3/13 Haley-AMPS 153, +3 78, +3.5 74, + 4.5 58, +8 99, +11 107, +11.5 103

Good morning. I just posted asking for a new condo but I see you did it on your own. Feed a little mc food and test in 30. The higher depot is in play but I think we need to reduce to .50 anyway. I’m so glad you didn’t shoot last night. The board was down!
 
Good morning. I just posted asking for a new condo but I see you did it on your own. Feed a little mc food and test in 30. The higher depot is in play but I think we need to reduce to .50 anyway. I’m so glad you didn’t shoot last night. The board was down!

Good morning! Yes, I did the new thread right after I just tested her now. I'm glad this is back up again. What does mc mean? I only know hc and lc. Will test in 30. I added the previous link. Did I do it correctly? Now I have change the color in her cell.
 
Mc is 10-14% carbs. Hc is 20%+ carbs. We usually reserve the hc for when getting low . Feeding mc will help keep Haley from a reduction and in normal numbers hopefully.
 
Mc is 10-14% carbs. Hc is 20%+ carbs. We usually reserve the hc for when getting low . Feeding mc will help keep Haley from a reduction and in normal numbers hopefully.
What kinda of food is mc? I only have Friskies pâté and FF classics pate and flaked.
 
Cat info.org has a food chart but it’s outdated. Tanya’scrf.org had an updated food chart that lists carbs for foods that the manufacturers gave the list owner. I feed raw so dint have the info but I think your food is lc. Most pates are. You can add a little karo , hi ey,or syrup to lc to make it mc or hc. For mc just a couple drops.

You will need to have a supply of different carb foods to feed depending on the bg.
 
Ok. I’ll look at that second website. This is the first time I’ve heard of MC. I would’ve gotten it sooner.
 
You can add the ? prefix to your title and add food suggestions and others will point you in the direction of lists also.
 
58 at +5? Mix a little LC and HC and give it to her. That will be as good as MC.
Did you feed her anything after +3?
 
58 at +5? Mix a little LC and HC and give it to her. That will be as good as MC.
Did you feed her anything after +3?

Yes, 58. Actually it's +4.5. I'm, sorry. I keep thinking it's 1PM. I'll have to fix it. Ok. Do I mix the beef gravy lovers gravy with a FF pate? Yes, She had a little snack after +3 and after +4.
 
I'm going to disagree with the reduction because the 1U dose can still be in play and she didn't actually earn a reduction (using TR) because she didn't drop below 50.

I'm assuming TR because you test more than enough to be doing TR and I believe you're most interesting in getting her into remission if possible and TR is the best dosing method for doing that....but it is something you need to decide for yourself at some point soon. Here's info on Dosing Methods...Tight Regulation and Start Low, Go Slow

Haley is looking good! I think she has a good chance at remission since she's doing so well, so early in treatment!
 
I'm going to disagree with the reduction because the 1U dose can still be in play and she didn't actually earn a reduction (using TR) because she didn't drop below 50.

I'm assuming TR because you test more than enough to be doing TR and I believe you're most interesting in getting her into remission if possible and TR is the best dosing method for doing that....but it is something you need to decide for yourself at some point soon. Here's info on Dosing Methods...Tight Regulation and Start Low, Go Slow

Haley is looking good! I think she has a good chance at remission since she's doing so well, so early in treatment!
Ok. So, I’m staying with the 1U. I think she’s been more stable on that?

I was just following what you guys suggested as to when to test her so I don’t actually know which method I was using. Yes, my goal is to get her into remission. I’ll do whatever I need to do. So I’ll put TR on my signature.

She’s still hiding. I’ll test her ASAP. Ty!
I’ll
 
Ok. She’s still hiding. Who knows when she’ll come out. Nobody, out of 3 kitties, came when I shook the treat bag. I hope she’ll be ok till I can test her.
 
I think @Chris & China (GA) meant that you stay at 0.75U and not decrease further to 0.5U.

Yes, that's what I meant.

I'm also NOT saying that @Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee are wrong either. You'll sometimes get different opinions from different caretakers but although I'm sure it can be confusing sometimes, it does make you think.

Our goal here is to teach you how to make good decisions for you and your cat....not dictate every step forever
 
Ok. .75 it us. My syringes don’t have the smaller lines so I’ll have to make my best guess.

I totally understand. I don’t know why I’m more confused since changing to Relion. I know I have to learn and be self sufficient. I soooo appreciate you help!
 
My syringes don’t have the smaller lines so I’ll have to make my best guess.

You can get syringes with half unit marks at WalMart. Their 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes all come with half unit marks. They are $12.58 for a box of 100.

In the meantime, use one of your old syringes and some colored fluid of some kind (coffee, tea, juice, water with food coloring, etc) and decide where you think .75 is. Then when it's time to do the actual shot, you'll have a guide to compare to. What's important is consistency, not that it's exactly .75
 
I was back and forth as to whether to suggest .75 or .50. To mean it depended on today’s cycle and the PMPS. I would get a +10.
 
I would get a +10.

She was 107 at +11, 103 @+11.5 and she forgot about the time change and hasn't made any adjustments for it so I'm recommending she skip again tonight, set her clocks forward before bed tonight and shoot at her usual 7:30am time in the morning.

That would mean her AM shot would be at +23 which we all know is fine. Probably better than shooting a low PS tonight and losing sleep over it (especially since we're all losing an hour of sleep tonight anyway)
 
You still think .75 in the morning?

Yeah if Haley is over 150. She didn't quite earn a reduction today and the 1U dose was probably still affecting her numbers some. Skipping again tonight should make it safe to start over at .75 tomorrow morning and we'll get a better idea of what .75 is really doing
 
So if under 150, I do .50 and if over 150 I do .75?

Sounds like a plan. Just want to find a dose that helps keep her in good numbers without stressing you out too much too (as well as hopefully getting some sleep on most nights)

With the time change this weekend, it adds an extra wrinkle to the picture
 
I didn’t remove the kitties’ food last might. I just checked on her and she was picking in the little bits that were left. I’m supposed to test her/maybe give her a shot in half an hour. What should I do?
 
Back
Top