliver

Member Since 2023
Oliver started getting snacks/small meals at +3 and +6 (If I am awake that late for night cycle) and a decrease of food at his "large meals". Instead of 4 ounces twice daily, he now gets 3 ounces twice daily, 1 ounce snacks at +3am/pm and then some freeze dried treats at +6 am/maybe pm. He is still ravenous. +PU/PD.
My husband and I are new to this and this forum and we are learning so much here. We are still deciding on dosing methods. We like the idea of TR but are nervous about sugars of 50-80. I'm thinking it wont be so scary once we get there. Oliver and I thank you!
 
Hello Jennifer and Oliver and welcome to the forum.

I know this all might feel overwhelming and scary at the moment but I promise it gets better and easier. I was scared of TR at the beginning of our diabetes journey but I did it and it got us into remission. This is our second time around and it's not as scary anymore. This group is a great support system and their members are full of knowledge and very helpful.

Also have you considered an automatic feeder for the snacks? Many of us have them so we don't have to be home/stay awake to feed our kitties. Purrrrhaps that's something you could also consider and look into.
upload_2024-3-10_12-31-2.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-10_12-31-2.png
    upload_2024-3-10_12-31-2.png
    280.4 KB · Views: 207
Green is scary at first. I won’t lie. Soon you get upset if you don’t see green. I was never fond of limes but once you see how food brings the bg up it’s not quite as scary to see them unless you wake up to a lime (under 50). It works better than caffeine to get you moving. Someone is almost always around to help you learn how to deal with this. I printed out that sticky when having to deal with it in the middle of the night if nobody was around.
 
Hello Jennifer and Oliver and welcome to the forum.

I know this all might feel overwhelming and scary at the moment but I promise it gets better and easier. I was scared of TR at the beginning of our diabetes journey but I did it and it got us into remission. This is our second time around and it's not as scary anymore. This group is a great support system and their members are full of knowledge and very helpful.

Also have you considered an automatic feeder for the snacks? Many of us have them so we don't have to be home/stay awake to feed our kitties. Purrrrhaps that's something you could also consider and look into.
View attachment 69444
Hi! Yes we have looked into an automatic feeder. Right now since I am out of work due to a work related injury I am the automatic feeder. Once I am back to work I will be purchasing the automatic feeder. I can just imagine Oliver sitting next to the feeder all day waiting for it to open hahaha! Thanks for the welcome!
 
Green is scary at first. I won’t lie. Soon you get upset if you don’t see green. I was never fond of limes but once you see how food brings the bg up it’s not quite as scary to see them unless you wake up to a lime (under 50). It works better than caffeine to get you moving. Someone is almost always around to help you learn how to deal with this. I printed out that sticky when having to deal with it in the middle of the night if nobody was around.
Yes I can understand how scary it is and having to wake up in the middle of the night to a low alarm (one of the great benefits of Libre). I am leaning towards the TR schedule of things since I am home right now.
 
Hi Jennifer and Oliver and welcome! Oliver is so adorable and I saw you recently adopted him to help him. I’m so in awe of your kindness and kudos to you and your husband. :bighug::bighug:
Oliver is one lucky kitty to land in your care!
I saw you posted on my page about the Libre 3 and see you are using it also. I hope it’s helping you all get acclimated to all of this.
It’s glitchy at times but a helpful tool. And yes I agree the Facebook group is incredibly helpful. A great resource of information! Glad you found them, too.
I’ve been using it for a year. If you have any questions, feel free to let me know. :)

I also use a timed feeder for when I need or want to go out for a few hours. Usually only on a weekend to go out to dinner. Otherwise I’m mostly home, working from home.

I’ve found getting Ivy used to the feeder was helpful for later at night. I used to find a small snack around midnight, plus I wanted her to be used to using it.

Wishing you a successful time for you and Oliver. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Jennifer & Oliver
It does get less scary and easier, thank you for adopting Oliver .
He's lucky to have you and your husband
He's adorable!
I'm linking your previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/winging-it.287537/#post-3160214
We like to link your previous days post to your new post in case members want to back and review it rather than searching for it
I hope you all have a nice night.
I hope your work related injury isn't that serious and you are coming along :bighug::bighug::cat:
 
@Jennifer & Oliver
It does get less scary and easier, thank you for adopting Oliver .
He's lucky to have you and your husband
He's adorable!
I'm linking your previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/winging-it.287537/#post-3160214
We like to link your previous days post to your new post in case members want to back and review it rather than searching for it
I hope you all have a nice night.
I hope your work related injury isn't that serious and you are coming along :bighug::bighug::cat:
Thanks so much for all your kind words. I'll be home for a little while more. I got into a car accident while working. (I'm a home care nurse) I am now waiting for approval from workers compensation for a 3 level cervical fusion. Oliver along with Ricky and Lucy (other two cats) do enjoy me being home.
 
Thanks so much for all your kind words. I'll be home for a little while more. I got into a car accident while working. (I'm a home care nurse) I am now waiting for approval from workers compensation for a 3 level cervical fusion. Oliver along with Ricky and Lucy (other two cats) do enjoy me being home.
Oh Jennifer I'm so sorry , I hope they approve it and it goes well. I'm sure the kitty's enjoy you being home with them.
It's so funny right now I'm watching the reruns of I Love Lucy ,did you name them Lucy and Ricky after the Ricardo's
:cat: Oliver is adorable
@Jennifer & Oliver
 
Oh Jennifer I'm so sorry , I hope they approve it and it goes well. I'm sure the kitty's enjoy you being home with them.
It's so funny right now I'm watching the reruns of I Love Lucy ,did you name them Lucy and Ricky after the Ricardo's
:cat: Oliver is adorable
@Jennifer & Oliver
Yes!! When I went to the shelter to adopt two kittens I was hoping for two females as I wanted to name them Thelma and Louise . When i got there I only had the choice of one female and one male.....and they were named Ricky and Lucy after the Ricardo's. Funny thing is Lucy is black and white and Ricky is an orange tabby. So when they were young my mom would always call Ricky Lucy as he was the redhead . Oliver was adopted with that name and we kept it cause it was just as cute as he is. I would love to be able to share pictures here but I haven't figured out how to do that. I just learned today how to add emojis haha.
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
That's too funny your mom calling Ricky Lucy.
You can copy and paste pics you have of your kitty's right here
I'm not to tech savvy at all so that's all I can suggest on how to post them

My kitty Tyler had a brother named Perry, unfortunately I had to let him go due to kidney failure . He was my heart kitty. He's gone 4 years already, he was 12 when he passed.
Tyler will be 16 the end of April
He has been in remission for 3 years now thanks to this group and me taking their advice.
I named them after my favorite rock band Aerosmith for Steven Tyler and Joe Perry .
@Jennifer & Oliver
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom
I'm so sorry to hear about Perry. It really is very difficult to let a pet go, especially one that was near and dear.
Tyler is a very handsome fella. I do love orange cats. In this picture Oliver is stealing a bite of apple and Ricky and Lucy are sleeping in the background.
upload_2024-3-10_23-44-15.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-10_23-44-15.jpeg
    upload_2024-3-10_23-44-15.jpeg
    85.5 KB · Views: 167
@Diane Tyler's Mom
I'm so sorry to hear about Perry. It really is very difficult to let a pet go, especially one that was near and dear.
Tyler is a very handsome fella. I do love orange cats. In this picture Oliver is stealing a bite of apple and Ricky and Lucy are sleeping in the background.
View attachment 69449
@Jennifer & Oliver
Thank you , I miss him so
How adorable is that :cat:
I can see Ricky and Lucy
Ricky looks like a big kitty.is he?
Let me go now , I'll check checking in on you and Oliver tomorrow
Nighty night :cat:

Here is a pic of Perry
img_20180916_004910-jpg.56995
 
Last edited:
@Jennifer & Oliver
Thank you , I miss him so
How adorable is that :cat:
I can see Ricky and Lucy
Ricky looks like a big kitty.is he?
Let me go now , I'll check checking in on you and Oliver tomorrow
Nighty night :cat:

Here is a pic of Perry
img_20180916_004910-jpg.56995
Yes Ricky is a big boy. He always has been. He's around 21-22 lbs. I've tried putting him on a diet and it doesn't work. He no longer free feeds which is good but he is a dry food only cat. There is no wet food he will ever eat. Just had him and Lucy at the vet and had senior blood work and we are very grateful all is healthy. Ricky and Lucy are both approx 12 years old.
Perry is so handsome. I swear orange tabbys are such mush balls, love them so much! Lucy loves her momma too!
 
Afternoon Jennifer, Tyler used to weigh 20 lbs before he was diagnosed.
Then lost the weight when he became diabetic.
I'm glad Ricky and Lucy's blood work came back good.
Yes Perry was a cutie :cat:
It's windy as hell here in N.J.today . You wouldn't believe how windy it is.
Everything is all over the streets.
@Jennifer & Oliver
 
Back
Top